We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Darlington does it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #199 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Darlington does it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth stay at the Darlington and it was as wonderful as ever. From the moment you buzz the door and are told to "push the door and mind the step" to the time you, sadly, open the door and mind the step on your way out the door for the final time it's like a home away from home. The reception staff are friendly and efficient and bags are taken to rooms that are left at reception if your room is not ready when you check in. You can also leave bags at reception on check out if you have a later departure time.
The rooms are small (welcome to London) but certainly not uncomfortably so, (but maybe the desk, which I think is in every room, could be replaced by a chest of drawers for clothes), however you can make a plan with what is available to unpack into and there is a cupboard for hanging things up. Every room has a handy bar fridge. The aircon works well and temperature is adjustable. The heated towel rails in the bathroom are great in the colder months. Never a problem with hot water or shower pressure. Bathroom a very decent size with bath and shower over the bath.
Although we had a room right by the lift, we were never disturbed by noise - either from fellow guests or staff. Neither were we bothered by cleaning staff wanting to come into the room to clean before we had left for the day, which was really appreciated.
The free breakfast is marvelous with choices to suit every taste and served by polite and efficient waitresses. The ever smiling Adrienne was a joy to see every morning.
The hotel has a coin operated washing maching and dryer for use by guests which is very convenient.
Also convenient is the proximity to Paddington Station - an easy, safe, 5 min walk away. A bus stop is nearby. Lots of cafes in the vicinity and you are spoilt for choice for restaurants and pubs.
Free wifi is offered throughout the hotel. What more can I say - as good as it gets in this price range!

Room Tip: I think the twin beds would be easier to sleep in than sharing a double which is only a double and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata L, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you for your continued support and for returning time after time. We are delighted that once again you had a delightful stay with us and appreciated our high level of personal service. Our guest experiences are very important to us and when guests do return time after time it means we are getting it right.

Best regards
Malgorzata Lesniewska
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    889
    174
    38
    14
See reviews for
490
761
201
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed in many London Hotels and I must say this one does it well. The room was clean, well laid out but uncomfortably small. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom though of a reasonable size had the tiniest shower I have ever been in. The reception staff were very friendly. The breakfast was average London breakfast, totally lacking in flavour, probably due to cheap ingredients. They offer an assortment of pastries and rolls on top of the Traditional English breakfast, these were always either stale or inedibly hard. The breakfast staff were extremely nice. I am not sure if I would stay here again, it is very well located but the shortcomings are hard to overlook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewearyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata L, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and you enjoyed the service. Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

Best regards,
Malgorzata Lesniewska
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC metro area
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

On our last trip to London, my husband and I ended up having to stay in two hotels - the Darlington Hyde Park, and Hotel Indigo around the corner. The Darlington won, hands down. Yes, Hotel Indigo is a little fancier, but the rooms at the Darlington were substantially larger and just as clean and comfortable. The price was much better at the Darlington - plus our stay came with a very tasty breakfast (which the Indigo did not), and a great take-home package of British flag fair-trade mugs for just a few pounds extra. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata L, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay at Darlington Hotel. It is really appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel clean and spacious. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you will definitely come back.

Best regards,
Malgorzata Lesniewska
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in Darlington Hyde Park three times with my wife and every time I am astonished by the friendly and helpful staff. Coming to the hotel is like coming home. The breakfast is absolutely great (and even better, it is included in the price, making the stay even more affordable). The 24h service at the reception is a great thing.

The location close to the Paddington Station is great. You can get to the Underground in about five minutes as well as National Rail Services and Oxford Street is 15 minutes away by foot. From near the Paddington Station, you can get a bus nearly anywhere (or if not anywhere, somewhere, where you can switch the bus and get practically anywhere). With the Underground, the whole of London is in your reach. It is also the cheapest way to the various airports.

Near the hotel, there are some nice, cozy restaurants and pubs as well as fast food for the late night snack. For more fine dining or culture, the City is not far and offers great selection that caters every possible appetite.

The only thing that might bother one staying is the commotion caused by the nearby hospital. Ambulances race down the street once in a while, but then again, London is a big city with big city noises.

So, if you are looking a good, affordable place to stay, take it from someone who has been three times to this particular pearl - you can't get better with more money.

Room Tip: The rooms looking away from the street get (understandably) less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIN_OtsoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Otso,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of The Darlington Hyde Park. There is nothing nicer than a happy guest saying that coming to The Darlington is like coming home. Return guests are what really makes working in a hotel a real pleasure and satisfaction. We are glad that you enjoy the service each time you come, the location and you value your stay for the money you pay. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best discount rates when you have confirmed your dates of next travel.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

A classic 3* London hotel with much better than average service and large rooms. The decor is a but dented and the carpet had seen better days but the cleaning was really good. I asked for a quiet room and was given room 6 in the basement. Due to the load steps above and tve sound from the metro below, my sleep was worse than average. I should have asked for a top level floor instead I guess.

The breakfast is small but of good quality. An extra plus to the quick, nice and service minded staff. Both English and Continental breakfast (the latter prepered on order) available and included in room price.

Wifi was available and worked fairly well. The only negative was the tiresome log in procedure - you were often logged out - but the speed was really ok.

Helpful?
Thank Hoppetossan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear HoppeTossan,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and you enjoyed the service. I have shared your review with my restaurant team who were delighted with the positive feedback.We are always pleased to receive comments positive or negative. This helps us to improve our service and facilities. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Darlington Hyde Park on your return to London.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was travelling with my in-laws and my kids and found this hotel on booking.com. It was great for location., cleanliness and in a quiet street. We had the lower ground rooms and they were spacious and clean. The reception was very helpful. Great value for money ,would stay again.

Room Tip: The 3 bed room and the double rooms on the lower ground floor are very roomy and can be connected if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear MissDetox,
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. Keep an eye on our website for lots of 2013 promotions and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for four nights in the middle of December. First the bad things. The only negative we could think of was the mattress on the bed. A bit thin and hard but we still slept well so it couldn't have been theat bad. Now for the positives and they are ample. First is the location about two blocks from Paddington train station. We few into Heathrow and it was very easy to access the station from there and then a five minute walk to the hotel. There are lots of good restaurants in the area with a good variety of meal types (Greek, Italian, Indian and pub) The service at the desk was helpful and friendly. The room was clean, a good size and a very nice sized bathroom. The breakfast room is a good size with prompt and friendly service. We had a few questions for the desk about getting around and found them to be more than helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissionJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear MissionJim,
Thank you for taking time to review The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel on TripAdvisor. I greatly appreciate the feedback from your stay. Paddington is fast becoming the popular destination when staying in London for tourists, especially with great connection to Heathrow Airport. With excellent communication from Paddington Station and the growing number of good eateries in the area it is fast becoming a choice place to stay. Your recommendation of the Darlington Hyde Park to others is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in The Darlington on your next visit.
Best regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#184 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#399 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#302 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Property: The Darlington Hyde Park
Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London
The Darlington Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing