We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Ranked #751 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had the misfortune of staying here and can honestly say it is the worst place I have ever stayed.
As soon as I entered the building my heart just sank and that was before I even reached my room.
I decided to stay on the top floor to avoid the noise, however with the constant noise I went to reception to change rooms.
Initially I was told the only rooms available were down the road and have some further discussion. The Manager found another room available, however it was an extra £40. I asked to check the room prior to making a decision. All I can say is the only difference was the size of the room. Both rooms were dirty, with a very bad smell in each room.
I decided to opt for the other room and paid the extra price in the hope of some peace and quiet at least whilst I slept.
I decided at 4am with constant interruptions to pack my bags and leave and head home!
In addition the sheets were dirty in both rooms and in my opinion the place should be closed down!
It's totally unfair to expect decent genuine people to even consider paying in this squalor!
To all readers my advise is DO NOT stay here - the number of bad reviews speak volumes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pimms29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am so sorry that your experience with us was disappointing. We regret that you have not mentioned anything to us while you were in our hotel, we would have helped to correct the problems you mentioned. This is part of our commitment to our customers. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects of our service and facilities. I understand that we are not to everyone’s tastes. We aim to provide clean and reasonable accommodation at a very affordable price. There are certainly a lot more luxurious options in London but these come with a much great price tag.


Sincerely

Nour Rahmeh

Front Office Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

The only thing preventing this "hotel" getting a rating of 1 is its excellent location near Victoria Station. At a cost of over £130 for the night I would expect so much more than a shared bathroom and toilet, uncomfortable bed, breakfast available before 7:30 and the icing on the cake...what sort of hotel can offer you an iron but no ironing board?

I've stayed in hotels both in and out of London which were a fraction of the cost of this one and offered so much more.

Will not be revisiting or recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndyMOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We want to thank you for sharing your comments here, sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken your comments on board and we now have an ironing board available as well. I am disappointed that you did not find us good value for money. We check our rates on a daily basis to ensure that we are the cheapest hotel in the area. There are times of the year such as January to March when prices in generally are a lot cheaper than the peak time of May-July. Once again thank you for your review and if you get a chance I would be very intereste3d to know what other hotels offered a better price than us so we can ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

Yours Sincerely

Nour Rahmeh

Front Office Supervisor.

Caswell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Hair in bed, torn sheets, better not look the bed - stains all over. Friendly satff and good location - 15min walk from B. Palace, Big ban, Victoria station... Breakfast so-so (bread and jam and one cup of coffee in a small basement room with no space for all the guests). I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marbel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great location near Victoria Station. We were able to walk to Buckingham Palace for the changing of the guards. Unfortunately my friend had his wallet stolen there, but he was able to cancel cards with the help from the staff at the Caswell. The staff was also great in getting our luggage to our rooms. The room was small but I was only there when it was time to sleep. The hotel could use a facelift: cleaning and painting. All in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathybolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in your hotel, and the hotel's location has made ​​it ideal to visit tourist areas. I have shared your comments with the team and they are pleased that you appreciated the service that they gave you. I hope that the loss of your wallet does not take away from your London experience.

We hope to have you back soon.

Thanks a lot.

Yours Sincerely

Nour Rahmeh

Front Office Supervisor.

Caswell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This place wouldn't be on the top of my list but it's an old townhouse conversion so you know what you're getting. Small room with two lumpy twin beds and a 'brother-in-law' bathroom conversion in the room. No light in the bathroom so that made it interesting. Having said that, it was quiet, and the guy at the desk and the two girls serving the toast and coffee in the morning were polite and helpful. Easy to get around and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. There's no elevator, so if your room is on the 4th floor and you're not exactly mobile, this isn't going to work for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dart_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed here recently and it is the worst place i have ever stayed. The room was filthy and outdated. The bed was lumpy and had hairs in it. The shower was horrrid and unusable. Not only was it dirty but it was that small it was impossible to move never mind get dried and dressed. I know this is a 2 star hotel but i would have expected some standards of cleanliness. After seeing the hotel, i didnt even risk breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kala89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Most reviewers have said what needs to be said about this B&B in a relatively quiet street of elegant town houses in Pimlico. (A lot of other streets nearby are wall-to-wall B&B and very busy with restaurants, bars and traffic).
Walking distance to Victoria station or Sloane Square, clean, if small rooms but with working shower (in the en-suite rooms), good beds and bedding, with tea and coffee available and wall mounted TV.
Staff are very friendly, continental breakfast was plentiful if limited in range and the fruit juice was one of the best.
For the price its hard to beat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear NoramalGuy40

We appreciate the time you took to post your feedback, your comments will be very helpful to us and other travelers who consult this website.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Nimesh Patel

Operations Manager

Nimesh Patel

Caswell Hotel
Email : Nimesh@hotellondon.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#610 of 1,075 in London
294 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#575 of 1,075 in London
445 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#438 of 1,075 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#645 of 1,075 in London
522 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#216 of 1,075 in London
616 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caswell Hotel London Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caswell Hotel London Victoria

Address: 25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #751 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: $124 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caswell Hotel London Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance in the heart of London. Located moments from London Victoria Station. The Mornington Hotel London Victoria is a Boutique Hotel located in a Quiet Residential street in the heart of London. Offering elegant boutique accommodation that combines modern luxuries and simplicity with Victorian charm the Mornington Hotel London Victoria is ideally located for sightseeing, shopping trips luxurary trips and business with a twist. We are located within 8 minutes walk from Victoria Train Station Please take the Wilton Road exit; once you are out of the station, turn right on to Wilton Road. Follow through into Denbigh Street. At the end of Denbigh Street, cross Belgrave road to Gloucester Street. We are number 25 Gloucester Street From Pimlico Underground Station Please take Rampayne Street exit; Turn Left onto Lupus Street. Then take the first right on Belgrave Road. After 300 meters turn left on Gloucester Street. We are number 25 Gloucester Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caswell Hotel London Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caswell Hotel London Victoria England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing