We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RHS Flower Show”

Royal Hospital Chelsea
Ranked #263 of 1,591 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Hospital Chelsea was founded in 1682 by King Charles II as the home of the Chelsea Pensioners. As well as being a wonderful home for retired service personnel, it is also one of London's best kept secrets! For the best overview of the history of the Hospital, plus fascinating insights into life as a Chelsea Pensioner today, why not book one of the daily walking tours? These last around ninety minutes and are always led by one of the Chelsea Pensioners, who will take great pride in showing you around their fascinating home. Tours include the Royal Hospital's Great Hall, Wren Chapel, Figure Court, Ranelagh Gardens (subject to the time of year) museum and gift shop. Tours begin at 10:00am and 1.30pm, Monday to Friday (excluding bank holidays). Please note that this tour covers internal and external spaces, and will include stairs.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“RHS Flower Show”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Oh Dear .........We visted on the last day (Sat)....the organisers have to appreciate that packing in more and more vistors makes the whole expirience "quite dreadful"....if you love queing and paying over the odds for very poor quality food and drink then this is the place for you ...as a regular of Ascot Henley etc , i enjoy the summer events (even when it rains) but it does make me angry when i am asked to pay 11 quid + for a pint of Pimms , thats not even freshly made but piped into a plastic beaker , the fact that the Pimms stand was the only one that was not "mobbed" suggests that the "boycott" has already started

The pavillion was fantastic...but alas we had to wait until passed 4pm when they were distmantling to get a good look, the crowds were so tightly packed as to make it almost impossible to appreciate the exhibits

as i stood in the queue for the gents a lady proclaimed loudly "ha its so funny seeing men having to queue " i discreetly asked if she had seen the ladies queue , and pointed out a lady in the far distance and advised her that it went up the hill out of sight ...the organisers know how many are coming so why do they not cater for it ???????

As regards the "Show Gardens" they were dissapointing".....its about time the "flower politburo" encouraged designers to "entertain and inspire" ...you can have way too much of rusty bed frames , square privet bushes and political statements, where was the dash the colour the romance?

Blocks of concrete are not a good look , too many of the exhibits were virtually the same...it was boring

Maybe best to watch Mr Titmarsh on the box next year?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    36
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“RHS chelsea flower show 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

"wow" it was our first time at show, and we picked a very wet day 24/05/13 , that didn't put people off !! it was packed , specially in the large centre tent , the flowers and displays were fantastic
you need the day there, it would have been more enjoyable on dry sunny day , for people who brought a picnic etc . luckily for us we had won the tickets and had vip entrance to M&G's hospitality suite ( lucky us ) which was absolutely wonderful . only negative it seemed a bit like a large garden centre at times !!! will probably go again in couple of years time , too sum up its great go and experience it for yourself :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“RHS Chelsea flower show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

First ever visit, we joined RHS so we could go on member only day, still crowded - can,t imagine what public days are like,and £55 a bit steep, but a truly memorable day. Great Pavillion is breathtaking and show gardens are great but you need to have sharp elbows to see them. Food expensive and seating at a premium. We stayed at London Ealing hotel 20 mins away on district line, and filled up on lovely breakfast before going- I would recommend doing something similar rather than travel there and back in a day which would be very tiring (if live outside London)
A once in a lifetime experience for better and worse- I e I wouldn't,t need to go back anytime soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“First visit but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have never been to the Chelsea flower show before, and would recommend it to everyone. We had tickets for the evening session (5.30 - 8pm) and this was plenty of time to look at everything. The flower displays in the marquee are inspiring, so colourful and vibrant and the smell from some of the blooms are gorgeous. Very busy as you would expect, but as the night progressed the crowds dispersed and you were able to see the displays more clearly. The food looked (and smelled) great, but there was no where to sit and eat so we decided to eat outside of the show. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Level Contributor
210 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A rainy flower show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sadly, the day we were at the RHS Flower Show was the day it rained...... However, we enjoyed the early part of our visit before the rain really started and before the crowds became too frustrating. Our first visit, so lots to take in. Loved the gardens we saw, and the Great Pavilion displays. We were treated to a sit-down lunch at the Rock Bank Restaurant - fine dining indeed. Wonderful food and service, although extremely pricey!
Tip for the future - arrive at 8am and walk round all the gardens first before crowds arrive. The pavilion and trade stands are manageable with crowds, the gardens less so.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Hospital Chelsea also viewed

 

Been to Royal Hospital Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing