We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like we were visiting at a private Manor”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #9 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt like we were visiting at a private Manor”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

At the Goring, we felt like we were guests in a well run private manor. From the moment we pulled up in a taxi and all doors were opened simultaneously, the service was seamless and welcoming. They greeted us cheerfully, and were very warm at reception (as opposed to a prior comment). Our rooms were not yet ready, so they offered us drinks and a place to relax while waiting. The family rooms with a connecting door offered plenty of space for our family of 4. The room the adults stayed in was of a nice size with a vanity area, a comfortable chair and on the other side of the room a desk, and large bathroom with heated towel racks. There was a separate tub and shower in our room, the boys had a tub shower combo, and a slightly smaller room and bath. The internet was very fast, but expensive in the rooms. A free computer was available, in quiet small room, but it was often in use. As we left or arrived each day the doormen knew our names, remembered what we were up to, and always asked about our well being. By the end, we considered them friends, and in fact our sons plan to keep in touch by facebook with at least one of them (Rupert)! When we went to eat in the morning each day after the first, they remembered our preferences, and asked if we wanted "the usual" or something different. We never once saw a bill- they seemed to know who we were and where the charges should be posted. With drinks in the bar in the evening, they passed canapes. It felt very civilized- no bills or talk of money. Just a statement at check out. The concierges, Andrew and Paul were extremely helpful in trying to arrange for an unusual request. All in all, a marvelous hotel and a wonderful stay. The Goring has been run by the same family for 100 years- and many of the employees told us they had worked there for many years. They all seemed happy, and so were we.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    122
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
235
543
67
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA Beach, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The staff at the Goring are superb. Everyone from the doorman to the concierge, wait staff were attentive and friendly. The high tea is a must to do if you stay there. Wonderful bar and drinks. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I would like to congratulate the Manager and his staff for the excellent care my husband and I received when we visited The Goring Hotel. From arriving at the hotel and during check in we were made to feel very welcome and this care lasted until check out. We dined at the hotel and the food and service was of very high standard. Well done Goring you made our anniversary very special.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejohnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We have just had a week at the Goring and I do not want to stay anywhere else in London again. So much nicer than a big chain where you could be in any city. The service is terrific, lovely breakfast, very clean and in a great location where you see a really good side of London. The rooms are smallish but adequate. There is a gorgeous garden out the back where you can sit or enjoy a drink overlooking it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woozal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Me and my fiancee stayed for 2 nights at the Goring hotel after returning home from working overseas for the previous 2 months. Now, I must first emphasis that the food, the doormen, waiters. etc were all extremely friendly and helpful. The only part for concern is Reception.. thus the loss of one star.

As soon as we arrived there didn't appear to be much of a smile or greeting whilst being rushed through the necessary paperwork. To be honest, before being shown up to our room (where things improved) there were times where we actually felt a little unwelcome. We was compelled to ask them if they was having a stressful day, which returned a little comment about Wimbledon (!) So we just left it at that. Everyone has bad days right?

On departure, we waited in a small queue to check-out, this time with a different man attending the reception desk. Disappointingly, when it was our turn to be served, rather than hearing something along the lines of "hello how can I help you", we instead got a coiling forefinger beckoning us over(!) No proper eye contact, no smile, no 'hope you have a safe trip' (P.S. If I coiled my forefinger at my mother I'm sure she'd slap me across the face!). Fortunately the doorman / conceirge wished us a safe trip instead which made the experience feel somewhat better.

We always stay in London for a few days every 2-3 months. Based on our stays in other hotels (at similar prices and location) I do honestly agree with other reviewers by saying that it is indeed an excellent hotel. Our only gripe was with reception... (first impressions etc?) Maybe they was just having 'off days'??...... If they're not, I would definately recommend they go on a stress / happiness management course before they upset somebody.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Almand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I came with my 23 year old son. The consierge was wonderfully helpful for arranging shows and a 3 day private auto tour with guide. It was always a delight at the end of the day to see the doorman and front office staff as they were friendly, helpful, and made us feel welcome. Bar and restaurant were outstanding. Room was great not because it was large or had a TV or minibar but because it was so different: neither my son nor I cared a hoot about TV or minibar or anything else that one would find in a Hilton or Hyatt - not that these are poor hotels, they aren't, but they are all pretty much the same and have no character. The Goring has an abundance of "character" and we wouldn't think of visiting london and staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surgpathol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

What a beautiful hotel.... wonderful staff.... perfect for families as they have a room category that includes adjoining rooms with private baths..... they gift the children a sweet little stuffed lamb and have a big one in the room during their stay....

the garden view is preferred.... but was unavailable on our stay..... but we were quite ecstatic with our stay....... and the rates are ecceedingly reasonable for the quality, location, and amentities... wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing