We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #9 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service and food, always a pleasure to relax in the bar with a drink and the Goring's club sandwich. No matter how busy the hotel, bar and restaurant the staff at the Goring always remain calm, efficient and polite. If you are in London with your wife/partner or on business the Goring gets it right first time every time!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard-de-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Peplow-Sprinter

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your dinner at The Goring.

I was delighted to read your review of your time with us and thrilled that you found the whole experience to be faultless. A Goring Club Sandwich with a drink in our Lounge Bar is one of life’s simple pleasures in my opinion.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel so that you can enjoy another sample of our excellent service and food.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    121
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
226
531
65
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited The Goring for my husbands 30th birthday, and from the moment we got there, to the moment we left everything was outstanding. Our room - gorgeous. With a lovely bathroom and the comfiest bed ever. The staff - really friendly & helpful. The food & drinks- really delicious! Small touches like a box of chocolates & lovely card in our room, and a birthday pudding for my husband made the night extra special.
A beautiful, traditional, yet quirky hotel, with friendly down to earth staff who made us feel very welcome. Thank you - we'll definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Franchie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Franchie82,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory stay with us at The Goring.

I am delighted that you both found everything at the hotel to be outstanding from your luxurious room to the team who cared for you during the time with us.

We are thrilled that you will be back to stay with us again and we all hope that it will be before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Usually we take the train up to London and have stayed at some very nice hotels around the city. But this time we decided to drive and that tipped the balance towards staying at The Goring (outside of congestion charge, they park the car for you, let you leave it after check-out if you still want to do a bit more shopping as we did). From the little details about the shoe fairy polishing one's shoes overnight, to them actually using your name at the bar, one feels welcomed. We meant to do afternoon tea but given our schedule just didn't fit in it. Next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuttleBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear TuttleBaldwin,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us last month.

I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that even the little things like your newly polished shoes added to your experience with us. Our team pride themselves in ensuring that they welcome all of our guests by name and it is always lovely to see that this has been recognised.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for afternoon tea and we hope for another night of luxury as well.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have recently returned from a stay at the Goring Hotel. I can only echo the comments regarding the wonderful staff who were exceedingly friendly and exceptionally professional. Our room was fine, not very large but with plenty of storage and a lovely bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the linen first class. The only disappointing aspect of our stay was our dinner in the lovely dining room. The choice was very limited for a hotel of this standard. There were maybe 6 starters and a similar number of main courses but the night that we were there virtually every option had some form of shell fish in it. We both struggled to make any choice. 3 courses were £52.50 which seems reasonable for a hotel at this level but only if there is a real choice offered. As a main course I eventually chose sea trout with spring vegetables, prawns and some form of seafood " broth ". Maybe I made a bad choice but my meal was almost I edible. The sea trout was raw in the middle, the 3 prawns were freezing cold and unpleasant, there were only a handful of rather sad looking vegetables and the broth was tasteless. All in all it was horrible. My companion's beef Wellington was a little better but not of the standard that I would have expected. I opted to have cheese for dessert and this was an excellent choice. I felt so terribly disappointed with my starter and main course however. I should have complained but as I was my companion's guest I felt that it would have been rude to her. I have been lucky to stay and to eat at many exceptional hotels in the past, sadly largely as a result of dinner the Goring will not rank up there with the best of them and was really not worth a total spend for room, dinner and breakfast of almost £ 700 for one night for 2 people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear welshbelle,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay in the hotel, I am so sorry your experience in the dining room not perfect in every way.

Your main course should have been cooked and the entire dish hot, the Chef is mortified that this was not the case and that the broth was tasteless. Our beef Wellington usually receives such high praise and is incredibly popular so I am stunned by your comments and sorry that it did not delight you.

On the dinner menu we offer 10 starters and 12 main courses. Several of the seafood dishes do contain an element of shellfish in the recipe, the kitchen will without fail remove any element of the dish that is not to your liking and will of course always offer an alternative. I wish you had felt able to discuss this with out team so that we could have ensured that everything was to your taste.

You have been very complimentary about many aspects of the hotel you did like, if possible I would like the opportunity to discuss your disappointing experience in the Dining Room further. We all work so hard to provide the best experience possible for our guest so when we miss the mark it is important we know and I thank you for taking the time to write to us about it. Would you kindly contact me personally to find out how we can make amends for these experiences and if you could spare the time to send an email to sgeddes@thegoring.com, I would be very grateful.

With kind regards,

Stuart Geddes
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location is amazing, quiet but near all the shops and restaurants. The hotel is small and the staff is just amazing, will do anything for you. The rooms are lovely, incredible beds! You feel pampered and every detail is taken care of. My bathroom was huge with a great tub and all the amenities you might need. Room service is perfect and their Champagne is very good and not that expensive. By far one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Classy and cosy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a garden view and don't forget to have tea at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Carolina099,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We are all delighted that you felt truly at home during your time with us and totally pampered during your time with us. It is true we are so lucky with our location. Beeston Place is an oasis of calm but just moments away from the hustle and bustle of central London and some of the most iconic sites.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring before too long so you can have a long soak in the bath and allow us to take care of you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have so little to say about this hotel. It is consistently and simply the best in London. It has no rival and no parallel. Staff know how a hotel should run under the watchful eye of Messrs Goring and Morgan-Hewitt.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are great. 114 is my favourite; over Beeston Place with a king mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear JHMH1959,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We were thrilled to welcome you back to the hotel and I am delighted that yet again we didn’t disappoint. It is always a treat to see old friends in the hotel and to hear that no other hotel in London is able to match us.

Thank you once again for the accolade that we are simply the best in London and we all look forward to seeing you again before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I have visited London perhaps ten times between us but this was our first stay at the Goring. It's greatest asset is its staff. What a marvelous group of people. Happy, helpful, hospitable I can't say enough about them. No request was too large or small. The answer was always the same - "of course sir (or madam)". The location is excellent - right around the corner from Buckingham Palace. The room was very comfortable. My only quibble is that I like double vanities in the bathroom but they're hard to come by in London. All in all a most splendid experience if you are looking for a smaller, more intimate, and absolutely elegant London experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear polamalu,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at The Goring last month.

We were delighted to welcome you to The Goring and I do agree with you it is our team that make The Goring. They all pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests want for nothing during their time with us. We are very lucky with our location. Beeston Place is an oasis of calm but only moments away from some of London’s most iconic sights including Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park.

We hope that you will return to The Goring on your next visit to the capital so that you can enjoy another elegant London experience.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing