We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again please!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #9 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Again please!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Meeting a colleague for breakfast tomorrow and just realised hadn't written up my last visit. The fact I cannot wait for a full English tomorrow really says it all!! The kidneys and black pudding is sublime. Move over Middleton's!! 8 hours and counting...

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogla-Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Bogla-Jnr,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your breakfast at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again and thrilled that the draw of our kidneys and black pudding led you to return. I trust you were not disappointed!

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    121
    32
    15
    5
See reviews for
229
531
66
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Meeting friends in London for lunch and a good gossip- we settled on the restaurant at the Goring. They never falter in the quality of their service and the food experience was equally exquisite. Its not an endless menu choice, but wide enough to satisfy all tastes - and a food allergy in one of the party. We all thoroughly enjoyed the choices we made, perfectly cooked and presented. The whole ambience from the moment you arrive makes you feel valued and cosseted, friendly but not intrusive - if you want advice, it is available but not thrust upon you. It is simply a wonderful, comfortable visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Kate G,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your luncheon at The Goring

We were delighted to welcome you back to the Dining Room and thrilled that you enjoyed another delicious meal accompanied by faultless service. I am thrilled that you felt well looked after by the team but were also able to have a good gossip with your friends without being intruded.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another exquisite meal and catch up with your friends.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My lovely friend works at The Goring and arranged for us to stay for a night as we were going to see Wicked at The Victoria Apollo nearby. When we arrived the staff were helpful and friendly - as they were throughout our stay! We stayed in Room 78 which is absolutely beautiful - the bed was really comfy, the bathroom was gorgeous and we loved the light controls! The turndown service was brilliant and made the room lovely and cosy. The view of the garden was fantastic, too. All of the staff were really friendly and greeted us by name whenever passing by which made us feel very special! The breakfast was really nice and we were well looked after. We have been raving about The Goring to everyone we know since we came home! There is nothing we could possibly fault, we just wish we could stay forever!

Room Tip: Room 78 is spacious, luxurious, beautifully furnished and has a lovely garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleypixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Charleypixie,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at the hotel you were well looked after and that this continued throughout your stay. We are thrilled that you liked Room 78 which I feel is the perfect room for a romantic getaway with its view of the garden and soft furnishings.

We all hope that you will return to The Goring and that you will be able to stay for more than one night next time.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My family and I were celebrating a most special occasion and we chose The Goring as a convenient location to Buckingham Palace. Our focus was on the palace and although it was special I have to say that for me, our stay at The Goring was the highlight of the whole event.

From the moment we arrived we felt we were in the right place. Friendly, attentive staff, superb surroundings and delightful rooms. My son's room was modern and suited them perfectly whereas ours was more traditional; even the allocation of the rooms had been thought through such is the detail of the service you can expect.

Lunch on our special day was outstanding; every single detail perfect. Service, surroundings, quality all fantastic and I think an important point for us was the fact it was not 'stuffy'. The highest standards in the very best environment with the friendliest service you could wish for.

To all the staff at The Goring - and I mean all of you because I know you are all part of the Goring family - thank you for making our special day exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Colin W,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you and your family to the hotel for such a special occasion and I am thrilled that we were able to ensure that your special day was truly exceptional. Our team all pride themselves on caring for each of guests and making sure that even the smallest details are recognised so that their stay runs smoothly from the moment they arrive to when they sadly depart.

We are all blown away that the highlight of your time in London was your time with us and we hope that you will be back to stay with us before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying in the Goring early March this year with our respective Mothers. A most enjoyable experience.

From the moment you arrive, the Goring set a standard quite above many hotels (and most in London) with the most friendly, yet professional style. Attentive yet discreet and subtle in their approach.

Our adjoining rooms were decorated quite differently although both had their own unique flair and charm about them. The attention to detail is quite extraordinary, the Goring seem to think of things that might never occur to you until you need it yet they pre-empt it. The fixtures, the soft furnishings and the linens being of the uppermost standard. One word describes the bathroom -wow!

We had lunch in the Restaurant the following day, from the initial welcome, the advice of the Sommelier and the lunch service, the whole operation was flawless; an experience to remember.

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Colin F,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you all to The Goring on such a special occasion and we were thrilled that you chose to celebrate with us. It is always lovely to read that a guest has enjoyed every part of their stay from the moment they were welcomed by our Front of House team to the soft furnishings in their luxurious bedroom.

I am thrilled that your luncheon was an experience you will never forget and that Damien and the Sommelier team were there to further enhance it with their wealth of knowledge.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring so that we can care for your every need and hope that it will be before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Goring was a wonderful experience. The rooms were lovely and the service fantastic! From the moment we checked in we felt comfortable and at home. The afternoon tea was spectacular the lounge was a great place to unwind in the evenings. Alistar at the door and Jordan in the lounge were very friendly and the concierge team very helpful. The Hotel is in a great location and we enjoyed walking in the area. As a hotel with not many rooms, it provides a very intimate and personalized experience that is often lost in larger hotels. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear K C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at The Goring earlier in the year.

We are all delighted that on your next trip to London you would not wish to stay anywhere else. Alistair and Jordon are chuffed to pieces to have been mentioned individually and I am thrilled that all of the team at The Goring made you feel at home.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back before too long to your home away from home in London.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Me and my mum stayed 1 night and had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. The staff are so lovely and approachable and nothing is too much trouble and make you feel welcome. It's a lovely treat and once in lifetime experience. Only thing is drinks are a tad expensive, but I realise that's London prices for you !

Room Tip: We was lucky enough to have a quick look around The suite that Kate Middleton stayed before she marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevilleEssexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear NevilleEssexuk,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your treat at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team. They all pride themselves in ensuring that none of our guests have to lift a finger whilst they are with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring and hope that it won’t be a once in a lifetime experience for you.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing