We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just good old fashioned tradition...”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #4 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

An absolute must for class and a good old fashioned welcome, with service that is probably unique in London, reflecting its independence status for the last 100 years! Kids are also really welcomed, with a special passport and welcome.
but the rooms do need some refurbishment; no double glazing (overflying aircrafts very noisy!), plumbing very difficult (and shower was leaking!), no fridge in the rooms (but superb 24hour service).
food was excellent; try the Beef Wellington from the trolley!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear tony m,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the unique service of The Goring and that your daughter made the most of her special passport. Our kids programme is very popular and children love making their cocktail in the bar and cookies with Chef in the kitchen.

With our unique service we prefer not to offer fridges or hospitality trays in our rooms. It is far more important to us that a guest is able to receive a freshly brewed cup of tea or any other refreshment no matter what time of day or night without having to lift a finger.

We all hope to welcome you and your family back to The Goring before too London on your next visit to the city.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I like to write glowing reviews and have done so when it was deserved. I have waited several months to write this one because I would rather say nothing if I don't have good things to say. Following an overnight flight for a week's stay in London in October, my husband and I were exhausted and disheveled when we arrived at the Goring. The property is lovely, and the hotel was staffed with very attractive people. The initial service was prompt and courteous. Having booked our room months in advance, and arriving well after the published check-in time, I was expecting to be shown to a lovely room where we could recover from jet lag. What we got was an apology that our room was not yet ready. We were led to a waiting area outside the dining room. We were left there. We sat there, feeling on display, for a half-hour which turned into an hour, then an hour and a half. Finally, I went to the desk and asked if we had been forgotten. No, I was assured, we had not been forgotten, and our room was almost ready. The bellman took us to our room which was large and pretty, but smelled strongly, and not pleasantly, of rug cleaner. I removed my shoes and behold, the beautiful carpet was wet. It was not damp, it was wet. My socks were soaked through. We were so disappointed by the first impression that the rest didn't really matter. The best things about the stay were the concierge, who was top notch, and the doormen who were always smiling and helpful. We have stayed at the Splendide Royal in Rome and the Hay Adams in Washington DC, two hotels that might be mentioned in the same breath. The Goring does not belong in the same league.

Room Tip: All rooms are going to be quiet, but I would choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Win_in_Roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Win_in_Roam,

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post your review following you stay with us in October.

I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed by your stay with us and that you did not notify us at the time of the issue with the carpet in the room. I do wish that you had let us know that the carpet was damp as we would of course rectified the issue instantly so that you would have been comfortable throughout your stay.

Unfortunately it isn’t always possible to show a guest to their room the moment that they arrive at the hotel. However on occasions when it isn’t possible to room a guest on arrival we always take them through to our Lounge Bar for some refreshments so that they can relax after their long journey to us. It seems most peculiar that in your case you were taken to a seat outside our Dining Room and that you felt abandoned by the team.

I am delighted that during your time with us that the Concierge were always on hand to advise you on what to see and do in London. Big John and his team are the font of all knowledge and never cease to surprise me with new suggestions and ideas of places to go and explore as well as a huge selection of London’s finest eating establishments.

I do hope that you will reconsider and next time in London you will stay at The Goring so you can enjoy the true Goring experience.

With kind regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was not sure if I would rate The Goring with a 5 or a 4 as there is not a specific thing that is extraordinary and unique but then I realized that everyrhing in this hotel is in its right place and that's what makes it an awesome place to stay. The restaurant is great for dinner and the afternoon tea is delicious in a cozy atmosphere. The guys at concierge are really helpful and the staff overall is kind. We got a king size bed room and it was good (although it could be a little larger) and quiet which is an issue for us. I just cannot understand how a hotel like this charges for wi-fy.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FESG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear FESG,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations of what a stay at The Goring would be like. Our Lounge Bar in the winter is the perfect place to unwind for afternoon tea after the bracing weather of December in London and there is nothing better than finishing off the day in our Dining Room. The Concierge team have a wealth of knowledge that I would find it hard to believe that they could be stumped by any enquiry whether it be for somewhere to eat or a little known site to see.

We all hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring before too long so that we can ensure that you have another amazing time in London.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I'm a little late in writing my review! We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October 2013. From the moment our cab pulled up outside - where we were greeted and our luggage taken into the foyer. Once we had checked in, we were shown to our room, where our luggage arrived. Our room was absolutely beautiful - there was an envelope which contained a handwritten 'welcome' card! Our room overlooked some private mews. Road noise was minimal - and we slept with the window open. I LOVED the sheep in our room (we bought one for our Son!) The bed was the most comfortable bed we've had the pleasure of sleeping in! The beautiful bathroom was just that, I loved the Molton Brown goodies! Breakfast was most delicious - some may balk at the price, but the cooked breakfast was worth every penny. The service was absolutely super, very attentive - but not intrusive, they were always one step ahead. One night we arrived back at the hotel after a ball we'd been to, it was after 2am - the night staff were very accommodating, sorting coffee and liqueurs for us!The hotel is just around the corner from Buckingham Palace, we took a leisurely stroll there then down the Mall. We stay in London a few times a year - and I'm hoping we are booked into The Goring again!! You're not just staying in a hotel - The Goring is truly an utterly amazing experience! Thank you to all at The Goring for making our stay a super one!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Debbie C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in October of last year.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at the hotel you enjoyed an amazing experience. The team pride themselves in ensuring that our guests don’t have to lift a finger from the moment they arrived and it is lovely to see this has been recognised.

I have to agree The Goring breakfast is the perfect way to start the day and a liqueur in the Lounge at the end of an evening the perfect night cap before a long peaceful sleep.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring on your next trip to London and I have passed your wishes onto the team.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

There is very little to say that hasn't already been said, but I will certainly try to add valuable comments.

The Goring is every bit the 5 star hotel. Class, glamour, style and service. I had planned a very special weekend for my girlfriend and I, and the hotel really made it. We were given (without asking) a room with the most beautiful octagonal bathroom, and looked after by all of the staff with such care and attention, I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends, family and clients alike. Particular mention must go to their doorman, who epitomises what you need and expect from someone worth their weight in that role.
The location is great, with easy access to transport networks (5 minutes from Victoria station). Tourists will love the fact that Kate Middleton stayed their the night before the wedding, and now it has a Royal Warrant (deservedly).
Rooms are large, with great facilities, including Molton Brown products in the bathroom. Room service is very prompt, and nothing is too much trouble.
The overwhelming thing about the hotel is purely the fact that it felt like a home rather than a hotel, which given its high status, is quite an achievement.
I have no doubt they will keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrVilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear MrVilliers,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your special weekend with us and that you felt that everything was five star. It is true we are so lucky with our location not just in terms of being minutes from Victoria Station many of London’s top sites are just around the corner as well.

We are all thrilled that you would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to your friends and clients and we all hope to welcome you back before too long to your home away from home.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had lunch on 30th December and came into the hotel dripping wet after a sudden deluge. I was welcomed like an old friend (my first visit) and joined my wife and a friend who have been on many occasions. They were right in their praise for the Goring. The attitude of the staff and the relaxed style made it exceptional. I ate a simple lunch which was not a basis on which to judge the food but I would be confident in anything this hotel does. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear philnash,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of recent luncheon.

I am delighted that the team were able to match the high expectations you had of The Goring and you were not disappointed from the moment you entered the hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back before too long so that you can enjoy more of Chef’s sumptuous treats from the kitchen.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A wonderful experience having afternoon tea at the Goring. From the moment we stepped inside it was so lovely. We were treated to such first class service and felt like truly valued customers. The food was heavenly and just kept on coming. We didn't have to lift a finger to even pour our tea. We sat in comfy chairs for nearly three hours in the cosy dining room warmed by the huge open fire. The offer of more pastries made it difficult to leave. We will certainly return in the summer to sample tea served on the terrace over looking the delightful gardens. A real come down returning to our travel lodge in covent garden but just for a few hours we could dream!!! It really was the best!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear julcook,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent afternoon tea with us.

I am delighted that from the moment you stepped into the hotel for your tea you were not disappointed and thoroughly spoilt by our team. They all pride themselves on ensuring that our guests don’t have to lift a finger whilst in our care and it is always lovely to see this been recognised.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring in the summer so that you can dream away a few more hours.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,497 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#12 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $417 - $1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing