We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our London home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #9 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Our London home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

There can not be a better description of The Goring than their slogan - Your London Home.
It sums up a luxurious and well-run establishment that combines the best of a friendly club with a top-ranking 5-star hotel.

From their greeting to the (almost tearful) goodbye, we were treated like honoured guests.

Their breakfasts are beyond compare, their dinners a culinary delight and just to stay there is a wonderful and somewhat privileged experience of London.

Special service - the late delivery of our dry cleaning was overcome when the hotel arranged a courier to our next address, at their expense.

Good service born of long tradition seems to inspire everything in this hotel and their hospitality rings all the more sincerely as it is delivered by a staff universally happy in their work.

Truly a unique and very special place to stay.

With thanks for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Martin F,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in September of this year.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at the hotel to the time you sadly departed you felt truly looked after and cared for. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that no guest has to want for anything during their time with us and it is always lovely to see this being recognised.

We all hope that you will be back to visit us all in your London home before too long so that we can treat you to yet more of our culinary delights.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    121
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
226
531
65
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrived feeling dreadful, then after 9 hours sublime sleep awoke feeling 100% better. Hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility in the centre of west london. Not even the fact they ran out of sausages at breakfast spoilt my enjoyment.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Anthony I,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that after a night in one of our rooms you were completely refreshed. We are so lucky being located on Beeston Place which is an oasis of calm just moments from the hustle and bustle of central London and many of the top sites.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another revitalising night and of course there will be plenty of sausages on the breakfast menu!

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

You feel relaxed and well cared for the moment you set foot in the lobby. During our whole stay we felt well looked after by the unobtrusive and remarkably helpful staff. The rooms although not that big are very comfortable and attractive. The bathrooms were bigger than expected. A wonderful dining area and bar are present off the lobby. This sort of luxury doesn't come cheap though. I have no doubt that from now on The Goring will be my london Hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Peter M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at The Goring you felt looked after and relaxed after your long journey. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that every guest feels completely at home whilst they are with us and I am thrilled that this has been recognised.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back to your London hotel on your next trip and hope that it will be before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Seven members of family met for a pre-booked special lunch. From the moment we walked through the door we were met with helpful and friendly staff. We were guided to a table at the bar for pre lunch drinks. One minor error in the order immediately resulted in a complimentary drink. The food was excellent and it was a pleasure to be served by well trained and attentive staff.
The older members of the family agreed that the experience and service was the best they had received for a long time and was reminiscent of the service one used to receive in many top establishments. We did not stay overnight but have no doubt that it would have been a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear richard w,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent Sunday Luncheon with us.

I am delighted that you and the other members of your family chose to enjoy your special lunch with us that that you weren’t disappointed. All of our team take great pride in ensuring that all of our guests are well cared for during their time with us and it is always a joy to see that this has been recognised.

We do hope that you will return to The Goring before too long and that maybe next time we will be able to persuade you to stay the night with us.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a great place. i loved it. Great staff all. Would return without doubt age 35-45 If I had to return to the capital there is nowshere else to go imo. Breakfast at the wolseley one morning great experience ice cream at fortnum and mason plus rosayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBmaxwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear PBmaxwells,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with earlier this month.

We are all delighted that you loved your time with us and if you returned to London you would only consider another night with us.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring and hope that it will be before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Throughout our years of travel, my family and I have enjoyed more than our share of fine hotels. Many fell short of the expectation one attaches to "star ratings." Without a doubt, The Goring stands apart from every other hotel by virtue of its absolute, and seemingly effortless, elegance.

The authentic kindness of the staff coupled with their gracious expertise only contributed to the beautiful surroundings. We will all hold that stay at the Goring as the new standard of excellence for every other hotel to match.

The highlight of the stay was, of course, the afternoon tea. We had enjoyed tea at Fortnum & Mason, but the tea at the Goring outshone even that afternoon. The deep, comfortable couches coupled with the rich, warm colors were a perfect complement to the luscious tea and scones. Beautifully presented and as delicious as anything we have ever enjoyed, tea at the Goring made for quite a wonderful afternoon.

Superlatives aside, words will fall short of providing a true picture of this delightful hotel. You simply cannot ask for more from an establishment or their staff. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to another very soon.

Room Tip: Both rooms the we stayed in were lovely and the small business center was reasonably equipped. Happi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline_Ballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jacqueline_Ballard,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us earlier in the summer.

We are all blown away by your comments and delighted that we stand apart from other hotels. It was such a joy to read your review and the team and thrilled that from the moment you arrived you were not in the least bit disappointed.

I have to agree with you our afternoon tea is something truly special. Ian and his team in the pastry produce the most incredible array for treats that it is impossible not to sample every single morsel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring and that it will be before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

On oct 1st 2013 my two daughters and I took afternoon tea at the Goring as part of my daughter's 30th birthday celebrations. The entire experience from arriving at the front door to leaving by the same route was wonderful. Congratulations to all the attentive and helpful staff who may this visit extra special for us and surprised my daughter with a special birthday cake, most unexpected a lovely gesture. Would recommend this to anyone who wants the real Macon when it comes to afternoon tea.

Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Kaye W,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory afternoon tea with us.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived to the moment you sadly departed The Goring you had a truly magical experience. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are cared for and that their time with us is memorable. I am thrilled that we were able to play a small part in your daughter’s birthday celebrations and I hope she enjoyed the rest of her birthday.

From all of us at The Goring we hope that we will be able to welcome you back before too long and thank you so much for your recommendation.

With warmest wishes,


Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing