We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UK July 2013”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A lovely visit also with a very bad leg , but the English taxi's make getting around very easy. Not tlike the New York taxis. The Bowie exhibition at the Victorian Albert was stunning. Also Mormon show was fantastic . Also ANgus steak house next to the theatre was great.

Room Tip: Room was a bit small next time sure to make sure I take something a little bigger.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanSverdlov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear jeanSverdlov2013,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us at the end of June.

I am delighted that you had a lovely time in London and were not hindered by your bad leg. London’s black cab drivers are some of the most helpful people I have met and I am thrilled that during your time you were able to experience this as well.

We all hope that you will return to The Goring before too long so that you are able to enjoy more of what London has on offer.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
There are newer reviews for The Goring
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Goring is by far the most comfortable and welcoming hotel I have stayed . From the moment we arrived, we felt like the staff were happy we were here. Patrick, the concierge, booked us into some wonderful restaurants and always seemed happy to help us.

Our room was lovely and the bath was luxurious. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracemawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear gracemawn,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at the hotel you felt like you had arrived at your home away from home. Patrick is thrilled that you enjoyed his restaurant recommendations. He is the bible of London restaurants and someone I always go to for a top tip!

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another luxurious bath and the chance for us to look after you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We started out in a "Splendid" room and found it to be not-so-Splendid. The room had a very awkward floor plan, and we found it to be very cramped for two people. After one night, we paid for an upgrade to a "Most Splendid" room with balcony, and that made all the difference. It was a lovely room and plenty spacious for two. These rooms are going for about 900 GBP so if that doesn't bother you, then you will find the location, the appoiintments of the Most Splendid room, and the service all to be top quality.

Room Tip: Nothing below the "Most Splendid" category.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzanneDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear SuzanneDu,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you felt far more at home in room 38 than room 79. We always recommend that a guest discusses their room preferences with us before arrival so we can ensure that they are allocated the most suitable room for their needs. Room 38 happens to be one of my favourite rooms with its own private balcony to relax on whilst overlooking the garden.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring to enjoy one of our Most Splendid rooms.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here one night on a business trip and it was perfect. From the moment I checked in until the moment I left, there was nothing I could really find fault with, except perhaps the bathroom
The room itself was not particularly large but adequate with a separate dressing area. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in with top notch linens. A greeting card, welcoming you, was a nice touch
All modern amenities, including a Roberts dab radio with an iPod dock
My only, very small gripe, would be the bathroom. It was very small and old fashioned. But it was spotless with Molton Brown toiletries and lots of very large, fluffy towels
At turndown, used towels were replaced and slippers placed next to the bed
The breakfast was amazing, all cooked to order and the best Danish pastries I ever had in a hotel
The staff were very helpful and polite. They ironed a shirt for me and it arrived back hung in my wardrobe. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
It is expensive, but a similar price to other top London hotels, but you are not just a name on the booking form here but a real person

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear lisasplaces,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at The Goring you were unable to find a fault during your stay. I have to agree our beds are very comfy and after a long day they are the perfect place to rest one’s head and doze off until the next morning. There is nothing better than starting the day with one of Graham’s breakfast and he is thrilled that everything you tasted was just to your liking. All of our team pride themselves on recognising each of our guests so that all of their wants and needs are addressed and taken care off.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring on your next business trip and please do speak to our reservations team about our bathrooms so we can ensure we allocate you a room with the perfect bathroom for you.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Goring for one week. We stayed in a "Splendid" room and it was that, with sufficient room. Everything in the room was first rate. It was also quiet. The room was attentively cleaned each day.

The hotel itself is well located ( a 3 minute walk to Victoria Station). It is traditional but not in the sense of feeling old or like your great grandmother decorated it. The hotel is very well maintained in every respect.

We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and dinner there one evening. The food and service there was outstanding. The evening meal was one of the best we have had in a long time. We also had afternoon tea one afternoon and it was also very good.

The staff was eager to please and service was excellent in all respects, except in the bar which was fine, but a little off the standard of the rest of the place.

The complimentary computer in the little business centre on the third floor worked very well for printing boarding passes and the like but the daily charge for internet use in the room that higher end hotels like The Goring still charge is an aggravation.

We have stayed at number of excellent hotels in London including 41 and Sofitel, each of which we have enjoyed, but this one is our favourite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Nakina,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our ‘Splendid Rooms.’ Matron certainly runs a tight ship upstairs and her and the team don’t miss a thing when it comes to ensuring that everything is spick and span.

Our whole team prides themselves in ensuring that all of our guests are looked after and cared for from the minute that they enter the hotel. It is always a lovely to see that this has been recognised by our guests and the team are thrilled by your comments regarding their service.

We all hope to welcome you back to your favourite London hotel before too long so that we can take care of you both once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice traditonal boutique hotel with Royal connections. Nice bar and outside patio. Worth a drink after a tired day's shopping. Cocktails aren't bad and they definitely make sure you have enough nuts..








Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Daniel l,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review your time with us earlier in the year.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our Veranda after a weary day of browsing London’s array of shops and boutiques. It is such a lovely way to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of our garden after the hustle and bustle of the surrounding city.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another cocktail and a few of our nibbles to accompany it.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife & I recently spent a night at The Goring for an anniversary treat. As we live in London it's not often we stay in a hotel here. Everything from check-in to breakfast & check-out was fabulous. The personal touch was great, we were greeted by name by almost every member of staff, from the doorman, concierge, reception and restaurant, every time we passed by. The room was a joy with lovely detail and finishings. We ate out in the evening, but had an excellent full english breakfast, and spent a long time lingering over it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear tonyandfi,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory stay with us.

We were thrilled that you chose to enjoy your anniversary treat at The Goring and delighted that you had an amazing experience on such a special occasion. Our team pride themselves on addressing each guest by name and it is always a joy to see this being recognised.

We all hope that you will be back before too long for another treat and a change to linger over breakfast in our Dining Room.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,073 in London
2,822 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,073 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,073 in London
517 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,073 in London
1,974 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#13 of 1,073 in London
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $439 - $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing