We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!!”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #5 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just got home after the most splendid afternoon tea, the staff could not have been more kind and helpful without being 'in your face' The food was fantastic and there was so much of it we are all absolutely full. We could ask for more sandwiches, pastries or scones the tea was constantly topped up and we could not fault anything about the whole experience - well done The Goring, you deserve the best afternoon tea in London award!!

Room Tip: Sadly didn't stay so can't comment - maybe one day!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nchlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear nchlv,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent afternoon tea at The Goring.

I am delighted that you were well looked after during your splendid tea with us. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are well looked after and that they want for nothing.

We are all thrilled that you believe that we deserve The 2013 Top London Afternoon Tea Award from the UK Tea Guild and hope that you will be able to visit us again for some more delectable treats before too long

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    126
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
251
577
71
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I love afternoon tea and our time spent at The Goring was indeed a joyous and atmospheric occasion, their Bollinger Afternoon Tea was sublime, the service and staff wonderful, we were made to feel like welcome friends even though it was our first visit. Strolling in the garden after the sumptuous fare was a delight as was listening to the sound of waterfalls in the heart of London and watching croquet on the lawn only added to the ambiance. I enjoyed the Lapsang Souchong tea immensely and am still dreaming of the warm homemade scones and the 'Not Quite a Trifle' and the cakes, the finger sandwiches ... well everything to be honest!.
Having enjoyed afternoon teas at The Ritz and The Wolseley I have to say The Goring was, in my estimation the most enjoyable. Try it!

Room Tip: I can't comment further as did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Margaret A,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent Bollinger Afternoon Tea with us.

We are all delighted by your comments and blown away by your statement that we were your most enjoyable afternoon tea. I am thrilled that you are still dreaming of the tasty treats that you enjoyed during your time with us and we hope that it won’t be too long before you return to sample them again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Gozo, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Been to the exquisite hotel, feeling proud to participate in the Goring objective. Yes I admit was there for a tea but the atmosphere was beyond description. To add flavour to the already tasty I was served excellently by a Maltese dedicated attendant and that really was more to convince me that the Goring considered the Maltese as their staff then really they know what they are doing!!!! Well done Goring be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Emmanuel G,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent afternoon tea at The Goring.

I am delighted that you thought that the hotel was exquisite and that you had a very tasty tea. It is always lovely to read that guests have been impressed by our team and that they felt well looked after.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring on your next trip to London.

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was an incredible experience. The hotel is beautiful - full of tradition and history. The staff was amazing. They both treated us like royalty and like an old friend. Becasue of the excellent location, we were able to walk almost everywhere we went and, therefore, saw much more. My only complaint is that I cannot, now, imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Barbara H,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in June of this year.

I am delighted that you had such an incredible experience with us. It is always a joy to read that our guests have enjoyed the décor and history of our hotel alongside the high levels of service our team pride themselves on offering to our guests.

We are all thrilled that your only complaint about the hotel was that you can’t imagine staying anyway else after your time with us. We only hope that it won’t be too long before we see you again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first stay in the Goring as part of our twice a year trips to London. As near perfect as you can get - service, location, ambience, food. Not cheap but real quality never is. Will be our automatic choice for our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGCDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear JGCDorset,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your first stay with us in February.

Wow what an accolade, we are thrilled by your comments that we have reset the bar and we were as near to perfect as you can get. All of our team are chuffed to pieces with your comments and we are delighted that you will be back on your next trip to London. We hope that this is before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Goring for five days. We were impressed by the staff and that nothing was too much trouble for them. Even organising us tickets to Mamma Mia with excellent seats. The building it just beautiful and the location perfect for us as first time visitors to London. Planning on a longer visit to London in 2015 to see all the sites we missed as five days not long enough. Thanks to all at The Goring for making our stay a memorable one.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsyphena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Tsyphena,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in May of this year.

I am delighted that you were impressed by the team at The Goring. They certainly pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are well looked after and they are all chuffed to pieces that this has been recognised.

We are so lucky with our location being just moments from many of the highlights that London has on offer. It makes seeing everything so easy and many of the top spots are only a few minutes stroll from the hotel.

We are all thrilled that you are looking to return to London in 2015 and do hope that The Goring will be top of your agenda!

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I recently stayed six nights at The Goring with my husband & 18 year old son. The garden is what initially 'sold' me on this hotel - I know how tiring it can be as a tourist in London, & this looked the perfect spot to unwind after a day of pounding the pavements & museums. Unfortunately for us it is also very popular with London city locals so it did prove difficult sometimes to get a table on the verandah or garden - particularly with the warm weather. I did feel a couple of times that as house guests there could have been a bit more TLC in handling this aspect. Everything & everyone else was warm and friendly & ensured our stay was very special. We had some delightful women wait staff who served us drinks & supper, & my husband's birthday celebration in the dining room was excellent. Thanks to both Jonathan & Patrick particularly for the attention before we arrived & while we were at The Goring with the organisation of tickets to shows and for my husband to Duxford air show & tour.
The location is good - station close by & Buckingham Palace close by.

Room Tip: Slightly noisy o. Street side but double glazing ensures it isn't too bad - it is the centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robykmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear robykmc,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review or your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you chose to stay at The Goring due to our garden. We are so lucky to have our garden which is an oasis of calm especially after a day seeing the sights of London. I have to agree with you, it is very popular especially during the warmer days and I am sorry that it wasn’t always easy to get a table.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed all of the other aspects of your stay and that John and Patrick were able to secure tickets for all of your selected excursions. They are brilliant at organising things for our guests and getting tickets for all of London’s top shows and of course in the best seats in the house.

We all hope that we will be able to welcome you and your family back to The Goring before too long and Happy Birthday again to your husband.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,790 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,069 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,956 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#9 of 1,069 in London
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing