We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #4 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked The Goring Hotel as we thought the location would be perfect for walking around. And so it was, 10 min walk to Sloane Street and Knightsbridge, as well as to opposite direction to Mayfair... Luckily the weather was nice and sunny, and we walked a lot - like we always do at lovely cities. You really get to see the city well, and get nice exercise at the same time ;-)

We really hadn't any expectations for The Goring than it should be nice as it is on SLH selection. But this hotel was so much more, what a splendid surprise! Such a wonderful family run hotel. All the service was just superb; kind and considerate.

Our room was lovely and quiet. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom spotless. Breakfast was excellent, the dining room where it is served is beautiful.

We loved the lounge bar's smooth atmosphere. We found ourselves having drinks there as last thing every evening. Great place for gearing down!

Thank you, we truly enjoyed. Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirklandgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear kirklandgirl02,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us last September.

I am delighted that we were so much more than you thought that we would be. It is always wonderful to see that we have far exceeded a guest’s expectations and that it was a splendid surprise for them. Our team pride themselves on ensuring all of our guests are looked after and it is lovely when this is recognised.

I do agree the Bar is the perfect location to wind down in and look back over the day’s sights and sounds.

We are all thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring on your next exploration of London.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

They do things well here, after all, they've had one hundred years of practice!
The overall air is of calm, unhurried efficiency. As we had business in the Victoria area The Goring fell easily into our tight schedule of meetings. It was easy to find the bar meeting area as it's straight ahead from the main entrance door. A pleasant concierge relived us of our heavy overcoats as we settled into the squashy, creased ( and comfortable ) leather chairs. The accompanying drinks items kept on coming, the Tanqueray 10 Dry Martini came with the ordered Grapefruit twist and the house champagne, whilst NV, had a good depth of colour and flavour. We didn't have much time to take in everything The Goring has to offer but we left refreshed with excellent first impressions. We will look forward to the summer when the inviting outdoor terrace and lawn can be enjoyed. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopTripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear TopTripie,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent relaxing time in our Lounge Bar.

It is always wonderful to hear that our guests think that we do things well and it is true we have had plenty of time to practice! I have to agree the Lounge Bar does have an air of calm and is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day of meetings whilst sipping on a cocktail.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another moment of relaxation under the sun on the Veranda.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the goring with afternoon tea and the service was outstanding, the staff were world class and were very attentive without appearing to be snobby as you get in other places. The room was lovey, a little breathtaking in fact as was the rest of the hotel. I think it's worth the price you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igetaroundalottoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear igetaroundalottoo,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that found the service to be outstanding and that the team were world class. It is always a joy to read that a guest’s room blew them away and this accompanied with the service gave them such a memorable stay.

All of us at The Goring hope that you will return before too long so that we can take care of your again.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I love this hotel! Not only is the location in London amazing, the history and staff at this hotel make it truly magical. It is a great boutique hotel and offers both modern amenities and old world history in one. The restaurants are also very special, especially high tea. I can't recommend the hotel and staff enough. Once you meet John, Patrick, Maraus and Mo you are part of their family. I hope I can stay at this hotel every time I visit London. I travel all over the world and this is one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skikatieski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear skikatieski,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring and it was wonderful to welcome you back.

I am delighted that you love The Goring and feel that the history surrounding the hotel and the team are what makes the hotel a truly magical place. John, Patrick, Mariusz and Mo certainly provide the warmest of welcomes and they are all thrilled that they made you feel truly at home and part of the furniture.

Wow what an accolade to be one of your favourite hotels in the world! We all hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring before too long and that we will be the only place that you stay in London.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune of spending one splendid night at The Goring - the first night of our trip to London. We arrived on a transcontinental flight from Canada. Though we showed up at the hotel a couple hours before official check-in, we were fortunate enough to have been shown to our room immediately. What luck!! A beautiful marble bath tub awaited in the luxurious bathroom. We filled it with steaming water and bubbles and soaked away the long journey, before crawling into the heavenly bed for a kip.
Every little detail was considered in the room. We particularly enjoyed the light settings (ohhh! was our favourite), and of course the adorable sheep footstool!

After a walk around the neighbourhood later that afternoon, we returned to a buzzing and lively lounge for a drink. Amazing people watching and awesome vibe. Loved how the bar had such a scene and clearly attracts young and old.

We shared some yummy bar snacks ( I always judge a bar by the quality of its bar snacks), and a sandwich, before retiring to our room for a 14 hour sleep!!

An iconic London hotel - worth the splurge for your next trip!!

AB

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amandabblakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Amandabblakley,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you were able to relax and unwind the moment you arrived at the hotel following your transatlantic flight. It is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their room and noticed the little details like the different light settings. Oh and of course our sheep, I hope you also saw Baabaraa in the Bar during your even drinks and nibbles.

We hope that the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring before too long.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a weekend at the Goring while attending a number of events in London. It wasn’t our first visit to this hotel, but it has been a number of years since we were last here. We stayed in a deluxe room (106) which was nice and spacious – had a good king sized bed, lovely bed linen and a black marble bathroom (with free-standing roll-yop bath). The towels were huge and plentiful (6 large bath sheets plus 6 hand towels), but toiletries were Molton Brown, which figures on the bottom end of my own personal “luxury brand” scale (I prefer Penhaligon, Asprey or Floris) – but this is a tiny, insignificant point…Room amenities were as expected - a flat screen TV, iPod dock and DAB radio and the offer of a tea and coffee making trayif you required it. But the real reason to stay at the Goring is of course to be on the receiving end of flawless service – such a great team, we really felt like family by the end of our weekend! No matter what we needed – a cup of tea, a late night supper or a conversation about the terrible rugby result – our needs were met with friendly, faultless, polished, professional service – fabulous! For tourists the hotel location is exceptional and for people looking to be outrageously pampered you need go nowhere else in London! Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear quin-i-bog,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent weekend stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you received flawless service from all of our team. They are what truly make The Goring so unique from other London hotels. Our team are thrilled by your comments and are chuffed to pieces that they are the reason you had such a fabulous time with us.

From all of us at The Goring we hope that this time it won’t be so long before you return for another weekend of outrageously pampered luxury.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We decided to splurge on our trip to London and I am so happy we did. First of all, the location of this hotel couldn't be better. It is just a block away from the Victoria train station. One block the other way is Buckingham Palace. To say the service was impeccable is an understatement. We were greeted immediately upon arriving and taken to the lounge to wait while we were checked in. We were greeted by name each and every time we entered/exited the hotel. They take immense pride in their job and it shows. The rooms were fairly large (by European standards) and this was by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We found out that we had brought the wrong electricity converter and were given the proper one immediately. We had drinks one night in the lounge and had such a wonderful time greeting and visiting with the staff. Yes, the prices are higher than most, but you definitely get a once-in-a-lifetime experience that we will always remember. Thank you, Goring staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candymr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear candymr_10,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us last month.

It is true we are so lucky with our location with some of London’s iconic sights just around the corner. I am delighted that from the moment you entered the hotel you received impeccable service and that you couldn’t fault the team. Our team pride themselves on recognising all of our guests and being able to address them by name. It is always lovely to see this and also the pride they take in their jobs being acknowledged.

We are all thrilled that you felt that you had a once in a lifetime experience with us and we do hope that you will return to visit us before too long. It doesn’t just have to be once in a lifetime!

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,939 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,537 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,081 in London
460 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#12 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $444 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing