We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable atmosphere”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #6 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My partner and I were recently treated to a Bollinger Afternoon Tea experience at The Goring. The intimate, calm and warm atmosphere created the perfect atmosphere to enjoy such a special occasion. I would certainly recommend this venue and experience as a gift for a special person- excellent, attentive service. Food was delicious and very filling! Great choice of a wide variety of teas and this was 'on tap'; as soon as the cup was placed back in the saucer, waiting staff were keen to top up. Not too formal, but attentive service. Only slight gaps were scuff marks on some skirting boards and toilet rolls collecting on the window ledge-nothing major but a let down for a hotel of this standard/reputation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mintymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mintymagic,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Bollinger Afternoon Tea at The Goring.
We are all thrilled that you especially enjoyed the atmosphere and felt that it was perfect for such a special occasion. Afternoon Tea at The Goring is certainly something not to be missed; I am especially partial to the chocolate eclairs!

I am delighted that you feel that tea at The Goring is the perfect gift for a special person and we do hope that you will be back to join us again.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    126
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
251
575
71
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

In London for a concert at the new St James Theatre, just a few minutes walk from The Goring. Had a fabulous stay, wonderful service from the staff. Rupert on the door made us feel very special by knowing our name when we pulled up in the car, a lovely touch. The hotel was full on our visit, but we never felt rushed or forgotten. The room (48) was beautifully furnished and as other reviewers have said, the beds are amazingly comfortable - fortunately we stayed on the night the clocks went back, so we got an extra hour in bed! Yes it's pricey, but as they say, you get what you pay for! By way of a recommendation, all I can say is we won't be staying anywhere else when we're next in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAK12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear GAK12_12,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am thrilled that you had a fabulous stay with us which started with a warm welcome from Rupert. I have passed on your comments to him and he is chuffed to pieces to have been mentioned.

We are all delighted that you will be returning to The Goring and that from now on we will be your first port of call.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for two nights recently. Location, Staff, Room, Dining all 5 Star. Shoes left out for polishing were returned next morning "gift wrapped" in a box. A very nice touch showing hotel's
meticulous dedication to every detail of service. Reservation calls and emails handled promptly,
with professional but delightful courtesy. Our room facing the quiet street was fine; courtyard view rooms are available too. Hotel will gladly advance cash (Sterling) and provide tourist tickets against your room account. Ambiance: friendly formality.

Room Tip: Rooms with courtyard view are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear pointq,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring.

I am thrilled that you found everything to be 5 stars whether it be the location of the hotel or the staff within it. Our team at The Goring certainly make the hotel and they are all delighted by your comments.

We do hope that you will return to The Goring in the not too distant future. I am sure your shoes will need another polish soon!

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had just come from the Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel in Paris which did blow us away and had free wireless and TV and the staff was amazing - very welcoming and beyond helpful. Perhaps I would have been more impressed with The Goring without that experience in Paris. We have stayed in lovely, first class hotels all over the world, and I would say The goring is equal to the better ones but it did not blow me away. For the price, service was what one would expect and perhaps a bit less. Staff were courteous and helpful but again, what I would expect.
We were surprised that we had to pay for wireless internet and TV- again , for the price, this would be an expected amenity.
Breakfast in the restaurant was fine but nothing special.
Now - having said the above - the location is grand! Convenient to the Tube and the On and Off Bus and in a very safe locale near some great little restaurants.
All in all, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scom4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear scom4t,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at The Goring.

I am thrilled that you feel we match other first class hotels that you have stayed in around the world. We are very lucky with our location in London despite being on a quiet street ourselves we are only moments from some of the best that the city has to offer.

With kind regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Goring from Oct. 15-20th. When we arrived before noon our room was ready and they upgraded us to a room located on the garden side.

Checking in was very swift and easy and they made us feel welcomed from the very beginning..

The room (59) was well-appointed and very elegant. The bed was SO comfortable with fine linens and soft pillows. I loved the large bathtub and the shower was nice with good water pressure.

I liked the concierge staff at the hotel. They were all gracious and accommodating and all the staff including the doorman called us by name. The hotel was extremely efficient at providing customer satisfaction.

I celebrated my birthday while in London. I happened to mention that to the concierge and days later on my birthday they sent me a bottle of champagne with a hand-written card wishing me a Happy Birthday! I was touched by this gesture.

We had room service one night and the food was good and presented nicely. We ate breakfast twice in the dining room and it was good. Pricey though.

I like to have coffee first thing in the morning. I asked about coffee service and they sent a hospitality tray with instant coffee, assorted teas, and a hot water pot. It was so convenient to have that in the room so I didn't have to order room service.

In general, I highly recommend The Goring for a wonderful stay in London. Great location too..

I am a runner and they offer jogging guides. Runs were great in St.James and Hyde PArks

Room Tip: Stay on garden side. View is pretty and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Cynthia R,

Thank you very much for your delightful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

The team and I were delighted that you chose to spend your birthday with us and are thrilled that we could play a small part in your celebrations.

I am thrilled that you felt totally at home in Room 59 and that you had plenty of time to soak in the bath, hopefully while sipping your birthday champagne!
We do hope that you will return to visit us again in your special place in London.

With kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel late september for 5 nights. Wow! This hotel is truly amazing. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a King room. The room was full of the comforts you enjoy when holidaying. It was quiet, the pillows were comfy and the Molton Brown amenities were lovely. The Room service and food were of superior service. The reception staff were exceptionally lovely and went out of their way to be helpful. Nothing was of any effort for the concierge. The service was outstanding. This is the only hotel I would stay at now in London and I have stayed in many before. Truly spoilt! Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Susan S,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring.

We are all thrilled that you thought the hotel was truly amazing and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I am delighted that our Concierge team were able to help you with anything you needed and that our Reception team were on hand to greet you so warmly.

Thank you so much for your amazing accolade that we are ‘The Hotel in London’ and that you won’t stay anywhere else from now on. Hopefully it won’t be too long until you visit us again.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I loved my stay at the Goring. I felt like a real princess. The treatment by the various personnel was excellent and fastidious. Every question, every request, was answered. The room was turned out beautifully, the facility is spotless and comfortable. I felt right at home; as if it were my own little corner of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvwgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear cvwgi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at The Goring.
I am thrilled that you loved you stay at The Goring and felt like a princess during your time with us. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests felt completely at home with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to The Goring in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,952 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#9 of 1,069 in London
399 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,069 in London
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing