We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foghorn”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2008

I have not visited London for a long time so I wanted a base to walk around Belgravia, Chelsea and Knightsbridge. Whilst it was a little hard to find (a friend collected me from Heathrow) The Goring is a gem of a Hotel situated in London's dress circle post code of SW1.
The hotel is small with around 80 rooms (reminded me in some ways of The Observatory Hotel in Sydney) I believe the hotel has under gone recent refurbishment and my suite was beautiful and very tastefully decorated.
I must say that I do not agree with another reviewer about the bar, it was a great place to people watch, I liked the fact that it was popular with what seems to be "London Establishment".
The staff were excellent and Concierge Team all have a very dry wit and were most helpful, one of them recommended a "Gastro Pub" called Thomas Cubitt which was so good I went their twice and it's only a 12 minute walk from The Goring.
What ever you do, make certain you read the framed letter in the Gentleman's Toilet, George Goring's response is brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foghorn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2008

Absolutely LOVED this hotel! We have been to London several times, but this is definitely the hotel at which we will always try to stay. The location is charming, right around the corner from Victoria tube station and an easy ride from there to Heathrow. It is in a neighborhood of charming architecture and easy walking to Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Sloane Square, etc. (Great restaurant, Rosillon, is easy walking distance towards Chelsea.)

The service is outstanding. It is just as good as any Four Seasons or similar, but more charming because of its small size and excellent personal attention. The doormen and front desk people all remember who you are. They helped us with so many things from dinner reservations to shipping recommendations to directions. They will go out in the pouring rain to find you a cab, and they generally go out of the way to help with anything. They answer their emails (unlike many hotels, no matter how large or well rated), and if you ask them to handle something, it is immediately done with no issues or complications.

In our case, we had to transport an 85 lb coachbuilt pram from a person's house 2.5 hours from London. They called around and negotiated for a cab to go pick it up and bring it to the hotel for a price that was cheaper than the train ticket, and they even added it to our hotel room! The pram was delivered in beautiful shape, and we were able to spend the five or six hours of our time touring London rather than dealing ourselves with the delivery. It was truly exceptional service. Peter, in particular, was incredibly nice and personable.

We did not try the food, but we did sample their high tea, and it was excellent with a beautiful view of the garden. The hotel itself is welcoming with lovely architectural features and a real warmth. They have very nice toiletries, Molton Brown, and wireless internet (free of charge). The rooms were very large with lovely curtains, wallpaper and period furniture. It is also quiet and intimate.

We will always stay here again. We truly loved the hotel and with such a small, welcoming staff, it feels like coming home when you walk in the door. I would personally rather have that than an extra hair dryer or flat screen TV any day.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jjonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

The Goring is always a treat. Public areas are warm and inviting and the service excellent. Dinner for 3 in the Dining Room simply superb. My Beef Wellington was 10/10. My only slight criticism is that the bedrooms are beginning to look a little tired and perhaps a slow programme of refurbishment might be necessary now. Overall though no complaints and I will be back again soon.

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank New2Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We stayed at the Goring on our honeymoon for seven days over Christmas, and can't say enough about this beautiful hotel. We had very high expectations and the Goring did not disappoint.

Our room was very comfortable and luxurious, as one would expect in a five star. The bed is indeed heavenly as many other reviews have mentioned, and our room (a "Delightful King", room 57) was very spacious, sumptuously yet tastefully decorated, with a view of the gardens which are lovely even in wintertime. The charming touches (like the sheep in each room) make this hotel more than a hotel - it is a wonderful home away from home.

The staff is remarkable; we had a number of traveller mishaps (lost luggage, a rental car with a flat tire) and requests (last minute theatre tickets, tickets to Boxing Day horse races) during our stay and the concierge took fantastic care of us, often truly going out of their way to meet our needs. Every staff member we encountered (and we encountered many) was friendly yet unobtrusive, including the manager (David Morgan Hewitt) and George Goring, both of whom we met at the Christmas Eve cocktail party. Mr. Goring - an avid horseman - even offered us some advice for our Boxing Day race picks. The maid service (and nightly turndown) is top notch as well, though you never see them. It is by far the best service I've experienced at any hotel, and we stayed in a number of hotels of this caliber on our honeymoon as well as on past trips.

We loved the sitting room for drinks; although they were quite pricey, it was a wonderful place to unwind before (or after) dinner, particularly if you can get a table near the fireplace. The restaurant is as good as the reviews say, and the service there is once again superb. The hotel was beautifully decorated throughout for Christmas.

We could not be more happy with our choice for our Christmas honeymoon; we can't wait to return someday and will treasure our honeymoon memories thanks to this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank lmillertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Not nearly as exemplary as the other reviewers made it out to be. I was very disappointed in what I got for the outrageous amount I paid.

Good points:
Good location right behind Buckingham Palace.
Easy walk to Victoria subway station.
Many very good places to eat in the area. (Volt & Bumbles are two)
The room was quiet with good temperature control.

Bad points:
Tiny (even by big-city standards) rooms..and I was upgraded. I would hate to see the size of my original room.
And I know it is just the luck of the draw on the view, but I ended up looking at the rubbish bins of the office building next door. Not exactly pleasant.
They use European bed sizing, so when you ask for a King, you get what in most of the world would be considered a Queen sized bed.
Staff was rude and arrogant.
The "garden" is about the size of a postage stamp and really not worth even looking at.
The bar is usually SO crowded in the afternoon/evening you can hardly move.
Only one elevator, which runs at a snails pace.
Amazingly expensive; even if you factor out the bad USD$ exchange rate.

Many will argue this is an old stately place and you should expect some differences from the ultra-modern more commercial business style hotels. But in my opinion The Goring went beyond quaint down the scale to just not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank bhencey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Brilliant!

Lovely, old fashion hotel - with excellent service and a great ethos!

Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank deaf_max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Just perfect! Stayed there with friends and we all thought the hotel was amazing. Knowing london quite well, this is one of the best
"English" hotels in the city. Perfect service as it should be!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank bon_viveur_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,076 in London
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,076 in London
1,989 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $428 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing