We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement Surprise”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #5 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Engagement Surprise”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Wow! This hotel and all their staff are amazing! From the minute we turned up (the car was wisked away), we were personally shown to our room, the check in staff were excellent! I had booked this hotel as a surprise for my girlfriend. She was completely unaware of my intention to propose! I had discussed this with Oliver and Alsion prior to booking and unlike the other '5' star hotels in London they really seemed to care. We had our room upgraded, i got down on bended knee, lots of happy tears later we had become engaged. Their was a knock at the door and champagne arrived, as we went downstairs later we were greeted by name and a round of applause was given. I'm having trouble writing how excellent every single second of our stay was. All i have left to say is a great big Thank You! You made Sarah (my fiance :-) feel the luckiest girl in the world!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Jamie T,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. All the team here wish you and Sarah our heart felt congratulations. It’s fabulous you enjoyed our Nina Campbell designed suite and your engagement dinner in the beautiful restaurant. We were so delighted to have played our own small part in your special day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your special home in London

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    126
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
251
577
71
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Maybe we stayed at another hotel, just cant equate to what others have written. Small bland rooms, 10 year old TV, worn carpet, staff in lounge and bar running around with their tails cut off, hotel like a museum to the dead ancestors. Except for a pretty girl in white smock at front desk all others toffee nosed. Concierge and doorman excellent. Sorry but there are many, many better service and value hotels in London. Over priced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hotelmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear hotelmikey,

We were all so sorry to read your review and see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of us do strive to ensure that you have a truly magical experience. I was delighted to see that our team did make you feel welcome. I am sorry that the room seems to have disappointed.
If you would like to discuss any of this with me, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would welcome the opportunity to find out more detail about your experience.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I cannot imagine anyone writing anything negative about The Goring. It's grand yet still cosy, traditional in the best sense, not at all stuffy and even rather eccentric in its way. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. An absolute one-off. If you love the uniformity of chain hotels, you might find this place a bit off the wall, but that's surely the hotel's charm, along with the wonderful service and amenities. My room was not huge and the prices are serious, but this is a 5 star destination and they make you feel like a 5 star guest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgeous10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Gorgeous10,

Thank you for such a lovely write up! You’re right, we are a one off. We consider ourselves as a bastion for quality and absolute individuality. For a century, four generations of The Goring family have run and cherished the hotel. We all take a huge amount of pride in the luxurious comfort, excellent food and drink but most of all the outstanding service we have here at The Goring. I am delighted you experienced it, and I do hope you do again before too long.

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent three nights at The Goring at end of a nine-day stay in England. The hotel is lovely and very well serviced. From the front door to the desk to the concierge to the bar, service was very good. The hotel is well located just a couple of blocks behind Buckingham Palace, and a couple from Victoria Station. The public spaces in the hotel are nice, and the bar presented quite a lively scene in the evening; it was quieter later at night, when it provided a lovely retreat for a night cap. The room itself was clean, though, as in many large cities where property values are high and space at a premium, fairly small. The bathroom too, very clean and well-appointed, was very small but functional. We had gotten a discounted room and so overlooked the street, which is not much of a view, but presented no noise problems as the hotel fronts a one-block-long street with no trafffic. The hotel garden looked lovely, and a room facing the garden would be the choice to make here. One side note is that the hallways of the hotel are lovely to look at and quite wide. The Goring is said to be one of the few remaining quality hotels in London that is family-owned. The service and attention to detail show that the Goring family takes great pride in its eponymous establishment. While we did not note a business center and the like and could not say whether this is a good property for someone traveling on business, for a vacation hotel in London it is first rate, so long as you don't require much space. We don't and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the lovely garden, though street noise is not at all a problem as the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear LeighCole,

Thank you for finding the time to post such a comprehensive review of The Goring. As you have highlighted, being on a side street, The Goring’s guest rooms are amongst the most tranquil in London. Every guest bedroom here is unique too, and all exclude an unmistakeable sense of English style and opulence. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience in our Dining Room. Chef painstakingly sources produce from across Britain to create the very best dishes. When you are planning your next trip to London, please do contact Oliver and his team to discuss what room is right for you.

Kind regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Goring is a classic property. Facilities are excellent and the Service is nearly flawless.

It's certainly not inexpensive, but if you are looking for a quality hotel with top- notch service, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear mgtravles,

Thank you for your kind words. May I say how fabulous it was to have you and the rest of your party with us here at The Goring. We take our personalised service very seriously indeed so it is delightful to hear you found the service top notch. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

After researching many different hotels for our week-long trip to London, my boyfriend and I decided upon The Goring (partly because we heard it was the Queen's favorite). We read all of the reviews from both travel websites and magazines and felt that we wanted to stay in a hotel with charm and history and hopefully wonderful service. The Goring lived up to its' wonderful reputation - from the moment we walked in the door, we felt like we were amongst friends. We honestly cannot say a single negative thing about this establishment; the staff is topnotch, the food is superb (we ate breakfast here each morning and it was great, their homemade bread/pastry basket is to die for and their afternoon tea is lovely) and our room, which was recently renovated was beautiful (try and get a balcony room - a little pricier, but well worth it). John at Concierge couldn't be any more helpful and we used his services every day, even booking our restaurant reservations a week in advance before our arrival.
We are both in the restaurant/catering business and we appreciate being taken care of when we are on vacation as we make our living doing the same for others. We look forward to going back to London and staying here again and again...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 (silk room with a beautiful balcony) - it overlooks the grounds and has a semi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Deborah M,

Thank you very much for finding the time to write such a lovely review of The Goring. I am thrilled you enjoyed our balcony rooms. Overlooking our tranquil gardens, they are the perfect place for al fresco drinks and dinning. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your new London home when you are next visiting.

Warm regards,

Graham Copeman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked what sounded like a wonderful trip to the Goring at a relatively good price through whatahotel.com. When we arrived, for some reason the credit card used by one of the group to confirm the booking had not been accepted. Two rooms were held against this card and no communications had been received from whatahotel.com or from the Goring directly. The rooms were still available when we arrived, but the hotel wanted to charge the 'walk in' price, rather than the discounted advance rate.

The Goring did, after some fairly persistent conversations, eventually allow us to pay the advance (lower) rate, but this took some of the shine off what should have been a lovely weekend.

Conversely, another couple in the group were significantly upgraded, their card had been accepted first time, they paid the lower rate - and they loved it!

Another element to consider here is that the wheelchair access to this hotel is not ideal if you are a full time wheelchair user. A full time wheelchair user in our group requested a shower seat on arrival (it was not offered, and not already in the room that had been booked as 'wheelchair accessible'). This shower seat never arrived. The following morning it was followed up with reception - they simply said "I think we have a shower seat, so I don't know why it wasn't provided" and not much more. We only stayed one night, so there was then no time to obtain the seat. This is such a shame. I hope that others are able to get better service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JamesHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear JamesHallam,

Thank you for your comments. Let me address some of the points you raised. Your bedroom room rates were discounted, based on your bedrooms being paid prior to your arrival. Unfortunately, the credit card used to take this pre-payment could not be processed. We did communicate this information with your booking agent. I would always advise booking directly with Oliver and his team here in reservations at The Goring. We do offer the very best rates and service.

I am sorry the shower seat was not in your bathroom despite being requested. It is just a pity that you didn’t give us a gentle reminder and we would have been more than happy to provide one.

It is always a pleasure to upgrade our guests whenever possible. I am pleased to say we did upgrade your entire party. Furthermore, I am delighted to hear that your party did enjoy their Ruby Wedding anniversary with us.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me at The Goring.

With warm regards,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,790 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,069 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,956 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#9 of 1,069 in London
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing