We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, very well-serviced hotel”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Charming, very well-serviced hotel”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent three nights at The Goring at end of a nine-day stay in England. The hotel is lovely and very well serviced. From the front door to the desk to the concierge to the bar, service was very good. The hotel is well located just a couple of blocks behind Buckingham Palace, and a couple from Victoria Station. The public spaces in the hotel are nice, and the bar presented quite a lively scene in the evening; it was quieter later at night, when it provided a lovely retreat for a night cap. The room itself was clean, though, as in many large cities where property values are high and space at a premium, fairly small. The bathroom too, very clean and well-appointed, was very small but functional. We had gotten a discounted room and so overlooked the street, which is not much of a view, but presented no noise problems as the hotel fronts a one-block-long street with no trafffic. The hotel garden looked lovely, and a room facing the garden would be the choice to make here. One side note is that the hallways of the hotel are lovely to look at and quite wide. The Goring is said to be one of the few remaining quality hotels in London that is family-owned. The service and attention to detail show that the Goring family takes great pride in its eponymous establishment. While we did not note a business center and the like and could not say whether this is a good property for someone traveling on business, for a vacation hotel in London it is first rate, so long as you don't require much space. We don't and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the lovely garden, though street noise is not at all a problem as the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear LeighCole,

Thank you for finding the time to post such a comprehensive review of The Goring. As you have highlighted, being on a side street, The Goring’s guest rooms are amongst the most tranquil in London. Every guest bedroom here is unique too, and all exclude an unmistakeable sense of English style and opulence. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience in our Dining Room. Chef painstakingly sources produce from across Britain to create the very best dishes. When you are planning your next trip to London, please do contact Oliver and his team to discuss what room is right for you.

Kind regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    124
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
242
561
67
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Goring is a classic property. Facilities are excellent and the Service is nearly flawless.

It's certainly not inexpensive, but if you are looking for a quality hotel with top- notch service, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear mgtravles,

Thank you for your kind words. May I say how fabulous it was to have you and the rest of your party with us here at The Goring. We take our personalised service very seriously indeed so it is delightful to hear you found the service top notch. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

After researching many different hotels for our week-long trip to London, my boyfriend and I decided upon The Goring (partly because we heard it was the Queen's favorite). We read all of the reviews from both travel websites and magazines and felt that we wanted to stay in a hotel with charm and history and hopefully wonderful service. The Goring lived up to its' wonderful reputation - from the moment we walked in the door, we felt like we were amongst friends. We honestly cannot say a single negative thing about this establishment; the staff is topnotch, the food is superb (we ate breakfast here each morning and it was great, their homemade bread/pastry basket is to die for and their afternoon tea is lovely) and our room, which was recently renovated was beautiful (try and get a balcony room - a little pricier, but well worth it). John at Concierge couldn't be any more helpful and we used his services every day, even booking our restaurant reservations a week in advance before our arrival.
We are both in the restaurant/catering business and we appreciate being taken care of when we are on vacation as we make our living doing the same for others. We look forward to going back to London and staying here again and again...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 (silk room with a beautiful balcony) - it overlooks the grounds and has a semi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Deborah M,

Thank you very much for finding the time to write such a lovely review of The Goring. I am thrilled you enjoyed our balcony rooms. Overlooking our tranquil gardens, they are the perfect place for al fresco drinks and dinning. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your new London home when you are next visiting.

Warm regards,

Graham Copeman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked what sounded like a wonderful trip to the Goring at a relatively good price through whatahotel.com. When we arrived, for some reason the credit card used by one of the group to confirm the booking had not been accepted. Two rooms were held against this card and no communications had been received from whatahotel.com or from the Goring directly. The rooms were still available when we arrived, but the hotel wanted to charge the 'walk in' price, rather than the discounted advance rate.

The Goring did, after some fairly persistent conversations, eventually allow us to pay the advance (lower) rate, but this took some of the shine off what should have been a lovely weekend.

Conversely, another couple in the group were significantly upgraded, their card had been accepted first time, they paid the lower rate - and they loved it!

Another element to consider here is that the wheelchair access to this hotel is not ideal if you are a full time wheelchair user. A full time wheelchair user in our group requested a shower seat on arrival (it was not offered, and not already in the room that had been booked as 'wheelchair accessible'). This shower seat never arrived. The following morning it was followed up with reception - they simply said "I think we have a shower seat, so I don't know why it wasn't provided" and not much more. We only stayed one night, so there was then no time to obtain the seat. This is such a shame. I hope that others are able to get better service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JamesHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear JamesHallam,

Thank you for your comments. Let me address some of the points you raised. Your bedroom room rates were discounted, based on your bedrooms being paid prior to your arrival. Unfortunately, the credit card used to take this pre-payment could not be processed. We did communicate this information with your booking agent. I would always advise booking directly with Oliver and his team here in reservations at The Goring. We do offer the very best rates and service.

I am sorry the shower seat was not in your bathroom despite being requested. It is just a pity that you didn’t give us a gentle reminder and we would have been more than happy to provide one.

It is always a pleasure to upgrade our guests whenever possible. I am pleased to say we did upgrade your entire party. Furthermore, I am delighted to hear that your party did enjoy their Ruby Wedding anniversary with us.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me at The Goring.

With warm regards,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for one night in last June at the end of a wonderful honeymoon rail tour of Europe. We had been in lots of nice hotels and always made a point of telling them it was our honeymoon. The Goring was the only hotel that greeted us by our married names at reception and offered us congratulations. A small thing but it typifies the style and attention to detail which run through this English gem.

And the upgrade here trumped anything we could have possibly hoped for. We were given a huge room with splendid views over the gardens resplendent with its Caribbean beach bar. We felt at home as an English couple who live in Antigua we wee just sad there was no-one we could wave to down below while we sipped our complimentary champagne.

We ate at the restaurant the next day when we met up with family and we all enjoyed traditional but brilliantly executed, and thoughtfully sourced, British food.

Having to coordinate all our various bags, wedding presents and shopping for our flight home the next day was handled with impeccable care and service by the porters.

Yes the prices are sky high, but fortunately we weren't paying and we will happily stump up if we get the chance again.

We'll always have the Goring and so should you!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Punterinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Punterinparadise,

Congratulations on your marriage, and what sounds like an idyllic and romantic honeymoon. We pride ourselves on our personal and attentive service here at The Goring. We strive to delivery memorable experiences for each and every one of our guests. It’s fabulous to hear you will always carry special memories of The Goring. Hopefully you can return and re-live them all before too long.

Kind regards,

Graham Copeman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I travel extensively and do not compromise on hotels. It was a big mistake to stay at the Goring. My bedroom next door to a kitchen, (yes on the 3rd floor), that emitted loud noises late in to the evening and at the crack of dawn. Moreover, the hotel could not find my wash bag and shaving kit only a few hours after leaving them by accident in my room after check out. The management on learning of my complaint responded by saying that I must of mislaid my shaving kit elsewhere.What a disgraceful attitude from what is meant to be an exclusive hotel. On the basis of my experience at the Goring, I suggest to stay away. BTW - the cooked breakfast was prepared with a heavy hand and was extremely greasy. Yuk!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jdcTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We are all so sorry to read this review. This guest was disturbed by some noise during his stay and we were upset to hear of this occurrence. Immediately we invited the guest back to The Goring to stay with our compliments on a future occasion. All of us had hoped to be able to create a wonderful experience for him. On returning home the guest found he had lost his washbag and sadly we dud not find it in his room following his departure. We did feel it was not appropriate for us to reimburse the £140 requested by the guest for the washbag which he said he had lost. A bitter review like this is very sad to read but we do realise that occasionally TripAdvisor will be used in this way. We are delighted that 164 of the 185 reviewers think we are Excellent or Very Good. I assure them that we will always strive to improve in any way we can.

Kindest regards,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We booked The Goring before the Royal Wedding, and in fact were surprised when we read that Kate Middleton would be staying at our chosen hotel the night before the her day! Given the location and the age of the hotel, it is no surprise. The British do love their tradition! I have stayed in London several times before and now have a favorite haunt in the Goring. We booked a deluxe room and it was well appointed, the decor lovely. At 300 square feet, it was a tad small, but certainly adequate. The staff is friendly and there is not a whiff of stuffiness or pretension. The dining room was also excellent, where we had a very traditional British meal of Beef Wellington. We would book this hotel again in an instant!

Room Tip: Airport transportation is available. In spite of the expense, book the afternoon tea, an experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicklLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear MickILaura,

What a lovely review, thank you. The Dining Room is indeed a haven of proper British cuisine. I’m thrilled chef Derek Quelch’s proudly British menu tickled your taste buds. I must say, it doesn’t get much better than Beef Wellington carved on the trolley! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to your London home when you are next visiting. For the very best room rates guaranteed, please do contact Oliver and his reservations team or peruse our website.

With kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,731 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#9 of 1,067 in London
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing