We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shame about the crockery”
Review of Medlar

Medlar
Reserve with OpenTable
Medlar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $49
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“shame about the crockery”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had an excellent lunch with some fellow gourmands who are regulars here. For me it was the first visit. Not completely convinced about the decor but the food was outstanding and original. We had arranged corkage on most of the wines but had an excellent Rully from the impressive list. The sommelier (from Rouen) was excellent, as was the service generally. Just slightly disappointed by the crockery which was rather old and tarnished and looked as though it could have been handed down from a struggling boarding school. But this was the only minor quibble in an otherwise fine dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gourmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    157
    29
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds ,UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very popular.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On a Friday evening they were packed. We first visited 18 months ago and they now have a Michelin star so no doubt that brings in even more customers.
For £42 you get a 3 course evening menu. Staff are still casual but attentive and friendly. We could not fault any of them and they were very busy all night. We could only get in at 18.30 and were still there 3 hours later as we got chatting to the couple at the next table. (yes really speaking to strangers in London! not done i know but they were northerners too) We were not hurried out by the staff even though they still had people coming in.
I had blade of beef which was outstanding. Overall well cooked and tasty food. The biggest improvement in our opinion was the complexity and skill in the pudding department. They were ordinary and just OK on our previous visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Four very satisfied diners”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our daughter lives in London and had been extremely impressed with the food on her previous visit to the Medlar, so we were anticipating a treat, and so it proved.
We ate from the fixed price menu at Sunday lunch (£25 for 2 courses, £30 for 3).
My Duck egg tart in a red wine sauce with sauteed duck heart etc.was simply superb and the crab raviolo was equally well-received.
For the main course I chose Cornish Gurnard with palourde clams and it was very good, but, judging by the relish and salivation of my daughter and boyfriend in eating their steaks, I may have missed a trick. Ah well, there is always a next time.
Service was both delightful and impeccable.
In truth, though relaxed and comfortable, there was not a lot of atmosphere, but the food more than made up for that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikebutler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having looked forward to dinner here we were, I'm afraid to say underwhelmed. The fixed price menu looked very inviting but the description's of the food sadly didn't really match what arrived, the starter of new season asparagus was ok but nothing special, our main course (for which we paid extra!) of wild turbot, was bland. Unfortunately the best part of the meal was the rather good cheese board (again extra) but it was the best bit. The wine list too, was extensive and good but the overall experience was not at all as good as we had been expecting. There was little atmosphere, however the staff were delightful. All in all not somewhere to rush to. Maybe the chef was off? Can't really believe they have a Michelin star, my husband didn't realise they had and didn't believe when I told him they did............

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaraC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well price lovely food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate on a Saturday night. Excellent lamb and crab starters, very nicely cooked steaks and fresh interesting desserts very good value at £42 per head. Very good wine list and good to see some very reasonably priced bottles. Relaxed professional service. I'd definitely return. Don't go expecting a silver service classic meal, more a relaxed, modern high quality dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ycknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing