We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tiny but clean room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rushmore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rushmore
Ranked #548 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tiny but clean room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel Rushmore´s situation is just perfect: just a hundred meters from Earl´s Court tube station. That was the main reason we chose it.

We (I, my wife and our 18-year old son) got a room for three persons on ground floor. The room was really small. We have stayed in Kensington before, but this room was much smaller than what we had e.g. in "London Lodge Hotel". And there wasn´t storage place enough, just one coat rack, one shelf and one little drawer. That´s not enough for three people! But all the beds were "normal size beds" (the third bed wasn´t some kind of smaller extra bed) as they had promised.

The walls were like paper, sometimes we could hear what the receptionist talked... The room had seen better days, but now it really is time to update it! Fortunately the cleaner made her best and the room was so clean it could be! Because there was no double glassed windows, you could hear everything that happened on the street. Fortunately there wasn´t busy trafic!

Breakfast was included in the price which isn´t typical in bigger hotels and although it was quite poor, you could manage with it ´til lunch.

I would like to give Rushmore Hotel two and half points, because three points is too much and (thank for the cleaner!) two points is too few, but because there´s not that alternative, let´s say that it is three...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PekkaTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    207
    89
    33
    32
See reviews for
104
120
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have actually been here three times but I am definitely not coming back - it got too expensive for what you're getting. The location is great but there are other hotels with a good location in that area and I'll look into that for my next trip. I like that they took the time to design their rooms differently and with a cute British flair. However, their service, by now, is practically nonexistent - we were 3 people sharing a room - we had to ask several times for a third bath towel, and we had to share the hand towel between the three of us. There definitely wasn't enough room or storage space in the room for 3 people. The rooms require updates desperately, the 'blankets' are old and disgusting. The bathroom was alright and clean, but the showers are very small. The rooms were very noisy, we could hear the TV from the next room so clearly it was almost creepy.

Their breakfast is a weak excuse - no eggs, no ham, one kind of fruit every day (if you don't like it you're simply out of luck because they sure don't welcome any requests), one kind of cheap cheese, then they ran out of bread (!) at 9:30AM. they took FOREVER to restock anything, like the 'fruit of the day', if there actually was more. If you don't LOVE cereal, this 'breakfast' is not for you.

On one day, the internet was down and all the lady at the front desk did was give us the password for the wifi of the hotel next door (which was too weak to connect to), making it very clear that she wasn't intending to look into the issue. You have to leave your key every time you leave the premises, which is something I personally don't enjoy. The staff are not interested in you or accomodating you definitely. On the day we checked out we wanted to leave our luggage in storage for a while. They suggested we leave it standing around in the very narrow entryway completely ungarded and in everybody's way, with receptionists who couldn't care less about who takes a bag with them. We opted to leave it in the "storage room" which was also the laundry room. If this place was cheaper, it might be acceptable, but for the current price, it simply isn't worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0upin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in October.
Hotel location is very good: around the corner from the exit of Earls Court tube station.
Hotel room was basic (1 door of cupboard loose), and clean.
No lift, walk up steep stairs to the different floors.
Free wifi is handy.
Breakfast in cellar was ok.

Room Tip: Room 21 on 2nd floor has enough space, and 2 beds shoved together. Beds in that room do not have foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there to do some sightseeing in London and it was great for that. The rooms were clean but pretty small and the breakfast was average.
The staff were really nice but on our last night there was a leak in the room above us we couldn't be moved as they were full. We weren't offered a discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Could not be closer to the earls court underground station. They happily stored luggage for me for a couple of days which was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

BEWARE ... ONE OF THE STAFF IN THIS HOTEL IS A THIEF!!! ... I had 50 pounds stolen out of my wallet!!! Great location but was very disappointed that this happened - no room safe so had to leave my wallet in the room while we were out for the day. Also very disappointed that I have had no email of apolgy from management, as I reported this to staff that was on the desk and she said that she would let her manager know but no response from them. I suggest if you stay here be VERY CAREFULL !!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liana39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent location, just off earls court rd & 1 min from tube station so very accessible to all parts of central London

Stayed in twin room which was very nice though bit tight on space. Room on 3rd floor, with no lift and steep stairs. Self-service breakfast (cereal, toast etc) was fine but only one type of fruit available. Free Wi-Fi also available

Fire alarm went off around 6.30am one morning, but seemed to be ignored by everyone. Paid £187 for twin room for fri & sat night. Expensive for what you get but suppose the location is a big factor in this

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#518 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#499 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#381 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#713 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#846 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#258 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rushmore

Property: Hotel Rushmore
Address: 11 Trebovir Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rushmore 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1900 Victorian townhouse with individually themed and tastefully designed bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Hotel London
Hotel Rushmore London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing