We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms but pleasant and clean”
Review of New Linden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Linden Hotel
Ranked #602 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in room 4 which was £115 for a very small room. When you opened the door you hit the bed and room to move around was very limited! Outside the room was an outside area which guests and staff used to smoke, not very pleasant aroma in the room. Good sized bathroom.

The breakfast layout is just awful. There were just not enough tables for all the guest!!! A number of guests who were not willing to wait for a very average continental breakfast were taking what they could back to their room!! Non of the breakfast staff speak any English so carnage for peak times.

On a plus note very pleasant reception staff and area. The hotel is in an very nice part of London and good for Notting Hill Gate, Queensway and Bayswater tube stations. Even better location for Saturdays Portobello Market

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 765 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business at the New Linden, on arrival staff were friendly and initial thought was the hotel was a clean tidy place and at the price paid of £63.10p on a last minute web site, I was pleasantly surprised!
The room was of a good standard with nice en-suite, breakfast was continental only but was ok.
At the price would stay again and recommend.
Free on street parking until 08:30am but be aware and don't park in resident permit holder spaces as you will get a ticket.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I live in London but thought I'd treat my partner for valentines day so booked us into the New Linden hotel for a night.

I was originally going to book a standard room but then i read they were only 11sq metres (basically a box!) so i called up directly and secured a deal on a luxury suite.

The luxury suite was lovely - spacious and beautifully decorated with a big comfy 4-post bed. Our bath was infact a jacuzzi bath with rainbow lights (hours of fun and frolics!) and our big bay windows lead onto our own private balcony overlooking the stunning Linden square and their multi-millionaire mansions.

Location is great - just 5mins from portobello market, Notting Hill/Bayswater/Queensway stations but you still felt like you were in the depths of Notting Hill.

Breakfast was simple (cereal, fruit. jams and hams) and the wifi signal was pretty weak but all in all it was a great stay.

I never got to see the size of the standard rooms but I'd highly recommend booking a luxury suite for the balcony and jacuzzi bath!

Room Tip: Luxury Suite 104 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed 1 night in January. Perfectly pleasant, nice clean room good quality bedding and towels. Helpful staff and great choice of restaurants nearby. 5 Minute walk from tube and easy walking distance to parkland. Great Value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a good deal on a room through booking.com and found on arrival we'd been given a triple room (double and single bed) so had no issues about room size. The staff were friendly, the room very clean, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was simple and very enjoyable. I loved the location, which was close to lots of restaurants. I booked because it was a good price and I'd go back again...

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was great value for money and a few minutes walk away from Portobello Road and Bayswater tube station. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated with friendly staff. All you need for a city stay. As per other reviews, the rooms are small, but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolyneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice place to stay. It is located in notting hill are very close to all amenities! 2 minutes walking from Westbourne Grove and all restaurants.

The staff is very kind and professional.

I recommend this hotel also for business travels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierluigi_Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#354 of 1,076 in London
1,535 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#287 of 1,076 in London
1,688 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#612 of 1,076 in London
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#444 of 1,076 in London
256 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#428 of 1,076 in London
308 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#493 of 1,076 in London
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Linden Hotel

Address: 59 Leinster Square, London W2 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#352 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $82 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Linden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Linden Hotel belongs to the Mayflower Collection, a family-run collection of properties which have been part of London's hotel scene since 1995. The unifying factor across the Collection is design. Each property boasts a strong East-meets-West theme, conveyed through sumptuous fabrics, luxurious colour schemes, and many pieces of stunning antique furniture. At the New Linden Hotel, these striking design features blend seamlessly with state-of-the-art modern conveniences in the rooms. The hotel offers 50 en-suite rooms, including some luxury suites complete with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful bathrooms, and gorgeous views, as well as Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury mattress toppers, and large HD LED flat-screen TVs. The hotel itself is a stylish boutique gem in a spectacular Victorian townhouse, and offers a comfortable Eastern-inspired lounge area and an open roof terrace where guests can relax. New Linden is located on a peaceful residential street off trendy Westbourne Grove, in the heart of London's West End. We are a short stroll from Notting Hill and Bayswater Underground stations, providing quick access to all that London has to offer. Around the corner from the hotel is the world-renowned Portobello Market, alive with stalls, cafes, and restaurants. View famous faces at Madame Tussauds or relax at the many cinemas and theatres that are available. This is one of London's most thriving districts, situated on the edge of Hyde Park. There is easy access to Paddington station, Marble Arch, Oxford Street and the well established area of Marylebone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Linden London
Hotel New Linden
New Linden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing