We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small rooms but pleasant and clean”
Review of New Linden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Linden Hotel
Ranked #602 of 1,064 Hotels in London
South Staffs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very small rooms but pleasant and clean”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in room 4 which was £115 for a very small room. When you opened the door you hit the bed and room to move around was very limited! Outside the room was an outside area which guests and staff used to smoke, not very pleasant aroma in the room. Good sized bathroom.

The breakfast layout is just awful. There were just not enough tables for all the guest!!! A number of guests who were not willing to wait for a very average continental breakfast were taking what they could back to their room!! Non of the breakfast staff speak any English so carnage for peak times.

On a plus note very pleasant reception staff and area. The hotel is in an very nice part of London and good for Notting Hill Gate, Queensway and Bayswater tube stations. Even better location for Saturdays Portobello Market

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    322
    163
    62
    53
See reviews for
102
301
70
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business at the New Linden, on arrival staff were friendly and initial thought was the hotel was a clean tidy place and at the price paid of £63.10p on a last minute web site, I was pleasantly surprised!
The room was of a good standard with nice en-suite, breakfast was continental only but was ok.
At the price would stay again and recommend.
Free on street parking until 08:30am but be aware and don't park in resident permit holder spaces as you will get a ticket.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I live in London but thought I'd treat my partner for valentines day so booked us into the New Linden hotel for a night.

I was originally going to book a standard room but then i read they were only 11sq metres (basically a box!) so i called up directly and secured a deal on a luxury suite.

The luxury suite was lovely - spacious and beautifully decorated with a big comfy 4-post bed. Our bath was infact a jacuzzi bath with rainbow lights (hours of fun and frolics!) and our big bay windows lead onto our own private balcony overlooking the stunning Linden square and their multi-millionaire mansions.

Location is great - just 5mins from portobello market, Notting Hill/Bayswater/Queensway stations but you still felt like you were in the depths of Notting Hill.

Breakfast was simple (cereal, fruit. jams and hams) and the wifi signal was pretty weak but all in all it was a great stay.

I never got to see the size of the standard rooms but I'd highly recommend booking a luxury suite for the balcony and jacuzzi bath!

Room Tip: Luxury Suite 104 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed 1 night in January. Perfectly pleasant, nice clean room good quality bedding and towels. Helpful staff and great choice of restaurants nearby. 5 Minute walk from tube and easy walking distance to parkland. Great Value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a good deal on a room through booking.com and found on arrival we'd been given a triple room (double and single bed) so had no issues about room size. The staff were friendly, the room very clean, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was simple and very enjoyable. I loved the location, which was close to lots of restaurants. I booked because it was a good price and I'd go back again...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was great value for money and a few minutes walk away from Portobello Road and Bayswater tube station. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated with friendly staff. All you need for a city stay. As per other reviews, the rooms are small, but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolyneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice place to stay. It is located in notting hill are very close to all amenities! 2 minutes walking from Westbourne Grove and all restaurants.

The staff is very kind and professional.

I recommend this hotel also for business travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierluigi_Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#349 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#282 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#609 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#567 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#421 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#304 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Linden Hotel

Property: New Linden Hotel
Address: 59 Leinster Square, London W2 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#352 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Linden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Linden Hotel belongs to the Mayflower Collection, a family-run collection of properties which have been part of London's hotel scene since 1995. The unifying factor across the Collection is design. Each property boasts a strong East-meets-West theme, conveyed through sumptuous fabrics, luxurious colour schemes, and many pieces of stunning antique furniture. At the New Linden Hotel, these striking design features blend seamlessly with state-of-the-art modern conveniences in the rooms. The hotel offers 50 en-suite rooms, including some luxury suites complete with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful bathrooms, and gorgeous views, as well as Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury mattress toppers, and large HD LED flat-screen TVs. The hotel itself is a stylish boutique gem in a spectacular Victorian townhouse, and offers a comfortable Eastern-inspired lounge area and an open roof terrace where guests can relax. New Linden is located on a peaceful residential street off trendy Westbourne Grove, in the heart of London's West End. We are a short stroll from Notting Hill and Bayswater Underground stations, providing quick access to all that London has to offer. Around the corner from the hotel is the world-renowned Portobello Market, alive with stalls, cafes, and restaurants. View famous faces at Madame Tussauds or relax at the many cinemas and theatres that are available. This is one of London's most thriving districts, situated on the edge of Hyde Park. There is easy access to Paddington station, Marble Arch, Oxford Street and the well established area of Marylebone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your New Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Linden London
Hotel New Linden
New Linden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing