We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burrito lunch heaven - popular for a reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chilango

Chilango
Ranked #16,001 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: This award-winning, fast-casual Mexican restaurant serves fresh Mexican food including burritos, tacos and salads and features a streamlined pick-up service for customers who wish to pre-order for take-away. Open Mon-Fri 11am-9pm.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Burrito lunch heaven - popular for a reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Every lunchtime there are queues at Chilangos in Fleet Street, even when surrounding restaurant takeaways are not busy. The queues soon disappear as the service its super fast and you rarely have to wait very long. The food when you get it is well worth the wait - super tasty and hot, drive with charm and humour.

The locals in this part of the City are demanding and not easy to please - and the fact is they are more than happy to queue at Chilangos.

Good enough to convert a self confessed non fan of Mexican food into a regular visitor.

If you are hungry and need interesting food a million times better than a sandwich then a quick detour to Chilango is a rewarding trip at lunchtime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ActonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    10
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best burritos in London, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

After trying several Mexican food joints in London, my verdict is that Chilango has the best burritos. The only downside is the price - they charge one pound (!) for guacamole, so my bill was ~6.70 pounds. Only Chipotle is more expensive in London.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabliau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Burrito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

After a business meeting in the area a colleague and I made a point of visiting this restaurant. Having visited this sort of eating establishment before I still wasn't ready for the onslaught of questions regarding the filling of the burrito.

After going through the construction process and being handed a 2lb silver foil package I was extremely pleased with the contents. The price was average c£14 for the two of us with drinks.

I had beef, but there was chicken and pork available also. Overall it was a really nice meal -walked off on the way back to Euston station!

Well recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaverickViper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty, I would expect it a bit cheaper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I visited today the store at Chancery lane, very friendly personnel, they prepared my burrito really fast and the taste was amazing. I think for the size thought a price at 5 pounds would be more suitable instead of 6 pounds.

maybe 6.5 with a drink would be awesome :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgirisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Burritos in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you're in London - go seek out one of these braches. The burrito as a whole are incredible, thanks largely to their component parts individually being great. Chicken = really succulent and perfectly seasoned. Salsa = selection of mild, medium and hot, if you can take your spice then ask for all three. Rice has some subtle seasoning, sour cream is great, cheese and fresh lettuce always a plus. Guacamole was incredible. Atmosphere was great and staff really friendly. Like, I say, definitely worth re-visiting or seeking out if you haven't been.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilango also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Chilango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing