We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watson would have been proud!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sherlock Holmes Pub

The Sherlock Holmes Pub
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.66*
and up
Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London
Ranked #25 of 1,271 Nightlife in London
Attraction details
Kings Lynn ,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Watson would have been proud!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

An excellent pub with friendly staff and great food. Try the fish and chips (we loathe fish and chips). A real tribute to the greatest detective to ever walk this earth. And they constantly show Holmes programmes especially the Jeremy Brett and Basil Rathbone versions.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    339
    157
    50
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovely pub in center of London. I meet with old comrades here every Remembrance day. It can get quite busy, but the sing songs and good beer make it more than worth it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pub close to Trafalgar Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Been going here for years, like the rest of my family, when in London. Ok pub, the atmosphere is like any pub, the grub is allright - and you can your on the spot if you order from the selection in the counter like fish&chips, sausages, pie etc. Same for drinks, allright and normal prices for London, staff is...allright too. Location i s excellent close to Trafalgar and Embankment etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank turistkjell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,025 helpful votes
“Traditional English pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Its a beautiful pub, great location. The service was not that good, but it had a good atmosphere, wine selection not good, but good selection of bears and pub food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievably poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I work round the corner to this place and often recommend our foreign customers this place as a "traditional pub - pub grub etc". Took my Canadian in-laws there (again, close to work etc) and despite the restaurant being completely empty bar a table of 4 in the corner, this at 8pm midweek, they refused to allow our group of 9 to eat as 2 were only going to have a pint (a pub remember) before catching their train! Actually told we weren't welcome. The place never serves a decent pint anyway, but has the fixtures and fittings that tourist like, but to actually refuse custom is beyond the pale.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sherlock Holmes Pub also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Sherlock Holmes Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing