We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History of middle class Britain since mid 16th Century”
Review of Geffrye Museum

Geffrye Museum
Ranked #128 of 1,648 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Free museum and gardens exploring the home and home life, in Hoxton, East London. Period rooms, gardens, events, exhibitions, cafe and shop.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“History of middle class Britain since mid 16th Century”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had a thoroughly good time visiting this unexpectedly interesting museum in Hoxton. The old building it is housed in, has been adapted beautifully to show the rooms over the years. There is a good explanation of the exhibits with paddle boards in every room. What I did not appreciate, was being followed by a security guard along the whole museum. I realise that thefts do happen, but I am sure there are cameras in all the rooms and I was made to feel uncomfortable.

There is a lovely garden outside and a cafe resembling a conservatory (serving good food and with wifi) overlooking it. I did not have time to visit the exhibit on the conversion of the old Arsenal stadium, but may return in future. On Wednesdays, there are tours of the almshouses and this would be very interesting.

There is a bus stop right outside with buses going towards Old St and Liverpool St. It is also just behind Hoxton Rail Station.

This was a good museum and was free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    262
    41
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum in a lovely setting - great for kids to explore”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The museum is housed in a former almshouse complex and is a relaxing contrast with buzzing Kingsland Road. Our arrival set the tone when the amiable receptionist took care of our umbrellas (it was a wet and blustry day) and pointed out the free lockers available in front of her desk. So we were able to enjoy an unencumbered tour. The mock-ups of rooms from each historic period are most enjoyable - and this is definitely a 'please touch' museum with plenty of items to give a feel for the textures and objects of earlier times. There is also plenty of explanatory material to help visitors understand the context in which these dwellings were created and how they were used, so you get to know better the people who lived in them.

We were amused when we immediately recognised some of the objects in the more recent 'typical rooms of the time' as having been in our own homes!

Although we didn't used the cafe, it was spacious, enjoyed plenty of natural light and there seemed to be a good menu range to choose from.

The extensive walled garden is glorious. Firstly, take a good look while inside so as to appreciate the more formal elements from above and then get close up to the plants - especially the fragrant herbs and flowers. As well as its aesthetic appeal, the garden is also a great way to learn more about the medical and culinary qualities of the plants.

Finally, for those who want to buy some delicious bread, there is an outstanding bakery (not part of the Museum) that would be easily missed under the railway arches behind the garden. Unfortunately, there is no direct access, but a walk out of the Museum and round to the street behind it will be worth the trouble. They do some BIG long loaves, but will happily cut you something smaller from them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“an interesting collection well presented”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The museum shows the life of middle-class people through the way they furnished their homes over the past 400 years. It's housed in an interesting old building which has been carefully adapted to house the collection of furniture and other objects. There is a cafe (which I didn't use) and outside the tree-shaded garden is a pleasant place to rest. Admission to the museum is free and it's right beside Hoxton station which has a very frequent train service.

They apparently want to "modernise" the museum by adding extra buildings to it. I suppose this is inevitable these days but the plans have sensibly been rejected by the local Council. However, I guess the museum will be back with further modern ideas so go and see it as it is now while you can!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nonglak L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Pleasant journey through history”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Well worth the journey to get there! The period rooms provided a fantasic look at changes throughout history, with choices of how much detail you soak up. The contemporary rooms seemed a bit like trip to IKEA.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
325 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“A big surprise”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having travelled on the new overland I had seen the almshouses from the train but never stopped. It is a lovely place to visit and a clever look at the English and how they lived from the 17th century on. The new gallery on the conversion of the Arsenal football ground is interesting and rather moving

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobininBRISTOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geffrye Museum also viewed

 

Been to Geffrye Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing