We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Exhibitions

Next to Hyde Park, you can enter into Kensington Garden. It is some what quite then Hyde Park... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ranjanapathak
,
Orlando, Florida
Lovely Gallery - varying btw Very Good & Excellent depending on exhibition

Title really says it all :) Only reason for VG vs Excellent this time is bc I didn't really care... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
NewYorkdaniela
,
New york
Read all 360 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from $60.18
More Info
from $86.20
More Info
from $30.40
More Info
from $35.70
More Info
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
125
98
36
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
98
36
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grayson perry exhibition kensington gardens sackler gallery hyde park contemporary art summer pavilion gallery space zaha hadid social commentary lovely gallery book shop free exhibition each piece albert memorial worth a visit on display beautiful park
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Next to Hyde Park, you can enter into Kensington Garden. It is some what quite then Hyde Park. Serpentine Gallery is in the beginning of this park, Through out the year, some kind of exhibition related to art and designs is done here. Good to see. Free Entry. Opens 10am to 6pm. It was summer exhibition and Mastaba was one of the themes. Enjoyed.

Thank ranjanapathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lots of different types of art exhibitions all year round , There's always something interesting to see in here , you can also get quality books here in Koenigs book shop inside the gallery. This petit building used to be an old Tea Pavilion, BACK IN 1855.

Check it out.

Thank WILDSURFER2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Atelier EB focuses on the role of art in fashion and vice versa - and has some interesting and entertaining works on view. See my pics.
The other main Serpentine gallery has perhaps one of the most strange installations I've seen in years at this venue, by Pierre Huyghe .... live flies completely cover the floor inside the gallery and make for an uncomfortable experience in my view, particularly as you walk over them with your shoes. The video works are incomprehensible, with blurry images over the numerous screens ..... this is definitely a very unsettling experience especially if you do not like flies in a very contained space

1  Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Title really says it all :) Only reason for VG vs Excellent this time is bc I didn't really care for the feature they chose for this summer.

Inside, though, they had a fabulous exhibition on the Jean-Claude & Christo London Mastaba, which we were also able to see a couple days before it was taken down. Very impressive, but outside of the Serpentine Galleries.

Thank NewYorkdaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

I was not blown away by anything on display at either of the galleries. The main exhibit was a giant oil barrel arrangement in the Serpentine. Inside of the gallery, sketches and planning for it were on display. In the other gallery, some decent paintings were on display, but they seemed to be slight variations of the same thing. Also, there was a lot of empty space. Nothing really to draw you in, but if you're trying to kill 20 minutes stop by

Thank 38clayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We visited both galleries and enjoyed both exhibitions which I understand change frequently. They are very well looked after and definitely worth a visit.

Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

I normally try and get to London to see the annual architectural exhibition at the Serpentine gallery.This year was no exception particularly in view of the amount of press coverage given to the Mastaba installation in Hyde Park and on display at the same time. It’s hard to describe or even imagine what over 7500 coloured oil barrels constructed in the shape of a flat topped pyramid look like-other than to go and see it.Definitely eye catching,thought provoking and has its own security guard to prevent boaters on the lake getting too close to try and scale it. Talking of scale it is worth seeing the models and diagrams on display in the gallery to understand the extent of Christo’s ambitions for an as yet unrealised Mastaba project involving several hundred thousand barrels. Whilst at the gallery take the opportunity to visit the Pavilion designed by Frida Escobedo using primarily concrete roof tiles supported by scaffolding poles.This description does them no justice,nor do the online photographs.This is definitely an exhibit to walk around,touch and peer through and watch the shadows and reflections of water.Go and see it before it is dismantled in early October.

Thank pjh1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Make sure if you attend, that you do some research as to what exhibits are being shown.
When we arrived, the only pieces on display throughout the whole gallery were the Mastaba, which is a pyramid made of oil barrels.
Unfortunately, the one thing worth seeing regarding the Mastaba, which was the giant pyramid float along the river, was absent.

Thank Connoisseur1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Two small galleries by the Serpentine in London, beautiful spaces for small exhibitions and air conditioned so great in the hot weather to cool down! The Christo and Jean Claude exhibition was excellent and then you can see the Mastaba that is on the Lake! Beautiful colours, a fun and amazing creation for the summer! The Pavillion was also an interesting experience, all well worth a visit and I will certainly go back to visit other exhibitions in the future.

Thank coolblue-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

I did not know there was now two Serpentine Galleries (Serpentine Gallery in Kensington Gardens and the Serpentine Sackler Gallery on West Carriage Drive) as a result I visited the Serpentine Sackler Gallery and saw “Tomma Abts Art Exhbition” when I wanted to see “Christo and Jeanne-Claude: Barrels and The Mastaba 1958–2018” at the Serpentine Gallery (a 5 minute walkaway) – at the time I just thought I’d made a mistakes with dates, rather than gone to the wrong place!

The exhibition was minimalistic with the central areas totally devoid of any exhibits. I found the art work too similar and not very exciting or interesting.

The Serpentine Sackler Gallery opened in 2013 in a restored 1805 ammunitions depot and has the most wonderful looking restaurant attached to it.

Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews