We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treasures from the Royal Collection”

The Queen's Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.83*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #271 of 1,614 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Queen's Gallery hosts a programme of changing exhibitions from the Royal Collection.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Treasures from the Royal Collection”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

London has a dizzying array of museums and galleries but I always make a point of visiting the Queen's Gallery at Buckingham Palace whenever I'm in London. The gallery is small and manageable by the standards of other museums and generally features displays of items carefully selected from the Royal Collection by its curators. Generally these are items that the public would not get to see in the normal run of events. Most recently I visited to see an exhibit entitles The Northern Renaissance featuring works by Albrecht Durer and Hans Holbein among others. It was exquisite. As I mentioned the gallery is not large so the exhibits are not enormous or exhausting in the way that many others can be. Additionally the gallery is rarely crowded, the staff are polite and helpful beyond belief and there is a Gift Shop with lots of "Royal" souvenir stuff that's a step up from the usual tourist tat. If you enjoy some culture but don't want to be overwhelmed this is the perfect place to visit for a culture fix with a difference.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darius26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    132
    58
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
211 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Superb works of art beautifully displayed”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been to the Gallery a couple of times before and was again extremely well-pleased with my visit. Before getting down to business, please note that bags are checked and there is some airport style electronic screening before entry is allowed, but this was pretty straightforward.

The current exhibition is 'Northern Renaissance' featuring works by Durer, Cranach, Holbein and other old masters. Apart from the inherent quality of the works themselves, the setting is attractive. There is enough to feel you've had a great aesthetic experience without the overload of the great London galleries. It's spacious, uncrowded and the well-spaced exhibits can be enjoyed without nearby works distracting the viewer. The rooms are in different colours (blue, red, green, etc.), while there is a free cloakroom and everything is high quality with lots of appealing wood, lift (elevator) to the gallery, etc.

The audio guide is included in the price rather than being extra. There is also a large gift shop. Although most of the offerings are over-priced tat, there is a good collection of books and we bought some good value mini-chocolate eggs to put on the dessert on Easter Monday.

One thing anyone likely to return to London within a year should do is get the back of their ticket stamped - you can then come back as often as you like, free of charge, for the year after you bought you ticket. Amazing value!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“waste of time”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Queen’s Gallery was not worth the time. We used the London Pass to see it. If it was not free, I would have been disappointed. I wish I had used the time to see other things. I much more enjoyed the Nation Historical Museum and the National Gallery.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great place to see a small exhibition”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The exhibitions are going to be a case of some you win & some you wont. Having been a visitor for several years I can say all have been well layed out, not in a dark small space.
Free very informative Audio Guide. Many other places make an additional charge. The staff are 1st class, helpful & friendly. The building is a pleasure in itself with a very good lift & toilet facilities. A free & secure place to leave coats and bags. One admission charge covers you for a year, a second exhibition.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A chance to see a fraction of one of the great art collections”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved the chance to see some of the Royal Collection up close and, being UK resident, look forward to re-using my ticket during the forthcoming year. The exhibition was the Durer to Holbein and the two things I enjoyed most were (a) seeing some of the paintings and sketches of characters from British history who actually sat for the paintings and (b) reading the provenance: so many acquired by Charles 1 but I loved “acquired by Cardinal Wolsey and appropriated by Henry VIII”

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank El_Timon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen's Gallery also viewed

 

Been to The Queen's Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing