We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monumental building.”
Review of Big Ben

Big Ben
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.42*
and up
Private Tour: Big Ben to Covent Garden Tour in London
More Info
$85.19*
and up
London Walking Tour Including Fast-Track Westminster Abbey Visit and Changing...
More Info
$13.11*
and up
Essential London Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Elizabeth Tower is the name of the famous clock tower which stands at the Houses of Parliament. The name Big Ben is often used to describe the tower, the clock and the bell but the name was first given to the Great Bell. The Elizabeth Tower was completed in 1859 and the Great Clock started on 31 May. The Great Bell's strikes were heard for the first time on 11 July and the quarter bells first chimed on 7 September. All visits to Big Ben and the Elizabeth Tower tours are now suspended due to refurbishment with the last tour having taken place on 16 December 2016. Tours are scheduled to resume in early 2020 once the work is complete. Visitors can still book tickets for a number of other tours at the Houses of Parliament which take place on Saturdays throughout the year and on weekdays during Parliamentary recesses.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Monumental building.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

You can feel "this is Great Britsin"by seeing this historical building..just great!
It is too big to see the whole site from nearby.
It's better to walk a bit towards the bridge nearby then catch a good view and ideal site for photo.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YM443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,534
    6,330
    1,276
    88
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,228 reviews
544 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,206 helpful votes
“See this in person.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

At over 300 feet high,this wonderful tower and its bell,big ben,are accurate to a second a day.The bell weighs 14 tonnes.Whilst growing up this was the only buliding i wanted to see in London and when i was a 9 year old i got my wish.I was amazed at how huge this tower was.I recently passed it on a boat along the thames whilst it chimed 12 o clock....WOW,goosebumps galore.The tv programmes/films do not do the clock justice so jump on a bus or take a cruise along the thames and take in a most fantastic piece of beautiful architecture.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A gender change at Big Ben?”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The bells have been booming from the Victorian gothic tower since the 1860s, but there is still confusion about what is which - and why the names have become what they are.
Big Ben is the name given to the second great bell cast for the tower at the end of the Houses of Parliament. It's nearly E Natural (for the musical buffs) and it stands in what was until last September called the Bell Tower. However, to mark her 60 years on the throne, it was renamed the Elizabeth Tower.
Twice a day - at 6pm and midnight - its chimes are heard worldwide and live.
Standing alongside Big Ben at midday may seem a quick way to end up permanently deaf, but it is one of the few free tours (yes, that's right) that can be done in London these days. What's more you can keep the earplugs that you are given.
Look on the web for booking information. We did it through an MP 's office.
The guide is exceptional, but starts you off worrying whether you will survive the 330-plus steps to the bell chamber. Well, at around 18 stone and aged 66, I did it yesterday, and was none the worse for the experience.
(You have to walk - there is no lift)
You meet your guide in the MPs new offices at Portcullis House opposite Parliament Square,
then it's a short walk under Westminster Bridge to reach the foot of the famous tower.
It's just over 100 steps to the first "rest camp" - about the same as most church towers, but with plenty more room and wider steps.
Two more breaks are taken and each time your guide gives you more information, facts and anecdotes about the building and the rows, court actions and unusual solutions that occurred during its construction.
It was in 1972 that the old copper penny was withdrawn, but a number still play an important part in the task of keeping the clock accurate to within two seconds. But go and see: we are so glad we went.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gl8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“See this Up Close to Understand the Scale”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

You have seen it in movies and on TV many times but you really do not get a sense of the scale of the place until you actually walk around it and see the beauty of the design, proportion and majesty of the structure. It sits on the Thames like a big fortress protecting all that is England.

It is a stones through to Westminster as well and coordinate times so you can enter the cathedral to get the most out of the visit as the church has hours where it is not available due to mass- etc.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You can't see it”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Big Ben is the bell that chimes inside St Stephens tower so you will not see it unless you climb up the tower

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Ben also viewed

 

Been to Big Ben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing