We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sight seeing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Ben

Big Ben
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.85*
and up
Private Tour: Big Ben to Covent Garden Tour in London
Ranked #5 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Elizabeth Tower is the name of the famous clock tower which stands at the Houses of Parliament. The name Big Ben is often used to describe the tower, the clock and the bell but the name was first given to the Great Bell. The Elizabeth Tower was completed in 1859 and the Great Clock started on 31 May. The Great Bell's strikes were heard for the first time on 11 July and the quarter bells first chimed on 7 September. All visits to Big Ben and the Elizabeth Tower tours are now suspended due to refurbishment with the last tour having taken place on 16 December 2016. Tours are scheduled to resume in early 2020 once the work is complete. Visitors can still book tickets for a number of other tours at the Houses of Parliament which take place on Saturdays throughout the year and on weekdays during Parliamentary recesses.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sight seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

London is a very intersting city and this one of many attraction is great to go too. The history of the Parliment building and the chimes of the Big Ben ringing in each hour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 145elite123145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,416
    5,624
    1,136
    74
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I always visit Big Ben whenever I'm in London. I love that the train station steps lead right upto the viewing area. It's so amazing to see and across the road is the London eye!

Helpful?
1 Thank S1982p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“#1 to see in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Of all the places that you have to see in London, I would say this one would be on the top of your list. You can't really say that you've been to London without you seeing this one. One of the most famous landmarks in the whole wide world..along with the Colosseum, Eiffel Tower, etc. Once you see this Tower, you would be amaze on how it was built majestically up to almost perfection, along the with the Parliament. Once you get out of the Westminster station, you won't miss it. Perfectly situated in the Parliament and close to Westminster abbey and London Eye.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mbkulafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is majestic... But very expensive to visit it. From the pont you can see the "London eye". It is really enorme as building!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirini Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Love it"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

No matter what side you view this land mark, it is just magical and has to be visited while in London, and is so close to London Eye and Houses of Parliament.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blond-traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Ben also viewed

 

Been to Big Ben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing