We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum”

London Canal Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.32*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #333 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A waterside museum of London's canals and the Victorian ice trade, set in a former ice warehouse of the 1860s. It tells the colourful story of the canals, their people, horses and trade. Peer down into a huge ice well, uniquely preserved, and learn about the ice trade. Go inside a narrowboat cabin, meet the horse, and watch archive film. Free MP3 audio tour for download from the museum website for your own player.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice museum, small but interesting presentation and stuff. Take an additional walk along the canal. Suppricing story about ice trade.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    86
    21
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although this is small it was quite interesting to look around and as we were there just before Halloween there were a few things going on especially for the children every one was very friendly and the trip we had on the canal boat was lovely but I think you need to have a specific interest in canal boating to spend much time here children would quite likely be quite bored.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A unusual museum”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very small; best if you have a great interest in canals and boats. Worth a visit if your in the area but not something to go out of your way for. My son loved the boat, as did I. It is a perfect example and its all hands on. You can open the cupboards, look inside the cooking range, and really nose around. As a "push the button" museum your left to your own devices which I like best of all. Walked along the canal to Camden market after - made the trip to museum come to life.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Halloween boat trip”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Shockingly bad - a barge decorated with a white sheet in side covering the widows ,so you could not see out , a small viewing platform for no more that six children to sit, ,CD player that would not work a guide who knew nothing just stood in the door in the way so no one in side could see out side. A waste of money no thought put into it , DO NOT DO THIS - go to NADOS .

The museum was ok , but dark as Halloween and could not see anything, storey teller ok, kids 9,10, 12 , said it was boring and rubbish ( go on the Necro Ghost bus ).The staff were friendly and helpful the old footage of the canals on show was good..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank darrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinLCM, General Manager at London Canal Museum, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enoy this event. The great majority do enjoy it and people come back again. It is so popular that we turn people away because we cannot offer more capacity. However, it looks as if some things could have been better for you and I am sorry for that. The boating part of the event is not run by the museum at all. This is a partnership with CCNA, the charity that runs the community boat Tarporley, and they run the boating part of the event, we run the booking system, the sales and everything inside the museum. It is a joint event, though, so we will discuss your experience with our partners. It was unfortunate that the music system went wrong and perhaps we might do more to brief the guides. The aim inside the museum is to create an appropriate atmosphere so in the evening the museum is darkened and you cannot see all the exhibitions as you would in the daytime. If we left all the lights on, it would not create the fun atmosphere for families that we are aiming for. I think there was a bit of bad luck here, the feedback from most people coming to this annual event is very positive and I'm sorry yours was not such a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went here as it had been on our list of to do's for quite a long time as we are interested in the industrial heritage of Britain and the canals in particular.
It is easy to find just round the back of King's Cross, and is very reasonably priced for central London. As precious reviewers have said, it is not a large, but is very well laid out and informative not only about the canals but also the ice trade. The volunteer staff were friendly and helpful and we loved the old footage of the canals on show upstairs.
Really worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Canal Museum also viewed

 

Been to London Canal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing