We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely walk from harlow to roydon in the sun”

Lee Valley Regional Park
Ranked #505 of 1,648 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lee Valley Regional Park stretches over 10,000 acres and winds its way 26 miles along the banks of the River Lee from Ware in Hertfordshire, down through Essex, North London, past Olympic Park to East India Dock Basin on the River Thames.Lee Valley is a wonderful destination with a fantastic mix of nature, sport and leisure venues, heritage sites, gardens parklands and riverside trails – all waiting to be discovered.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“lovely walk from harlow to roydon in the sun”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely clean riverbank and the village of Croydon and new inn pub very welcoming. A must on a lovely day

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sawbograham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little bit of wilderness in an urban location”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is really an astonishing transformation of what was once an industrial landscape. The gravel pits are now lakes, surrounded by trees, marshes and grassland. A huge variety of birds (I was there at the right time for a large number of goslings to be swimming around), deer (although I only saw one Muntjac myself) and wild flowers galore. There are plenty of excellent walks around the park. Surprising to think that it runs al thr way to the Thames in the centre of London. The only disappointment is the current state of the Olympic white water centre, which looks completely derelict.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cr1sh0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Public Relations Manager at Lee Valley Regional Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Lee Valley Regional Park and spotted plenty of wildlife, flora and fauna. We have lots of walks through the park and you can always request a copy of our Get Active brochure online or download walking routes from our website.

As you rightly comment, we are currently undergoing building works on site. The aim of this is to enhance the customer experience in the Legacy of the Olympic Games. We're having an outdoor café area built at the bottom of the Olympic Course, an extension to the existing café, 2 additional changing rooms and improved car parking facilities to mention just a few key elements.

These works, while busy do not impact on the, on-the-water experience, although some plant vehicle movement is apparent from time-to-time on the front beach area. Many aspects of this work are due to be completed at the end of June, so we hope you’ll come back and see the transformation.

People wishing to visit can also find out more details of our transformation works, transport links and information on all the experiences and sessions we offer on our website too.

We hope you'll come back and enjoy the Lee Valley again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day trip with the kids”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We met friends and hired bikes for 4 hours from the lee valley cycle and canoe hire, plenty of time to cycle most of the trails, we had a good look at the white water rafting centre but sadly not suitable for children under 14. Bikes were very comfortable and well priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy9876543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“So cold!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was an experience for our American exchange visitor on one do the coldest Saturday's so far this year! We arrived early as instructed and after a quick cup of tea the participants went odd to change into to their wetsuits prior to the safety briefing.

After a very comprehensive safety briefing the team, consisting of the four in our party plus two others, went onto the water. They paddled to the start and had to jump into the water to stabilise their core temperature and off they went. The day consisted of several runs down the Olympic white water course with each run getting harder, the instructor worked hard to the keep them moving and warm and in total they had about four runs.

From a spectator view, apart from being very cold, you can view every part of the course and photo opportunities are ample. Everyone who took part thoroughly enjoyed themselves despite the cold and I would definitely recommend this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enaj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Public Relations Manager at Lee Valley Regional Park, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Lee Valley White Water Centre. We are pleased to hear that all the participants had a great time going down our course. If you enjoyed it in the cold come and try it in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“An all round great place for a walk or a cycle”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have cycled asnd walked around the Lee Valley on nyumerous occasions and Sunday last, with snow on the ground, we went for a long afternoon walk. The place looked beautiful, tranquil and picturesque. Lots of other walkers. Kids on sledges in places and much of the lake frozen over. Birds including baby Swans, geese, ducks and Heron.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Valley Regional Park also viewed

 
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lee Valley Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing