We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice waiters”
Review of The Essex Serpent - CLOSED

The Essex Serpent
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Marina di Montemarciano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and nice waiters”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We tried some fish and chips here, and it was excellent.
Moreover, there was also a decent choice of beers.
Last but not least, the waiters were really smiling and friendly, and served us with accuracy and tact.
I would definitely come back there if I'd go to Covent Garden again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Jonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A child friendly pub with good food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Myself, my daughter and a friend wandered into this pub Covent Garden, one evening for a bite. It had very friendly staff and the portions were quite ample for the price, it even had a children's menu. A good choice for families.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food and Atmosphere, the Reviews Are Not All True”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We wandered into the Essex Serpent when street construction kept us from another scheduled pub lunch destination. I cannot speak to the upstairs dining as we ate in the pub downstairs. I can say that the cottage pie and the bangers and mash were excellent. The ale was great and the bartender fast to bring out food. A local celebrity was doing an interview in the far corner quietly and the ambience inside was comfortable. The large window afforded us a place to watch people quickly walking to Covent Garden shops, bustling here and there. As it had been quite warm out, the cool interior was welcomed. Overall our bill as a couple for lunch and 2 pints was £22 and we found the experience to be worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrestlineMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
“Very Expensive!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Terrible value. Maybe they think that because they are near covent garden then can rip people off but this is not on. £13 for two pints and a small plate of chips, a joke!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“From the outside lovely but once inside!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We as a family use to frequent this place often on a Sunday for a good old roast, On our last visit to this venue we were very disappointed, not only were they not doing roasts the prices had gone up rather considerably .
A Sunday roast was advertised on the outside of the shop and inside but when we asked we were told they were not doing them for a few weeks.

The food was very expensive for what you got and we will not be going again.

I think the Pub must have changed hands as even the Ladies toilets were a disgrace. Such a shame it use to be a lovely little pub.

£70.00 for four fish/pie and chips and soft drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugarplum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Essex Serpent also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing