We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, relaxing bargain in London”
Review of Dawson House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dawson House Hotel
Ranked #269 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2010

My congratulations to Rajan, the owner and his magnificent staff for their wonderful hotel on a charming street with picturesque houses in the elegant style of the 1890's. Very convenient to Finchley Road underground only 5 stops from the centrally located Green Park station, across from the Ritz hotel. A superb breakfast is included- an incredible bargain! I always stay there when visiting my TEXTILE ART and HALI publishers in West Hampstead. author, James W Reid

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 129 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2009

At 50 pounds a night including breakfast, you can't go wrong!

The B&B is located at about a 10 minutes walk from West Hampstead tube in a quiet street. My room was small but had a desk and chair. Breakfast was included for the price (English, Dutch or Vegetarian). WIFI is also available at no extra charge. The staff is friendly and responsive. I could borrow an iron and leave my luggage after the check- out.

The shower was tiny (felt like a little cabin in a campground) but functional.
I was somewhat concerned about the possible noise from the street. In fact, the only noise came from the people walking on the room above and was negligeable.

The little minus is that the location is somewhat away from the 'London for tourist' area (i.e. zone 1). One needs to allow 30-45 minutes from the hotel to reach Picaddily Circus or Westminster by tube.

Overall a good experience that will not blow up your budget. Not a Marriott or Hilton but a pleasant B&B with all basic needs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

My husband and I chose this B&B because it is close to our friends' flat. All in all, I'd give this place an "average" rating.

The property is in walking distance to the tube station and is in a good, safe neighborhood. We felt no concerns walking around late at night. The building itself is a nice, large rowhouse, which was converted to a B&B. The original large rooms were divided up into smaller, oddly-shaped bedrooms. I found the place to be clean, although the bed linens were older, the blankets are ready for replacement and the pillows were oddly flat. The bathrooms in the two rooms we occupied (we stayed for 3 days, went out of town, and returned for another two days, and were placed in another room) were basically plastic molded rooms retrofitted into the bedroom. The bathroom in our first room was ridiculously tiny - no more than 4 1/2 wide, whcih included the toilet, shower and sink! It was like being in an airplane bathroom but tighter!. The bathroom in our second room was better due to its layout but was still small. The hotel is very quiet and on a residential street, so sleeping really isn't a problem. The hotel staff was helpful when asked, but not overly friendly. (I had the impression they were very tired.) Breakfast was good and hearty. The bedrooms themselves are tight for two people.
As another reviewer aptly put it, you are getting a room -- no more and no less. It's safe, relatively clean and relatively inexpensive for London. You're not going to spend a lot of time in the room, so if you're on a budget or visiting friends who live close by as we were, Dawson House serves its purpose.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillianLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We travel to this part of London several times a year to visit family and have stayed at other hotels and B&B's in this neighborhood. This "hotel" is situated in a pleasantly safe neighborhood and is about eight blocks to the West Hampstead tube station...maybe a five to seven minute walk with a piece of luggage with wheels. West Hampstead is a fun neighborhood location with a wide variety of restaurants, pubs and stores.

As previous people have described, its clean and the breakfast is good. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are the variety with the fiberglass showers. You know the type. So, if you just want a bed and a television at night and are the type that just needs a shower in the morning, then this reasonably priced operation may be for you, especially if your traveling through with backpack and a friend.

The hotel's garden is advertised extensively in its brochures but we couldn't figure out how to get out to it. It looks attractive.

For a little more money, there is at least one true hotel and another B&B in the neighborhood that may deliver a more upscale experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoboPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in April 2008 for some nights.
It was not our first time in London, but, as everybody knows, you usually can't expect so much from London hotels.
This was the best we have stayed.
Nice building and sorroundings (very quite and safe area), big and tasty breakfast, clean rooms and nice and frindly staff.
Just about 10 min from Finchley RD Station and near to supermarkets and restaurants, the only small problem were tiny tiny bathroom, but no problem for us.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank giulia_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

The room was clean, but insanely small. I had to lift my suitcase (a very small, carry-on size) over the bed to get it to the luggage rack -- there was absolutely no room to wheel it past the bed, and there was barely enough room to walk past the bed to the desk/luggage rack area.

The bathroom's size was a joke. The sink almost overhung the toilet seat. You could definitely use the sink for an armrest while you did your business on the toilet. In fact, while sitting on the toilet, a woman can reach her arm all the way across the shower and touch with her palm the opposite wall of the shower -- all while resting her other elbow on the sink!

The shower was about 2-feet wide. There was no way to keep the water inside the shower either, as the "lip" of the shower floor was so shallow that the water went over it, all over the bathroom.

They don't provide face cloths (wash cloths) and act like you have 2 heads if you ask for one. All you get is a hand towel and a body towel (per person). And if you ask for an extra towel, again, you get the look like you've got 2 heads, followed by the response from the night desk clerk that he has no access to the linen closet, and the owners will be in at 7:00 a.m. if I'd like to call down to ask for an extra towel then. I told him to just leave them a note to leave an extra bath towel (I use one for my long hair and one for my body -- and use the hand towel for washing my face/removing makeup at night). Of course, they did NOT leave an extra towel the next day -- and they removed the bath soap without replacing it. So, I had to call down to get them to bring soap and a towel.

The walk from the underground station was longer than I'd have liked. There is a slight hill, which doesn't seem like a big deal until you're hauling luggage up it. The walk is about 7-8 minutes, though the neighborhood is nice.

The breakfast was tasty and sufficient.

The garden was not accessible unless you asked the owner to open it -- and then, you had to walk around the house, squeezing past the trashcans. And it was locked at night -- which is when we'd have preferred to use is (to drink a glass of wine after returning from a long day of tourism). Oh well. So much for that thought.

The night clerk was absolutely clueless about attractions, too. We wanted to know if you could tour Buckingham, but he had no idea -- nor did he have internet access to look it up (again, we were told to check with the owner tomorrow!). He didn't know anything about how to get to Windsor Palace. He didn't know any recommendations for a place for dinner. He didn't know anything really, and he had no ability to get the information.

Oh, and the night clerk told us that a local call from our room would be free, and it so was not! They charged something like 88-pence for the call (I think it was a per-minute charge -- glad we were only on for a minute!). It's not that it's a big deal (though that is about $1.76 USD) -- but to be misinformed sucks -- especially when you tell the owner what the guy said, and she doesn't remove the charge!!! She should back up what her employees tell guests.

Overall, I wasn't overly thrilled with Dawson House. I enjoyed Henley House much more (bigger, and a 2 minute walk from Earl's Court underground).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NDallasPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

If one wants a decent place at a decent price to stay while doing the London tourist bit, the Dawson House fills the bill. It's in a lovely neighborhood just minutes walk from the Finchley Station which provides two lines connecting to any place one might want to be in huge London. Nice staff, nice breakfast to start the day. Basic, but charming and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Colonnade London
The Colonnade London
#399 of 1,081 in London
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawson House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson House Hotel

Address: 72 Canfield Gardens | Hampstead, London NW6 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dawson House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dawson House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawson House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing