We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel + ok location = great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #376 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We chose the Maida Vale Marriott because it was so much cheaper than staying in central London. It is actually really close (5 minute walk) to a tube stop that can put you in central London in about 15 minutes. For being half the price of a central London hotel, it had plenty of great amenities. The staff was great. The only real complaint I have about the hotel is the overzealous cleaning lady who knocked on our door at 8:00 a.m. on a Saturday morning seeing if she could get in to clean. The immediate location is nice, but there are some rougher neighborhoods nearby. You have to walk through a rougher area to get to the tube stop, but I never felt threatened going through there. The internet in the hotel is pretty pricey (6 pounds/hour, or 75 pounds/week), and you have to pay to use the internet at the business center. The complimentary breakfast is VERY English, so be prepared for some weird stuff if you are from the states. Overall a great value for staying in London.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

The beds were just not fit for purpose! We stayed two nights,that was more than enough. Would not stay there again until they have changed all the beds!! The worst marriott I have ever stayed in and i'm a marriott rewards member. The reception were non commital when I told them.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank headtilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Just come back from a lovely weekend at this hotel, and have since read the previous reviews. We has a very nice time and, being just 5 min walk from kilburn park tube station, an excellent location. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and when we found our room a tad cold they instantly installed a portable electric heater. The only negative, and hence 4-star, were the Internet wifi charges; I do think a true 5-star would offer this as a complementary service (bearing in mind every thing else one is paying for...) - come on Marriot and make yourselves truely 5-star!!! Or you will become a 3 star...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidmouth4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

This Marriott is located in a quieter area of London, only 2 blocks from a metro station. The staff were courteous and helpful, and the concierge was able to answer most of our questions. The room was a fair size, we were expecting smaller, and most importantly...quite sound-proof. We did not hear doors banging in the hallway, or people walking passed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I got the London Marriott Maida Vale at $88 per night via bidding on Priceline and now that I've returned from my trip, I couldn't be happier.

It is a 4* hotel and was in a nice, quiet building. It had all of amenities you'd expect of a 4* hotel: shower AND bath (seems to be a rarity in many European hotels), as well as a hair dryer, refrigerator, in-room safe and shampoo AND conditioner (a rarity in many hotels worldwide, it seems - I hate combined shampoo and conditioner!). The hotel itself was in a very safe and quiet residential area and only about 2 1/2 blocks from the nearest Tube station: Kilburn Park.

In some of the reviews, there was concern about this particular area, but I want to alleviate that. This is a nice, quiet, multi-cultural residential neighborhood. I never once felt unsafe or threatened (even as a solo female traveler walking alone by myself late at night) and I'm still confused as to why anyone would refer to this area as "dodgy" in some of the reviews. It is not. It's a good area. I liked it because it wasn't touristy. It's where real Londoners live and work (maybe that's frightening to some people).

There are also plenty of shops around, including a Tesco and a Primark, as well as banks, and plenty of inexpensive places to get a meal.

The hotel staff were more than accommodating and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. The Italian restaurant on-site, Fratelli, was wonderful, too - the food was wonderful and the service was impeccable.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank robm103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott last week for 3 days. We had a comfortable stay. The rooms arer nice and clean. Rooms are small, though. The location is very convenient. The hotel is really in Kilburn Park, it is a 5 min walk from the Kilburn Park tube station on the Bakerloo line. Very easy to get to central london.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Although it looks as though the hotel is quite far from central London, we found that via tube is was only 2 changes and 15 minutes from the very heart of the city.

A taxi from the centre will cost approximately £15-£20 for those who don't want to crush on the tube at busy times.

The hotel is very modern with a decent restaurant and bar, rooms are fairly spacious and equipped with the usual facilities.

We found the hotel staff to be welcoming, polite and attentive. The extended breakfast times on a morning are a god send for those looking to avoid an early morning rise to beat the crowd.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorvik_Slaphead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#798 of 1,075 in London
996 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $141 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing