We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but needs cleaning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Museum Hostel
Ranked #90 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Hobart
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location but needs cleaning!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Firstly the location is great, walk to everything if you wanted to but also close to central metro lines. We had a private room and discovered this is in a completely separate building around the corner which thankfully was much quieter, with some friends staying in the shared rooms moving hostels due to the excessive noise in the main building. However this was annoying because there was no fridge in the private room building and breakfast was served in the main building so we never went. Room was pretty filthy really, carpet had not been vacuumed for god knows how long and there were hair balls on the floor, chewed gum stuck on the wall and even a half empty bottle of wine. The sink in the room was disgusting and we were too scared to use it apart from getting water out of the tap. It appears the only 'cleaning' they do is changing your sheets when you get there then they leave you to it in your filthy room. If it wasn't for this it would be a really good place but I would hesitate in staying again and would look at other options around the same area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HL88Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    121
    67
    19
    25
See reviews for
3
36
107
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here to meet a friend last week. I have travelled around the world and stayed in a complete mix of places but I would have to say this is the dirtiest place I have ever been. Completely impractical carpets for a backpackers', and rooms which have obviously not been cleaned properly for months. The dorm room was above the social outside area so it stunk every time someone smoked. On the plus side, if you can tolerate this, staff were nice, free breakfast a bonus, and location amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

i would always suggest this place to everyone going to london.
the location is just the best you can get (5 mins walking from holborn tube station. 15 minutes to covent garden/piccadilly circus) but still on a quiet nice street just across the british museum so far from the traffic and noise of the big london's streets yet close to everything you need such as supermarkets pub and everything that london has to offer.
really good prices and services considering it being an hostel. free breakfast and free access to (fully equipped) kitchen facilities. toilets and bathrooms are pretty clean and rooms are acceptable.
big lockers for each bed (you can easily fit a suitcase in each of them!)

the staff is the best part of the deal!! everyone is so friendly and helpfull..they really make your stay!!

just one thing that i recon needs to be fixed: they charge you for the wi fi..but considering all the rest the overall experience is definitely worth every penny!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeliss_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've stayed here every year when in London. Literally next door to the British Museum, less than 10 minutes walk from Tottenham Court Station, Holborn Station, and Great Russell Square Station and thus just a little further for Covent Garden and Oxford Circus. They've renovated since last year, the WIFI is free (finally!) and works even on the fourth floor (most of the time). The common room and kitchen is much less cluttered than before. Room 2 (6 beds) on the first floor can be pretty noisy as the window opens up to the courtyard. Room 45 (4 beds) can get a bit too stuffy and you pretty much have to leave the window open to keep the air flowing, one of the beds has a really squeaky locker. It's an older building so there aren't always enough power plugs for everyone's devices in a convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntaresIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We Stayed at this hostel for one night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were in room number 22 a 12 person dormitory. The rooms consist of bunk beds, a sink and ample storage for bags under the bed. Remember to take a padlock as the hostel wants a deposit to use one of theirs. The bathrooms were very basic and the shower didnt get to warm, also take your own soap as none is provided.

Overall the hostel is very basic but suited our needs for having a night out in London.

Room Tip: Take soap and a padlock
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

was a decent price..expected to be in an 8 bed room together as there was 8 in our party however we got there to be told we had to split our party into different rooms which was disappointing as we had booked about 2 weeks in advance and planned to go on a night out therefore we disturbed the other people in the room when we got back at about 3am...apart from that the hostel was fine and close to everything we needed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you're thinking to walk around london, and be in a strategic place, well, I think there's no better option. I've been there, and then my friends did and we all agree it's a great place, for a very good price, and you're blocks away from the Soho, the Tate, and just in front of the british museum. Absolutely recommendable to go by your own or with friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavi_Landia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#587 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#562 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#582 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#60 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Pimlico
Astor Victoria Hostel
Astor Victoria Hostel
#55 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Museum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Museum Hostel

Property: Astor Museum Hostel
Address: 27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest low budget hotels in London, the Museum has been helping weary backpackers and travellers loosen up since 1977! The location of this hostel makes it one of the best value hostels in London central. Right in front of the British Museum guests can access Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Leicester Square in just 10 minutes. Definitely the best central London hostel.A cosy budget hostel split across two buildings near Russell Square, this low cost hotel doesn't feel much like it. With a recently renovated kitchen, new reception and revamped lounge. There are dozens of sights located so close to the hostel, and is best hostel to visit as much of London as you can take in! Otherwise stay indoors with your fellow residents and enjoy a good time in the kitchen or if weather permits on our small terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Astor Museum Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Museum Hotel London
Astor Museum Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing