We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for price, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Museum Hostel
Ranked #89 of 930 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I go to London 4 times year for business, so normally I choose different but this time I went with some friends so I could show them the city a bit and to see game.

Perfect located, great price and really clean.

Loved the staff, super friendly and helpful. I've been in many hostels this one is the best to have fun with friends. I loved the environment in the kitchen in the late nights.

I will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chema_GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 329 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Despite what others say about this place, I love it! Central location, friendly staff (for the most part), cheap, clean, free wifi, free breakfast. I get the feeling that people who stayed here and gave it one star are either prudes or just those types of people who are miserable with their whole lives. Love the music in kitchen all the time, it makes life fun. The events like the BBQ, while not amazingly organised, was a great opportunity to meet fellow travellers and learn their stories. There is always plenty of food for brekky, toast, cereal, juice... can't really be faulted. Wifi is fast and reliable, and free, unlike the YHA hostels (which are also mostly more expensive).
If you don't like having fun with your life and don't know a thing about the hostel experience, don't come here!

Room Tip: Book in advance. This is a popular hostel, and so weekends are often booked out in advance. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnicals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Do you like to start off your day the same way a rave-goer ends his, eating toast while bad music blasts away among stoned faces in a cramped basement? Do you like to come back from a day of sight-seeing to find your bed changed and all your clothes gone? Lastly, do you like to wake up at 3am to the sounds of strangers having drunken sex in the same room as you and seven other guests, a room no bigger than the bunk bed that lines each wall, over the dull thud of the same bad music pumping steadily away three floors below? If you’ve answered yes to all three questions, then the Astor Museum Inn is the hostel for you!

The problems mentioned above are unfortunate, considering that the hostel is in a nice location and the place didn’t feel too dirty (at first). But the staff were drunk and partying all the time, which was a weird, frustrating experience, considering most of the guests were timid travelers hoping to have some tame fun in the city (versus a dorm room). After the appalling and disgusting performance I woke up to, (which from what I had to hear, included at least one member of the staff) I would never recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nutellalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hostel has the best location, right around the corner of British Museum. I stayed for 3 nights, and slept very comfortable. the guys who live at the hostel do some kind of a party at nights in the kitchen, is kinda akward if you just want a coffe, but I'm tolerable so I just let it go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was a lovely place, and despite of the really smelly bathroom, the awful loud music in the kitchen and a drunk group of staff, I left happy and smiling in the morning :)
Breakfast was not too much,but it's nice they've not charged any extra for it, and I really missed more plugs (or an extension. but they had an EU-UK adapter,and that's a huge help!:) ) from the room as well as a little lamp at each bed. That would help a lot. These are the bad points,but everything else was perfect,staff was lovely,hostel was lovely,the atmosphere was really nice, and the location is also super!:)
Next time in London I'll stay here again:)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladiklaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hostel we started off our trip around Europe with and one of the best! The staff are what make this hostel. They are super friendly and really create the youth hostel vibe. The common area was cleaned daily, the rooms weren't fancy but they were clean and everything that you needed. Bathrooms were always clean. If you're young and looking for a fun loving atmosphere then this is the place for you! And the location was excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laineyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was here in August 2010 and loved the athmosphere, amazing staff, parties and a mutual helping environment with lots of fun! The conditions were ok, the beds and cleaning every day, showers also ok and a lot of products people shared. Overall the staff is very good in helping and trying to fit everyone, also had great spirit of fun, and the pub crawl was really funny :). The principal characteristic is the simpaty of the staff, the parties organize and the all atmsphere of getting to know each other. Concerning the localization is was next to the British Museum and closed enough to walk into the center of Picaddily's. Breakfast is ok too, a typical one with bread, butter, jam, cerals, milk, coffee and so.

Room Tip: It could be really messy and noisy if you choose a room with lots of beds with strange people althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Astor Victoria Hostel
Astor Victoria Hostel
#59 of 930 in London
523 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 930 in London
630 reviews
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#47 of 930 in London
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#33 of 930 in London
1,238 reviews
Astor Queensway Hostel
#103 of 930 in London
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Museum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Museum Hostel

Address: 27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 930 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $25 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest low budget hotels in London, the Museum has been helping weary backpackers and travellers loosen up since 1977! The location of this hostel makes it one of the best value hostels in London central. Right in front of the British Museum guests can access Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Leicester Square in just 10 minutes. Definitely the best central London hostel.A cosy budget hostel split across two buildings near Russell Square, this low cost hotel doesn't feel much like it. With a recently renovated kitchen, new reception and revamped lounge. There are dozens of sights located so close to the hostel, and is best hostel to visit as much of London as you can take in! Otherwise stay indoors with your fellow residents and enjoy a good time in the kitchen or if weather permits on our small terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Astor Museum Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Museum Hotel London
Astor Museum Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing