We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need for a city break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Museum Hostel
Ranked #88 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Belgrade
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need for a city break”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The best thing about this hostel is the location. City center is in a walking distance and the British museum is literally across the street. The hostel is quiet, clean, the staff is very nice and the breakfast is more than you could ask for. The kitchen was at our disposal all day, so we could cook our own food if we wanted to. However, one of the two mornings I was there the water pressure was very low, it was almost impossible to take a shower. Apart from that I everything was as it should be. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    121
    67
    19
    25
See reviews for
3
36
109
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were a group of 14 and over in London for a birthday celebration. Given the varying budgets we decided for the Astor Museum Inn. Its location is ideal with a lot of the big London attractions within walking distance and for those that weren't the tube a very short walk away.

Our rooms were on the same floor as the reception but seperated from the corridor by a door and small foyer which our two rooms were off (6 and 10 bed). These rooms were just for us so this was really good. However the 10 dorm room faced onto the street (which could get noisy) and the curtain well less just say didn't quite do the job being too light a fabric and waaaay too small for the window to keep out the morning light. This meant not so great lie ins for the group in that room.

The 6 room had less free floor space that the 10 but with only 4 of us in it it was fine. I would not fancy staying there if it was fully occupied though. It also had proper curtains and window over the courtyard down stairs making it a lot quieter. this is where breakfast was served so people chatting out there were not my favourite but hey that is hostel life and it wasn't too bad...

One think I was worried about the groups being predominately made up of girls is that showering and getting ready to go out could be a nightmare. It was, I am glad to say, not. If you didn't get a free shower you did not have to wait long until there was one.

The place overall was generally clean and fitted the bill for a weekend on the cheap in London.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LaGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location is as good as you can get, right next to the British Museum and 5 minutes walk to a tube station. It is also just about 15 minutes walk to SoHo and less than 30 minutes to Picadilly Circus. The amenities are pretty basic, with not enough bathrooms and toilets for the number of beds. The rooms are large and clean though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san_united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Booked in for the hostel for 2 nights. We had no issues whatsoever - you get what you pay for. 2 good night sleeps for a cheap rate... you can't go wrong. We just used the place to crash at the end of the night. Just make sure you take bottled water with you to drink. Very close to Leicester Square and the British Museum. On the website they say they have a pool... they don't. Overall an okay experience but we didn't expect much for what we paid.

Room Tip: There is no Swimming Pool nor Fitness Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

It was just a shoocking experience.
First of all we have done booking at february for april trip but they have given our beds to somebody else(a group of 13 people). They have given us bed in another building which do not have any sign outside, without information. When you enter the hostel (it was not a hostel it was just a construction site) it was like a carpentry house and men were working everywhere, before 8am. The boss was so rude and sold our bed to someone else and wanted us to stay the night at another place. We tried to not to go to hostel until night and every night they have sold our beds to someone else. When we wanted to speak with the boss he came and just annoyed us "why did you call me, i am just tired and can give your money to stay at anywhere else." He did not wanted awake the girl who just slept at our bed. He had made discrimination to our group.
Showers, toilets were too dirty and were broken.
If you want to have a nice holiday pleace do not go to this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

St Andrews, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The staff are smug, immature, careless and altogether unhelpful. When we asked for towels at check-in, the lady told us that there none left and when we asked if there might be clean ones later she responded "HA! Knowing this place, NO!"

We paid for a private room, which ended up being under renovation. The floor was COVERED in dust. We had to edge around construction workers in the hall, who started making racket early in the morning- waking us up every single day. Also, the private rooms are all in a separate buildings where there is no wifi available.

Ultimately, we paid way to much money for what ended up being a [--] hole.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAE89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel is a little bit overcrowded, breakfast is basic. The location is amazing, it is in a nice safe neighborhood of london. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the place is overall very clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#591 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#597 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#576 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#61 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Pimlico
Astor Victoria Hostel
Astor Victoria Hostel
#51 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Museum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Museum Hostel

Property: Astor Museum Hostel
Address: 27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest low budget hotels in London, the Museum has been helping weary backpackers and travellers loosen up since 1977! The location of this hostel makes it one of the best value hostels in London central. Right in front of the British Museum guests can access Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Leicester Square in just 10 minutes. Definitely the best central London hostel.A cosy budget hostel split across two buildings near Russell Square, this low cost hotel doesn't feel much like it. With a recently renovated kitchen, new reception and revamped lounge. There are dozens of sights located so close to the hostel, and is best hostel to visit as much of London as you can take in! Otherwise stay indoors with your fellow residents and enjoy a good time in the kitchen or if weather permits on our small terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Astor Museum Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Museum Hotel London
Astor Museum Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing