We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look forward to staying again!”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #95 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Look forward to staying again!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel was great value for money. We had our 8week old baby with us (which meant lots of stuff like Moses basket etc) so were looking for somewhere we could easily drive to with parking and easy access into the city. This ticked all the boxes and for a great price, particularly for London.
We told the hotel at the time of booking that we were bringing our baby with us and they booked us into a huge room (it was a disabled room). There was lots of space, a nice little table and two soft chairs perfect for feeding my baby (as well a desk and chair if you were staying for work). The bed was clean and comfortable. Our room at the back of the hotel was v quiet ( were some night road works going on outside which we were somewhat concerned about when we returned in the evening, but we couldn't hear them at all). The only small negative was that being a disabled room the shower over the bath was v low (no way of hanging it higher up the wall, even though there was space to height wise) which meant I had to kneel under it, which was not ideal, but the shower itself was nice and powerful and the bathroom clean.
Breakfast was included in the morning (adding to the great value for money). Lovely spread, nice continental and cooked options made to order.
Staff were all very polite and helpful.
We will definitely use this place again when coming up to London.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w22ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    156
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
109
226
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We loved this hotel for its character, comfort and food. We had a ground floor room and found the hotel to be great value for money. The beds were very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The restaurant was magnificent, we had breakfast on both mornings and dinner one night and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

As a young couple and it being our first trip to London we found it hard to find an affordable place to stay. When we came across this hotel we thought it was great value for money. On arrival the staff were so lovely, friendly and very welcoming. The rooms were perfect with the beds being extremely comfortable. We came back from the city each night and sat in the beautiful bar which we loved as it had a great atmosphere. Overall I could not say a bad word about this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ives, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our second time at the hotel and we will alway book here when we come to London.
The staff really make this hotel. They are so friendly and helpful. They even let us keep our car in the car park after check out for the day while we went into central London.
Our first stay we stayed with our 8 year old which they were more than friendly towards and the second time was just as a couple.
The freshly cooked breakfast was great and they have a good selection of baked goods and cereals too.

The downstairs bar is nicely decorated and becomes very busy at night. We havnt had any problems with noise.

Beds are very comfy but both times we stayed it became very hot at night. So bare this in mind when turning your heating on in the room.

Its a great location. Easy enough to get to via car if you are not a seasoned London driver and the tube station is in Zone 2 and just a 5 minute walk across the common.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at the Windmill for 4 nights over the past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great, only 5 minutes walk from Clapham Common tube on the Northern Line, and close to a high street of good shops and restaurants. Rooms are modern with adequate space to move around, they're well maintained and very clean. Quality toiletries are provided, there's an ample supply of large fluffy towels and the free wi-fi worked perfectly. Our room was on the ground floor close to the pub which made it a little noisy on Friday and Saturday evenings but it was fine Sunday and Monday nights - next time I think we'd ask for a room on one of the floors above, if we were there at the weekend. The big plus though is the staff - everyone from reception and chambermaids, to restaurant and bar staff were without exception pleasant, friendly and helpful...that's quite rare these days, in my opinion! Well done, Windmill!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are probably a little quieter late on weekend nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. The hotel is attached to a large pub on the edge of Clapham Common. The pub serves food and has entertainment but you could not hear this from the room we were in. It is no more than 5 minutes walk to Clapham South and Clapham Common tube stations which give direct access to central London. The bedroom was very comfortable with a large bed, huge fluffy towels, a brilliant shower, and pleasant decor. Breakfast was very good, the hot food freshly cooked (not left keeping warm as in many big London hotels) and there is a vegetarian option and a continental breakfast as well. The staff were chatty and young and the organisation impeccable.

I would recommend this hotel as an alternative to the big hotel chains like Premier Inn, Hilton and Radisson as it offers the personal touch but is cheaper than most of the big chain hotels and is very handily placed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are family rooms but are let out to couples if not occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a good little hotel in a nice location, close to London but much cheaper.
The park is lovely and the 10 minute walk to Clapham provides lots of nice little eating and drinking options. Our welcome at reception was wonderful; a very friendly and helpful staff member every time we met her. The room is a little tired and something was wrong with the heating on the top floor; our room was boiling and a little stuffy. The tiny window provided no assistance. But the real disappointment was breakfast. A totally incompetent manager overseeing a grumpy (almost understandably), overworked staff member and the provision of a very ordinary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_MrsEdmond, General Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, as you know sometimes the only way we can improve is through guest feedback. We have investigated when you stayed and who was on shift and why you were led to a disappointing perception. It turns out there was a number of mitigating circumsatances that happened that morning none of which any customers should of been aware of, the usual hiccups of running a business such as a team member not showing up and being unable to replace them is our problem. I apologise that this affected your stay. The team members involved have been briefed and an action plan on what to do if the same thing hapopens again has been implemeted. Again i apologise on behalf of the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#60 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Star Hotel B&B
#64 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Property: Windmill Clapham
Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Best Value Hotel in London
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
#156 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London
Windmill Clapham London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing