We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good surprise”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #112 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in August 2012 and I was well impressed. This is very good value for money. We paid for one of the newer & nicer rooms £130 per night, breakfast included. For a good quality hotel, it is difficult to find a better deal in London I believe. There were smaller and cheaper rooms too.

The Hotel is well located with easy connection to central London by tube. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was pretty large and clean with a boutique hotel feeling. The pub section was very good too. Overall we were very happy. We tried to return in a subsequent trip but the hotel was fully booked. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 603 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked well in advance via the Internet. We were quoted a room rate of £150 with an extra bed for our daughter. Then nearly ten days later I recieved an email to say that only superior rooms could accommodate a sofa bed so it was an extra £50 pounds. We arrived to a loud pub atmosphere with racous singing. Thankfully our bedroom (206) was at the back otherwise sleeping would have been a challenge. But when we arrived at the room later in the evening the bedroom corridor was like a smoking area, the management seemed not to do anything about it. Walls fairly thin and muffled talking disturbed our sleep. There is no room service once the bar is closed. Breakfast was okay, but no plain yoghurt available. Staff were pleasant but seemed not to be aware of any reason guests might be unhappy. Not my idea of a £200 a night hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_MrsEdmond, General Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, all is appreciated and acted upon. We did catch the alleged smoker from the hallway and dealt with them. We do apologies for the smell of smoke that lingered. Operating hours for F&B for the hotel were reduced as it was Christmas Day, usually residents get service after the bar closes up until 1am except for one day of the year - Christmas -and this is advertised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We as a family (of 4) travel and use hotels and bed and breakfasts more frequently than most due to our work and leisure. Unfortunately today one of the party was too ill to travel. I contacted this hotel at 0625 this morning as we are use to booking hotels which allow you to cancel before midday. Apparently their policy is day before. We actually wanted to rearrange and stay two weeks later, so a postponement really. This was a chance for the manager (Youngs manager of the year award 2012) to show some compassion and understanding. No chance, they have taken the fee in full. I was informed by email. I had read the reviews which were not great but always like to see for ourselves. Disappointed with their short sighted approach as we were looking for a regular home from home in the Clapham area for frequent use. Needless to say that our contacts in the Clapham area know not to recommend before advising potential guests to head for tripadvisor.co.uk.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank AnitaKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_MrsEdmond, Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for giving us this opportunity to re-establish our cancellation policy which we believe is standard. We are sorry you feel you have not been understood. We used to have it written at the bottom of all our emails, now we have it on your confirmation email. It clearly states "should you wish to cancel your reservation we ask you to notify us before 12noon on the day prior to your arrival date to avoid any late cancellation charges". The receptionist who took your call did say she would try to sell the room for you throughout the day and if successful no charges would apply. Unfortunately the room did not sell and as a result the cancellation charges were applied. There was no mention at the time about postponing the booking. We hope you will try us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I must have stayed in this hotel 50 times over the past decade, and I choose it because it is quiet, you can open the windows, it is near the tube, and it is around the £100 mark. Not any more - £150 if you’re lucky. Also it had a cosy pub attached, with leather sofas, open fires, cosy lighting, and happy locals.

Sadly, success has bred complacence. My room had no fridge. I asked for a room looking over the Common, and was given one looking over the central heating exhaust, which vibrated all night. At 1101 am the phone went, with reception asking me when I was leaving. I said “in about half an hour, if that’s OK”. “That will be £10 sir. For every 30 minutes”. At £20 an hour their fine for late checkout amounted to £480 per night – four times the room rate. Silly. Greedy. Stupid.

Oh, and the pub. Has had a “makeover”, now all glitzy sheeny grey blue plush, horrible harsh lighting, we arrived to find a quiz night blaring out at stadium levels of volume, all cosy ambience banished.

It’s like watching an old friend hook up with a woman you cant stand.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel are blighted by noise transmitted by the large heating plant in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_MrsEdmond, General Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your custom over the last 50 stays, we appreciate your loyal business. Your feedback is important to us.

We have 19 Classic rooms and 10 Superior rooms. All superior rooms have fridges. As much as we would like to satisfy all requests for particular rooms only a selected number of our rooms face the common, and are subject to availability. We would like to able to allow all of our guests to check out in there own time, however this is not always possible. You correctly noticed our success, yes we are popular and currently running at a very high occupancy, with this success we strive to deliver ever increasing standards and services to our guests to continue this popularity.
I am sure you can appreciate that our guest are told that they can check in at 14:00, this only gives them the very shortest window to have the rooms up to the standard by check in.

Yes the pub has been refurbished, the lighting levels in the dome are an issue and we are addressing them. We take on board your comments on the quiz.
Thank you for your comments we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having stayed here before we booked The Windmill, then read the previous review! I'm delighted to confirm that our group (2 rooms) had NO problems with the rooms - extremely comfortable beds, bathroom clean & no bites!
Breakfast is a buffet with hot food from kitchen - perfectly satisfactory. We ate in restaurant on Sunday evening (the roasts had finished & 1 or 2 items had sold out) - this didn't detract from a good meal with my swordfish starter getting a 9/10.
We found the staff uniformly friendly & welcoming, a special mention to the amazing Amy (looked after our dinner & breakfast) who was personable, efficient & informative throughout.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

given its near perfect location, you'd think this place would be near perfect too right? We stayed for one evening - at a cost that would bring a luxurious central London room (£165!) - the room was shocking. It stank, the windows were filthy, shower broken - and the worst bit - when we got home we both noticed we were covered in flea bites!! This place is a health risk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GnT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this pub close to Clapham Common park. The staff is nice, friendly and efficient. Rooms are good with sufficient space. Perhaps there is a lack of light if you have a room on the ground floor. Breakfast is very good, you have a choice between the light version and the cooked version. The decor of the pub is nice, there is a garden if you want to have a drink or to lunch outside. The food is good.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank NathParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#61 of 1,081 in London
976 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Premier Inn London Clapham Hotel
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#207 of 1,081 in London
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Half Moon
#136 of 1,081 in London
198 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 1,081 in London
295 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#78 of 1,081 in London
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $135 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London
Windmill Clapham London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing