We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Hotel, Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #96 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Hotel, Central Location”
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Nice family owned hotel in convenient location. Room with king size bed and large bathroom on first floor. Very quiet even though we were in a corner room. Full breakfast with great choices. Staff very efficient. Restaurant opened for dinner and food was excellent. Chief Yacine does it all from taking orders to bringing the check. He's there every night except Sunday. It was like having our own personal chief, as the dining room was never crowded. We enjoyed hearing how he immigrated to England. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — room was a little warm but had cross ventilation
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SyracuseCruisenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    224
    45
    28
    10
See reviews for
161
264
68
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2008

If you are looking for a small, quaint, hotel/bed & breakfast, I would highly recommend the Windermere. It's located in a quiet, largely residential area which is about a 5-7 minute walk from Victoria station, which is a large terminal where you can access the Tube.

The Hotel is basically a classic old house with a very charming feel. We were greeted warmly when we arrived (Phil was very nice), and you definitely notice the 'warm house' feel when you walk in. Our room (superior room) was nice and clean, with a modern bathroom.

Two small caveats though: there is no elevator, so bags will have to be brought up & down either yourself, or with the help of hotel staff, and the walls are thin. It's easy to hear what's going on in other rooms, so you might considering bringing earplugs if you're a sensitive sleeper. These things didn't detract from our experience though.

Finally, the breakfast is included in the hotel's restaurant and is very good. You can also eat at the restaurant for other meals but that's not included. Overall a great stay, for a great price actually, and I would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Charming feel, free breakfast, nice area, friendly staff, free Wifi
  • Disliked — WiFi didn't work well from our room - had to go downstairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The hotel was not in a very promising neighborhood, and was much more run down than I expected from the reviews or from their website. We were taken to a sad, little room at the top of the hotel, and left minutes later. It was completely unacceptable. I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kgs1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylviaminicooper, Owner/Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2008
I am really sorry but you never gave us a chance. We are situated on the residential part of Warwick Way, in a really nice and safe area within walking distance of Victoria Station and some of the most popular London sights such as Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey.
We encourage guests to voice their disappointments whilst they are with us and we try to resolve problems. Although we couldn't change room on your first day, we would have been able to transfer you to a room on the first floor for the rest of your stay. Regrettably, you chose to walk out without sampling our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

I was in London on my own--a middle-aged American woman. The Windermere was the perfect hotel for me. The room was small, but certainly adequate, and everything was clean. Victoria Station? Just a stretch of the legs. Finding a place for dinner? Just go down stairs into the hotel's little resturant and enjoy meals from fresh ingredients prepared by a fine chef. Breakfast? Not a problem. A full English breakfast in the same restaurant is included in the price of your room.

I stayed at the Windermere five nights,then took a five-day trip to Ireland. The hotel kindly held my extra luggage and such while I was gone. On my return, I was assigned a different room. This one had a great big bathtub that was just right for a luxurious soak.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Windermere as a clean, tidy, convenient, friendly hotel.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, attitude of stall
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This place is an excellent find in London. The staff was incredible - everyone extremely friendly and helpful. My sister and I booked this hotel based on it's location but will definitely be going back. We arrived pretty late in the evening because air traffic control problems (our flight was seriously delayed). All we wanted to do was grab a bite to eat and head to bed.

When we arrived at the hotel, we saw that one must ring the bell before entering the building which was very comforting to us. Phil was there to greet us and showed us to our room. We were informed that the hotel restaurant was still open which just made our day.

We've been to London many times and never once have we been impressed with the food...... until now. The food was GREAT and so was the atomosphere.

Breakfast was included with our stay. That included actual breakfast items (eggs, sausage, ham, bacon, etc...) which isn't typical of hotels in London that we've stayed at.

We have stayed at several 4 star hotels in London but so far, this has been the best overall - great staff, great food, great location!

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Enjoyed a very comfortable 2 night stay.

Staff are friendly and helpful. particularly for a london hotel.

breakfast is very good.

Location is very convienent, 5 minute walk from Victoria coach station, less than 10 mins from Train station, and theatre for Billy Elliott musical.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherpajacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I booked 2 rooms at this hotel (based on these Tripadvisor ratings) on August 28 for our stay on October 4-5. Later that same day I learned that our flight from Winnipeg to London was not going to happen since the carrier - Zoom Airlines - had ceased operating. So within 24 hrs of my booking I canceled our rooms. While I do not dispute that at the time of booking the hotel told me they had a GBP20 per room cancellation fee, I had hoped that they would not charge that fee given these circumstances. However the hotel still felt it necessary to charge me that cancellation fee - even though I had explained why I canceled and seeing they had more than 4 weeks to re-let these rooms.

I did write the hotel to voice my objection to them charging me the cancellation fee - but they elected not to respond to my e-mail.

Given this total lack of compassion and customer service I can not recommend this hotel and caution anyone booking with them about their inflexible cancellation fees - which amounts to nothing less than a money grab.

Alfred Jobse - Winnipeg

  • Liked — Would have liked to stay there - but was unable
  • Disliked — Absurd cancellation policy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank EscapingWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#112 of 1,088 in London
2,027 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#203 of 1,088 in London
1,283 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,088 in London
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Eccleston Square Hotel
Eccleston Square Hotel
#154 of 1,088 in London
448 reviews
Pimlico
Artist Residence London
Artist Residence London
#149 of 1,088 in London
203 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in London
#163 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Business Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere is an award-winning boutique hotel, of enormous charm and character, where the atmosphere is relaxed, the welcome is friendly and the service is personal. Located at the heart of one of the world's finest cities, in a small residential corner of this bustling city, we are just a stone's throw from some of London's main attractions including Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Harrods and the River Thames. We are only 7 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Our envious location, charming style and friendly hospitality, attracts guests the world over. The Windermere is a family run business, with two generations of the Hambi family currently running The Windermere, alongside a highly competent and friendly team. * Free high speed Wi-Fi. * Elevator. * Air-Conditioning. * Excellent complimentary breakfast. * Wonderful brasserie open for dinner (AA Dinner Award 2015). We look forward to welcoming you to "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing