We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #111 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As I was going to Wimbledon to the tennis . I was looking for somewhere near Victoria so I could also do some shopping . all the staff are very helpful and I met the couple who own and run the +hotel lovely people
the room I had was small but it had everything there and very clean and also air con which I liked
its good to be able to make a cup of tea in your room
the breakfast was very good as I don't have a cooked one
it had chopped fruit , yogurts , ham , fresh croissants and lots
to choose from and good tea so a gig thank you to all the from Marion
I would defiantly stay there again

Room Tip: I was on my own so the room I had was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadviser1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear bonzo484

Thank you Marion for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, in particular our fabulous breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps even before Wimbledon 2015! Please do contact us directly (email or telephone) when you are ready to book again. We have a variety of room categories ranging from the Classic Single up to the Deluxe Double. We would, for example, be able to arrange a Large Single room for you (double bed, en suite shower room) if you prefer a more spacious single room. This would be subject to availability at the time of booking.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    197
    39
    26
    10
See reviews for
127
213
56
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

As someone that travels globally on a regular basis I have to say the Windermere is a hotel that sticks out and went above and beyond so many other places I have stayed. The administration and staff are excellent. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone going to London for business or pleasure and will for sure
return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Scott_mtl

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It is a real pleasure receiving such lovely compliments from a well travelled individual. We certainly hope to welcome you back to The Windermere whenever you next return to London, be it for business or pleasure.

Best wishes
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband booked us into this lovely little hotel. We stayed for six nights. Our room was very clean and quiet. The staff were very helpful. The little brasserie was great for breakfast and dinner. It was nice not having to 'go out' for breakfast. I accidentally forgot my iPod and the staff went through great lengths to make sure I got it back. I know that if I ever get back to London, this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Jennifer A

Greetings from London! It is lovely to hear from you again. I am very pleased to learn that you were happy with our service. I sincerely hope that the iPod reached you safely.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Our warmest regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have been searching for a place to stay in London and contacted a few hotels and been very disappointed in their response. I have just spoken to Emily at The Windermere, who answered all my questions in a very friendly, helpful and professional manner. I made my booking for next month, instantly and am now looking forward to a pleasant stay and will post another review once this has taken place. Why can't all hotels will be like this and care about their customers?

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear kaff_12

Thank you so much for posting a review of your booking experience. It was a pleasure speaking with you. We certainly look forward to welcoming you to The Windermere very soon. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we may be of any assistance pre-arrival.

I look forward to meeting you.

Best regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Windermere Hotel is located in a cosy neighbourhood at a very comfortable distance from Victoria Station. The room that we stayed in wasn't too big, but after a long day of walking around London, there could be nothing more welcoming than the smile we received at the reception and the warmth of the hotel staff. We were received by Kiril at the hotel reception and he made sure we had everything we wanted in the room. Breakfast was a homely affair. The hotel is within walking distance of Westminster and a little walk further down and you are by the London Eye. It was especially the location that made our stay worthwhile in London.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manjoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Spent 4 nights in the Windermere Hotel and was very pleased. The location is great, a short walk from Victoria Station. We had a Deluxe Double which was very comfortable (and bigger than some of their rooms). London was warm and sunny when we were there (lucky I guess) and the room air conditioner was nice to cool the room off at night. Breakfast was very convenient and tasty. There are several pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Overall a wonderful experience

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex99998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Windermere and had a most enjoyable time. The rooms are small, but efficient. The bistro downstairs serves excellent food, both for breakfast and for dinner. I picked the hotel online for price and location. Neither disappointed. We were able to walk much of London because of its central location. I would recommend it to everyone, and we certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Eccleston Square Hotel
Eccleston Square Hotel
#109 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#186 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#103 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Artist Residence London
Artist Residence London
#51 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#20 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#163 Romantic Hotel in London
#171 Business Hotel in London
#177 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere is an award-winning boutique hotel, of enormous charm and character, where the atmosphere is relaxed, the welcome is friendly and the service is personal. Located at the heart of one of the world's finest cities, in a small residential corner of this bustling city, we are just a stone's throw from some of London's main attractions including Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Harrods and the River Thames. We are only 7 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Our envious location, charming style and friendly hospitality, attracts guests the world over. The Windermere is a family run business, with two generations of the Hambi family currently running The Windermere, alongside a highly competent and friendly team. * Free high speed Wi-Fi. * Elevator. * Air-Conditioning. * Excellent complimentary breakfast. * Wonderful brasserie open for dinner (AA Dinner Award 2015). We look forward to welcoming you to "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing