We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Windermere Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$284
$268
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$175
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$944
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$204
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$207
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
$549
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
$136
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveler rating
440
262
50
30
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
262
50
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria stationbuckingham palacesuperior double roomwithin walking distancequiet neighborhoodstay there againcharming hotelten minute walkgatwick expresssmall hotelenglish breakfastcomplimentary breakfastyogurteach morningsloane squarespent nightshome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 793 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I booked this hotel for meetings in Victoria. It is about a 15 walk from Victoria station. A nice well maintained building in quiet side street very close to Victoria coach station. It is a small independent hotel and the staff are very welcoming in a small trendy reception. However the hotel is small and the rooms are tiny - as well as stuffy (no ac). They all have fans but very noisy and the fittings are very cheap. The good thing, is that wireless internet is fast and free and I had room service which was good and not overpriced. The room was spotless to be fair!

You can do better in London for £150 per night

Room Tip: Ask for as big a room as you can get - there is no standard size
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night in lower ground room which wasn't huge but spotlessly clean. Decent toiletries and nice big fluffy towels. Was very warm although the room was supplied with a decent fan. Staff were friendly enough as well. Breakfast I'm afraid was just ok - poached egg was, well it seemed to have challenged the chef! Nice area with lots of good pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear trevannie

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us via Trip Advisor. I am sorry to read that the poached egg was not to your satisfaction. I wish you had shared your comment with us whilst you were here. I will investigate into the matter to ensure that we continue with our high breakfast standards.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our luxury toiletries.

I hope to welcome you back to The Windermere when you are next in London.

Kindest regards

Emily Hambi, The Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were quite happy with our 3 night stay. Our spotless room was a more than adequate size, with comfy double bed, tv and modern bathroom. The room had a fan, which was needed, as without A/C the room wsas stuffy in the heat of Summer. Breakfast was well presented and the cooked to order was a nice touch, served always with a smile. The reception staff was pleasantly helpful with directions and recommendations for local restaurants(A Wongs/Queens Arms/ Cyprus Mangal). Location is quite easy even with luggage (once you figure out which end of victoria station to leave from). We found the neghborhood to be safe and without incident. I would recommend the Windermere for its value and pleasant feel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloomfieldcommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I found the Windermere to be a very good choice for accommodation in London. The staff are extremely courteous, friendly & helpful. The hotel is the right size for a quiet & enjoyable stay. The breakfast was very good, the full-English tasted just as it is - prepared to order. I had a superior double room (half basement level – Big Ben?) the room was both clean and spacious, with good Wi-Fi reception and a comfortable bed. A stay at the Windermere made my trip to London to be a pleasurable one.
The Windermere is within a small walking distance from Victoria station, making it an easy travel from Gatwick airport. The location can also be recommended for other practicalities like shopping – for those amongst us whom find Oxford Street to be a bit tiresome, after one full day, try the shopping in the top half of Kings road. Kings road & Chelsea is within a nice walk from the hotel and the area contains various restaurants and shops in a calmer atmosphere.
Local pub recommendation between Victoria and the hotel – I stopped for a pint and a lunch meal at the St. GeorgesTavern, corner Hugh street / Belgrave road, – nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank That-was-then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear That-was-then

Greetings from The Windermere! Thank you for returning to Trip Advisor to share your comments and tips to fellow travellers.

Thank you for sharing your shopping tip. Oxford Street is very easy to get to from The Windermere. It is of course part of London's main shopping district and has a lot to offer. Kings Road, Sloane Square and Sloane Street are a short walk from us and offer a more relaxed shopping experience. Despite the upmarket Chelsea location, you will find something for every pocket. The atmosphere is very good and perhaps less tiring, and therefore more enjoyable, than Oxford Street. This is a beautiful part of London and a good place to sit at a quaint coffee shop, deli or restaurant, and casually watch the world go by.

The Superior rooms are one of our largest and most spacious room types. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your room. It is great to see your comment about the bed also. We take great pride in our beds, as it is one of the most important things in a guest room. We carefully select our British made beds and are proud to say that our beds also have the royal seal of approval from HM Queen Elizabeth II.

The Windermere is a five storey property, with rooms located on each floor. We do not however have a basement. All of our guest rooms have windows that open, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room amenities and an en suite bathroom (or shower room).

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Emily Hambi, The Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent eight nights at this hotel in July. There were three of us, two adults and one child. We had a room with three beds. The room and bedding were very clean. The bathroom was exceptionally clean which looked like it had been recently renovated. The breakfast was very good offering full English or Continental. The dining room is open for dinner and we ate there the first night but didn't enjoy the food all that much. The staff were fabulous. When I booked six months prior I asked that a fan be in our room as oddly enough I had been in London in July before and it was warm. This time it was hot, ranging around 25 to as high as 40 degrees Celsius. We were so glad of the fan which was a high end type. The room and bathroom were small compared to North American standards, but that is London and indeed generally in Europe. It is a challenge to find a room that will accommodate three. We enjoyed our stay at the Windermere and would stay there again. The location is super!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtonizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews