We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #106 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I booked this hotel for meetings in Victoria. It is about a 15 walk from Victoria station. A nice well maintained building in quiet side street very close to Victoria coach station. It is a small independent hotel and the staff are very welcoming in a small trendy reception. However the hotel is small and the rooms are tiny - as well as stuffy (no ac). They all have fans but very noisy and the fittings are very cheap. The good thing, is that wireless internet is fast and free and I had room service which was good and not overpriced. The room was spotless to be fair!

You can do better in London for £150 per night

Room Tip: Ask for as big a room as you can get - there is no standard size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    235
    46
    30
    11
See reviews for
170
282
71
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night in lower ground room which wasn't huge but spotlessly clean. Decent toiletries and nice big fluffy towels. Was very warm although the room was supplied with a decent fan. Staff were friendly enough as well. Breakfast I'm afraid was just ok - poached egg was, well it seemed to have challenged the chef! Nice area with lots of good pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear trevannie

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us via Trip Advisor. I am sorry to read that the poached egg was not to your satisfaction. I wish you had shared your comment with us whilst you were here. I will investigate into the matter to ensure that we continue with our high breakfast standards.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our luxury toiletries.

I hope to welcome you back to The Windermere when you are next in London.

Kindest regards

Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were quite happy with our 3 night stay. Our spotless room was a more than adequate size, with comfy double bed, tv and modern bathroom. The room had a fan, which was needed, as without A/C the room wsas stuffy in the heat of Summer. Breakfast was well presented and the cooked to order was a nice touch, served always with a smile. The reception staff was pleasantly helpful with directions and recommendations for local restaurants(A Wongs/Queens Arms/ Cyprus Mangal). Location is quite easy even with luggage (once you figure out which end of victoria station to leave from). We found the neghborhood to be safe and without incident. I would recommend the Windermere for its value and pleasant feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloomfieldcommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I found the Windermere to be a very good choice for accommodation in London. The staff are extremely courteous, friendly & helpful. The hotel is the right size for a quiet & enjoyable stay. The breakfast was very good, the full-English tasted just as it is - prepared to order. I had a superior double room (half basement level – Big Ben?) the room was both clean and spacious, with good Wi-Fi reception and a comfortable bed. A stay at the Windermere made my trip to London to be a pleasurable one.
The Windermere is within a small walking distance from Victoria station, making it an easy travel from Gatwick airport. The location can also be recommended for other practicalities like shopping – for those amongst us whom find Oxford Street to be a bit tiresome, after one full day, try the shopping in the top half of Kings road. Kings road & Chelsea is within a nice walk from the hotel and the area contains various restaurants and shops in a calmer atmosphere.
Local pub recommendation between Victoria and the hotel – I stopped for a pint and a lunch meal at the St. GeorgesTavern, corner Hugh street / Belgrave road, – nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank That-was-then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear That-was-then

Greetings from The Windermere! Thank you for returning to Trip Advisor to share your comments and tips to fellow travellers.

Thank you for sharing your shopping tip. Oxford Street is very easy to get to from The Windermere. It is of course part of London's main shopping district and has a lot to offer. Kings Road, Sloane Square and Sloane Street are a short walk from us and offer a more relaxed shopping experience. Despite the upmarket Chelsea location, you will find something for every pocket. The atmosphere is very good and perhaps less tiring, and therefore more enjoyable, than Oxford Street. This is a beautiful part of London and a good place to sit at a quaint coffee shop, deli or restaurant, and casually watch the world go by.

The Superior rooms are one of our largest and most spacious room types. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your room. It is great to see your comment about the bed also. We take great pride in our beds, as it is one of the most important things in a guest room. We carefully select our British made beds and are proud to say that our beds also have the royal seal of approval from HM Queen Elizabeth II.

The Windermere is a five storey property, with rooms located on each floor. We do not however have a basement. All of our guest rooms have windows that open, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room amenities and an en suite bathroom (or shower room).

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent eight nights at this hotel in July. There were three of us, two adults and one child. We had a room with three beds. The room and bedding were very clean. The bathroom was exceptionally clean which looked like it had been recently renovated. The breakfast was very good offering full English or Continental. The dining room is open for dinner and we ate there the first night but didn't enjoy the food all that much. The staff were fabulous. When I booked six months prior I asked that a fan be in our room as oddly enough I had been in London in July before and it was warm. This time it was hot, ranging around 25 to as high as 40 degrees Celsius. We were so glad of the fan which was a high end type. The room and bathroom were small compared to North American standards, but that is London and indeed generally in Europe. It is a challenge to find a room that will accommodate three. We enjoyed our stay at the Windermere and would stay there again. The location is super!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtonizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just spent three nights on a leisure trip in this hotel. There is very little I could fault with this hotel; I stayed in a family room; the amenities in this room would put to shame those provided by the majority of the 4 star hotels in London in which I regularly stay on business. Flat screen tv, full bathroom toiletries (including bath salts), air con and a PROPER hair dryer. Breakfasts were included in the price and the hotelier has not scrimped on quality or choice. All the staff were courteous and friendly and we were able to store our luggage before and after check in. Location was excellent and very close to Victoria station. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good stay in London.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DARCYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 1 night. Stayed in a superior room which was spacious (for London) with separate bathroom, which was spotlessly clean. Room even had air conditioning. Breakfast exceeded expectations, hot food cooked fresh, hot toast and excellent fresh fruit etc. We would definitely stay here again and commend the staff for their courteous and helpful service.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, and were not aware of any noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKH815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#107 of 1,068 in London
2,077 reviews
Pimlico
Artist Residence London
Artist Residence London
#138 of 1,068 in London
226 reviews
Pimlico
Eccleston Square Hotel
Eccleston Square Hotel
#205 of 1,068 in London
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#194 of 1,068 in London
1,356 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,068 in London
835 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,068 in London
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#163 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Business Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere is an award-winning boutique hotel, of enormous charm and character, where the atmosphere is relaxed, the welcome is friendly and the service is personal. Located at the heart of one of the world's finest cities, in a small residential corner of this bustling city, we are just a stone's throw from some of London's main attractions including Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Harrods and the River Thames. We are only 7 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Our envious location, charming style and friendly hospitality, attracts guests the world over. The Windermere is a family run business, with two generations of the Hambi family currently running The Windermere, alongside a highly competent and friendly team. * Free high speed Wi-Fi. * Elevator. * Air-Conditioning. * Excellent complimentary breakfast. * Wonderful brasserie open for dinner (AA Dinner Award 2015). We look forward to welcoming you to "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing