We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #105 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 1 night. Stayed in a superior room which was spacious (for London) with separate bathroom, which was spotlessly clean. Room even had air conditioning. Breakfast exceeded expectations, hot food cooked fresh, hot toast and excellent fresh fruit etc. We would definitely stay here again and commend the staff for their courteous and helpful service.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, and were not aware of any noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKH815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    237
    46
    30
    11
See reviews for
172
286
71
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a stay at The Windermere in 1998, so I immediately contacted them when I knew my husband and I would be in London this June. They normally require a 2-night minimum; however, since we were repeat guests, they allowed us to book a 1-night stay. We were accommodated in the Busby Room on the first floor, classified as a deluxe double. It was spacious, clean, and the king size bed was comfortable. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. We arrived early in the morning, so they offered us a cup of hot tea in their restaurant before we went out to explore the city. They stored our luggage until our room was ready, and later moved it into the room so it was there when we returned from sightseeing. We were meeting a bus the next morning to take us to a cruise ship, and they assisted us in confirming our reservation and meeting time. The hotel is located in a safe and quiet residential neighborhood within a 10-15 minute walk of Victoria station and within walking distance of restaurants and pubs. I would recommend this hotel to others and will stay again if our travels take us back to London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Windermere Hotel on our way back through London to a flight at Heathrow in July of 2013. Although our stay was short, we were very happy with the hotel and wish we had more time there.

We came in through Victoria station and walked to the hotel, which took about 10 minutes. It was rush hour, so navigating bags through the station and down the street was a bit of a challenge. The hotel is located in an area with a lot of other hotels, inns, and bed and breakfasts in what seems to be a fairly pleasant residential neighborhood.

Check-in was prompt, courteous, and helpful. The desk clerk provided a map without being asked and some information on tourist sights that would still be open during that evening. He was also very helpful in setting up a car to the airport for us for the following morning. Following our check-in, he escorted us up to our room and took the time to explain the features of the room and where everything was.

The room itself wasn't huge but had plenty of space for two travelers and the luggage from a 10 day trip. The bed was a little on the small end, but comfortable. The bathroom and shower were also small, but well-stocked with high-quality toiletries. The hotel apparently underwent some extensive renovations recently, and it seemed that the bathroom had been added onto our room recently. Despite being a tight squeeze, everything worked well.

The setup of the building was a little strange as it seemed that a couple of adjoining buildings had been brought together to form the present hotel. This meant a lot of stairs, which weren't a problem for us, but could be for travelers with mobility problems.

The hotel also operates a restaurant, which serves a breakfast that was included in our room rate. We opted for the full English Breakfast, which was excellent. It included their continental breakfast buffet, which I thought was a nice touch.

As I mentioned earlier, the neighborhood is a combination of residential and hotels, so there were several options in the area to get a bite to eat or a pint. We opted for the Marquis of Westminster, which was a 5 minute walk back down the street and had excellent food.

In all, we were happy with the Windermere and wish we could have spent more time there. If we were in London again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californai/New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel at leat once a year since 2001. I would not consider staying anywhere else in London. I am always made to feel at home. The hotel is extremely comfortable and the breakfast is outstanding

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porsche_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My parents and I stayed at The Windermere Hotel for five nights on our first trip to London. It was a lovely London experience. The hotel is located in a neighbor but just down the street from a business district with several pubs and only a five-minute walk from Victoria Station. Taxis were also easy to hail from the corner right outside the hotel. We had a great room - very, very clean! The bathroom was very narrow but certainly adequate. (Note to older/disabled travelers: Even though we had a first floor room and the hotel has an elevator, there were still five steps to climb.) The staff was wonderful. On our last afternoon in London, I sprained my ankle on the sidewalk about a block from the hotel. Once back at the hotel, the staff was quick to provide ice so I could try to stop the swelling. The breakfast also was wonderful. Your choice of a hot breakfast or continental. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit - chopped or whole; yogurt, choice of multiple cereals, cheeses, rolls, croissants, and fresh fruit juice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnybrook8809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleay Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time I have stayed at the Windermere and the place never fails to satisfy. Great rooms, wonderful staff and a fantastic location all combine to make this the ONLY place I will stay in London.
Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location. Not far from the Victoria station.
Helpful and friendly staff. We had to leave early a few mornings before 7:30. The staff had complimentary breakfast prepared for us every morning.
ALL of the staff we encountered from front desk to kitchen etc were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sifopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear sifopa

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and found us all to be helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is served every morning in the Windermere Brasserie (7.30am - 9.30am). We are happy to provide a light breakfast at any time before 7.30am on request. We understand and appreciate that some guests may have an early flight to catch, or a tour bus with an early morning start, or indeed an early business meeting, and we certainly would not want you to miss the best meal of the day!

Hoping to welcome you back to The Windermere in the future,

Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#110 of 1,069 in London
2,085 reviews
Pimlico
Artist Residence London
Artist Residence London
#126 of 1,069 in London
230 reviews
Pimlico
Eccleston Square Hotel
Eccleston Square Hotel
#178 of 1,069 in London
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,069 in London
888 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#190 of 1,069 in London
1,371 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#156 of 1,069 in London
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#163 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Business Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere is an award-winning boutique hotel, of enormous charm and character, where the atmosphere is relaxed, the welcome is friendly and the service is personal. Located at the heart of one of the world's finest cities, in a small residential corner of this bustling city, we are just a stone's throw from some of London's main attractions including Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Harrods and the River Thames. We are only 7 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Our envious location, charming style and friendly hospitality, attracts guests the world over. The Windermere is a family run business, with two generations of the Hambi family currently running The Windermere, alongside a highly competent and friendly team. * Free high speed Wi-Fi. * Elevator. * Air-Conditioning. * Excellent complimentary breakfast. * Wonderful brasserie open for dinner (AA Dinner Award 2015). We look forward to welcoming you to "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing