We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #112 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My mum and I have just got back from a great weekend in London, we stayed for 2 nights at The Windermere Hotel in a ground floor superior twin bedroom, the room was lovely, very clean, the bathroom was plenty big enough with lovely towels and toiletries were supplied, shampoo, body wash, body lotion etc. We had a meal in the hotel bistro one evening and this was lovely, lots of choice on the menu and very reasonably priced too. The breakfast at the hotel was very good, continental style that you helped yourself to,cereal, yoghurt, fruit, muffins, croissants etc and then you could also order a cooked breakfast with many choices, which was cooked fresh. The hotel is conveniently situated about 5 minute walk from Victoria Coach Station and about 10 minutes from Victoria Coach Station. Taxis passed right outside the front door so was easy to get around. The main thing about this hotel is the staff, they are very friendly and helpful. I am in a wheelchair and nothing was too much trouble for them, they were fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation about booking to stay here again ...... hopefully next year if we can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyboop1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Bettyboop1312

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the world. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am especially pleased that we were able to sufficiently tweak your reservation last minute in order to accommodate you as comfortably as possible, given your recent need for a wheelchair.

I wish you a speedy recovery and hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards

Emily Hambi, The Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 775 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed a night in London and we stayed at this lovely hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. The free breakfast was delicious and the bed was sooo comfortable. We honestly did not want to leave this hotel. The location was very convenient as well. We highly recommend this place. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was comfortable and homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoryrose33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked our stay at the Windermere through one of the travel sites, and it was a great find. A 5-minute walk from Victoria Station, clean rooms - not spacious but certainly big enough, great breakfast, very friendly staff, good value for money. We requested a triple room with 3 separate beds, which wasn't available for the first night. When we asked again the next morning, we were promptly transferred to a different room. A bit older than the first one, but nice, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Silva T

Greetings from The Windermere! I hope you and your family had an enjoyable journey home. Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. Whilst online booking agents enable guests to include "requests" (e.g. number/type of beds), we, the hotel, are unable to guarantee specific rooms. We do however try our utmost to fulfil all guest requests where possible. I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate you as comfortably as possible (and without inconveniencing you either, as we transferred your luggage to the new room whilst you were exploring our city). Thank you for your understanding and cooperation in the matter. I sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Windermere on your next visit to London.

Best regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and will definitely be back, such a lovely hotel, very friendly and welcoming.

We stayed in a ground floor room, plenty of room, large bed and even space for a small table. Very cosy and warm on what were very cold days when we stayed. Small but big enough bathroom with a bath and shower over. The towels were nice and fluffy and a good size too, it's horrid when towels aren't big enough to wrap around you, these were great they did. We did wonder if there might be noise from the street but there was no at all, even the refuse collection came later on after 9am so no problem there.

Breakfast was served in the dining room downstairs, it is a bistro in the evening. Lots of choice for a Continental breakfast and the hot English breakfast was very good, cooked to order. The girls waiting table were very friendly and efficient.

We chose this hotel as it is quite close to the coach station and has good links via the tube to everywhere you might need. Also there is plenty you can walk to, Knightsbridge, Buckingham Place, Tate Britain.
Very pleased with the hotel, great choice for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big-blue-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear big-blue-eyes

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and share your comments with the world. Your photos are great too, thank you.

I hope to welcome you back to "your home away from home" very soon.

Best regards

Emily Hambi
Marketing Manager, The Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a real find in london. Well placed within walking distsnce of Victoria station and the village of Pimlico. Plenty of places close by to eat and drink in and Buckingham palace is a 15min walk away. Family run, the service is awesome and there is a parking station across the road if you are driving. I went back to this hotel twice while I was travelling around England and will go back again when I return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bergerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear bergerski

It is wonderful to hear from you again.Thank you for remembering us and taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. All of us at The Windermere hope to welcome you back on your next trip to London.

I just wanted to take this opportunity to highlight a few points for those who may be considering staying at The Windermere.

Firstly, Victoria Station is a 5 - 10 minute walk from The Windermere. The short route to/from the station (coach and train/undergound) is marked on the location page on our website. If in doubt, please follow the signs for Exit 1 (Hudson Place) or the Victoria Coach Station exit. Taxis are readily available outside the station though and will cost the minimum fare.

We are lucky to be well placed in a wonderful part of London. We are walking distance to many attractions and are surrounded by several bus routes, in addition to the Underground stations of Victoria and Sloane Square. We are always happy to recommend and suggest good places to eat. A variety of different cuisines and price ranges are located within our neighbourhood. We do also have our very own Windermere Brasserie. The menu is varied, the ingredients are fresh, the atmosphere is relaxed, and the chef is friendly. A sample menu is available on our website.

Finally, a secure public car park is located two minutes walk from The Windermere. Special rates are available to our guests. Advance booking is recommended but not required as we are located in a residential area.

We hope to see you soon!

Emily Hambi
Marketing Manager, The Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I cannot believe all of the positive reviews for this hotel! It is heavily overpriced and has nothing to do with a 4 star hotel. I booked a deluxe double room and was given the Cartmel Room. The only positive thing to be said about it is that it has a nice size. But there are several huge cracks in one of the walls, there is so much noise from the street and it is very loud - you hear every step and other activities from the other rooms! Not very nice. The bed is horribly soft and the bathroom very small with a minute sink that sits in the corner, making it quite difficult to even brush your teeth. The whole room is in dire need of renovation - but still they charge you GBP 165 a night! How this can be classified as a 4 star hotel is beyond me, a 3-star b&b seems more correct. Breakfast is also quite poor, varm juice and warm butter every morning and a very ordinary buffet. The cooked breakfast is also below par for a 4 star hotel.
So I can safely say that I will not be returning nor recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Susanne J

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us via Trip Advisor. I am terribly disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I honestly wish that you had expressed your grievances with us during your 3 night stay with us, as we were under the impression that you were enjoying your time with us. We would have been able to address any issues if you had raised them whilst you were here. We welcome all feedback (positive and negative) and use it to improve our service and product however possible. The Windermere is a 4 star "Guest Accommodation" with an additional "Gold Award" from Visit England and an additional "4 Gold Stars" award from the AA.

As always, we will be carefully looking into the points you have raised here with the aim of improving and correcting where necessary. It is our opinion that hotels (including B&Bs, Guest Accommodations etc) require constant care and attention in order to maintain a suitable standard of quality. As I am sure you can appreciate, hotels of every type need to withstand a lot of use. As a result, The Windermere is constantly undergoing a rolling upgrade programme. We are never complacent and are aware of what needs to be done. The Cartmel room, one of our most popular rooms, is earmarked for a "re-fresh" next.

If you change your mind and decide to stay with us again, then please contact us directly in order to discuss your requirements. We have the most scope for flexibility with direct bookings and therefore the best chances of fulfilling all guest requests. I would also like to take this opportunity to remind you that all of our rooms are individually designed, therefore each guest room has its own character. We have three Deluxe rooms in our collection.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any queries.

Best regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#177 of 1,077 in London
1,451 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,077 in London
1,121 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#224 of 1,077 in London
4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#117 of 1,077 in London
2,123 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#190 of 1,077 in London
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#163 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $157 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere is an award-winning boutique hotel, of enormous charm and character, where the atmosphere is relaxed, the welcome is friendly and the service is personal. Located at the heart of one of the world's finest cities, in a small residential corner of this bustling city, we are just a stone's throw from some of London's main attractions including Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Harrods and the River Thames. We are only 7 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Our envious location, charming style and friendly hospitality, attracts guests the world over. The Windermere is a family run business, with two generations of the Hambi family currently running The Windermere, alongside a highly competent and friendly team. * Free high speed Wi-Fi. * Elevator. * Air-Conditioning. * Excellent complimentary breakfast. * Wonderful brasserie open for dinner (AA Dinner Award 2015). We look forward to welcoming you to "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing