We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Nayland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nayland Hotel
Ranked #334 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This had to be the worst hotel room I ever stayed in! Small, dark, airless & overlooked by other rooms. Could only move sideways in bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilianDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 520 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

Stayed one night only (had booked 4 nights) was told rudely on arrival that my smoking room did not exist. The 'room' was an attic space. Reception manager unbelievably aggressive and rude. Found a very nice hotel around the corner for the same price with smoking facility and adequate sized room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We arrived to be told that the hotel was over booked. I had made the reservation 2 months ago. They never contacted me to tell me this. We are Americans living in Germany with the military. The staff at the Nayland was not helpful, just gave us a map and sent us away. We were told our new hotel was an upgrade with a restaurant and said we would have free drinks. THEY LIED! Because of our German address we were sent to stay at the GERMAN YMCA!!!! When I booked there were no reviews from 09. Had read the Feb. and Mar. reviews I would never haved booked there. The YMCA seems like heaven compared to the Nayland.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourEuropeanvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

but...be aware, that we order wakeup call and we didn`t get it...we pay the room the night before we go, but at the morning when we returned keycard the girl from the reception sayed that we must pay the room... :-( , the marmaid make your bed at room but nothing else..you stil get the dirty sheets and glasses in your room...the breakfast is realy awfull...but we got one good thing at the hotel and this was one very nice man at reception*

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelgaEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Stay away from this hotel. Not clean. Breakfast terrible. Horrible staff atitude including useless and unhelpful management. We do not know how we lasted in there for 2 nights especially with a mouse running around under the bed and in the shower. Our bedcover looked like as if it has been pulled out of a rubish bag and put on the bed. Dirty pillow cases, sheets with blood stains. In the morning we had requested to see the manager only to find out that he was still sleeping and that they didn't know what time he would be at work. Great! The receptionist was to busy talking on her mobile and just left us there standing helpless. Should I say more? I gave enough time. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ready2flyhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed in the Nayland because we did not want to pay top dollar, but I am sure there are other options! The reception staff were not unfriendly, but they were not effusive in their welcome either and I was wrongly directed to a place by one of them, which was costly. We were not impressed by having to leave our bags two doors down when we arrived early either. The room itself was okay, and the bathroom was clean and water pressure good. There were no tea/coffee making facilities which I have never met before. The breakfast was dire and we took to eating down the street in preference, so I suppose that improved their profits. Tip - a welcoming smile and a willingness to help are both good.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquarianmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I had read other reviews on the hotel so I wasnt very sure of what I was going to find, but in the end it wsa very good surprise. The room though small (it is London, you cannot ask for big rooms), vas very cozy and clean, and with everything I needed. The staff was more than helpful and the location ideal. The only downside was that at the moment there were no telephone lines working, but since it wasn t a long stay, it didn t matter. I would definetely come back

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluedahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#802 of 1,081 in London
655 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#740 of 1,081 in London
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#341 of 579 in London
296 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#380 of 579 in London
479 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#104 of 579 in London
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Hotel

Address: 132-134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $67 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nayland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayland Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing