We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maranton House Hotel
Ranked #908 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Reasonably priced, very good location, quiet street, nice staff, breakfast ok...what else can you ask? Only minus was that one night the fire alarm started to ring at 5 AM, not the nicest way to wake up. :-( It was a false alarm, but one couln't know that when rushing downstairs. And the guy at the reception could have been a bit more convincing, when I asked if they've checked that it was really a false alarm and I can go back to bed.

PS. Don't bother if you hate stairs

Room Tip: ask a room from 1st or 2nd floor , the wi-fi worked in them, not in the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttetot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 327 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Friendly staff, very small double bed, but OK for overnight stay - wouldn't suit for a longer visit. Toilet seat wood was split, handbasin was cracked, grouting had mould spots. Nice quiet location, felt safe.

Room Tip: front rooms on road, very little traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Me and my friends were planning to visit London for New year's eve. We chose Maraton House Hotel and that was really awesome place. The atmosphere in the hotel was so homely and warm and we were feeling very comfortable. The stuff and the service were pretty nice and kind and we had everything what we need all the time. Now we know where we would stay during our next visit in London.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel! The staff at arrival; sheer pleasure. Soft spoken, intelligenet, efficent, polite and welcomming.

The room spacious.

The location could not be better and such good value. I will come back here for sure.

Room Tip: No lift so try a room that is not to high up but it seems like all rooms are quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margalit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

For the area and the price we got it was quite a bargain. The staff were friendly over the phone and they were nice to us when we were there. The room we stayed in was relatively big with a big bathroom.

The shower was quite small but all in all a good bargain, a nice place to stay in a nice area of London.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I visited the hotel with friends earlier this month. We only spend two nights there, but we were impressed. The staff was very kind and always attentive to our needs and the room was very clean. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed there with my boyfriend in November and really enjoyed it. The stuff is really very friendly and helpfull. The room was very clean and cosy. I can't wait to come back as we reserved already room in February.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#737 of 1,077 in London
675 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#575 of 1,077 in London
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#545 of 1,077 in London
805 reviews
South Kensington
Oliver Hotel
Oliver Hotel
#824 of 1,077 in London
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maranton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maranton House Hotel

Address: 14 Barkston Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #908 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $61 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maranton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maranton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranton Hotel London
The Maranton Hotel
The Maranton House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing