We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Holborn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #389 of 1,086 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend with my wife and some good friends. Our visit was a special occasion to celebrate the 10th anniversary of our company. We were delighted with our stay. On arrival, staff were welcoming and prompt. We were very pleased with the two junior suites. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable with reasonably nice views across the city.

Unfortunately we were not able to try the spa treatments as this was fully booked - perhaps one small improvement would be to let guests know to book well in advance for this.

We did try the swimming pool, sauna and steam room which were great.

Breakfast was really good - lots of choice and efficient service - plenty of tea coffee and toast brought to our table. Good selection of hot and cold food at the buffet.

The hotel happily kept our bags for the day after check-out, while we went sightseeing.

Overall I would strongly recommend the hotel as an alternative to much more expensive quality hotels in the capital.

Room Tip: Book early if you want spa treatments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    767
    395
    140
    81
See reviews for
279
771
94
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 2 nights at The Grange in Holborn and were very disappointed.
I booked through Last Minute as a Top Secret 5* hotel. Obviously you don't find out the exact hotel you have been allocated until you have paid, once we found out the name we researched on trip advisor, most of the reviews looked very good so was quite looking forward to our stay.
On our arrival Friday afternoon we were met by the doormen and shown to the reception area, we checked into our room quite quickly, even though there was about 4/5 receptionist trying to get us checked in. We decide to get a drink from the bar to take up to our room with us, my wife was served her drink but there seemed to be a problem with he beer pump for mine, the bar tender instead of offering to have the drink brought to our room just said "something wrong with the pump, you will have to wait about 10 mins until its sorted" After asking twice to have my drink sent to my room she agreed.
First impressions of our room were not good either, rather dated, dirty bathroom etc. although quite spacious.
When returning late at night the main door is closed so you have to walk round to the back entrance.
Saturday late afternoon we returned from our day out and again decide to have a drink at the bar before going back to room, this time the bar tender tried to tell me "you can't put your drinks on your room as it's a cash only room" - sorry but didn't have a problem last night! Bar tender was quite rude so insisted he checked with reception, turned out he was trying to put drinks on a completely different room to mine. Still never received an apology just a grunt as we were walking back to bar.
Overall our experience was not very good and cannot for the life of me see how this hotel is given a 5* rating, more like 3* at a push, will never go back here or book a Top Secret hotel with last minute again.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel ok, clean enough but should not be rated a 5 star, served a purpose but not all its cracked up to be, tired and dated. Staff not overly helpful, manager even less so. Bed comfortable and we only used it as a base, but think the 5 stars are a little misleading.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My sister and I had a fantastic 2 night stay while we celebrated her 30th birthday. Great location, very polite staff, great room with great view and extremely good massage in the spa. We would definitely stay again, it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Another Excellent London Hotel
We stayed at the Grange Holborn this weekend for a Hen weekend.
there where 6 people, The rooms where excellent ( we where given an up grade) the food very good, Excellent service, and the Bar prices very reasonable,
Thank you for an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank kerrkennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a quaint (euphemism for small) hotel in the Holborn section of London. While they say London is a walk-able city, the blisters on my feet would have disagreed. But, if you want to avoid the expensive Mayfair section, this is as good as any within the city area with only a 5-10 minute walk to the tubes with two lines (piccadilly and central if I recall correctly). The rooms were small and clean. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the breakfast did smell good. We were there at peak season so while the price was not exactly a bargain, it was well priced comparably with other hotels in the city for the same time period. But, I think this was rated as a four star hotel due to the amenities, but really it is a very nice 3 star in quality. If you think of it that way then you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having stayed in most hotels in the area for work, this has so far been the best option in terms of comfort, value, service, and noise levels. For me, working in the area, this is ideal. And having to hit a 200 character count, I've added this sentence which is not relevant at all to my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonyrumgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#302 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#320 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#329 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Property: Grange Holborn Hotel
Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#246 Family Hotel in London
#268 Business Hotel in London
#276 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn
Grange Holborn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing