We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #419 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel five nights for a business trip. Having vacationed in London once before I was expecting a very small room, clumsy lift, etc. However, the hotel lobby is very welcoming and staff is very helpful (could not enter the hotel without the doorman rushing to open the door for me - very sweet). The room was quite spacious and I was very comfortable throughout my stay. The location is great for exploring London. I did not eat at the restaurant but did stop at the lobby bar one evening with a co-worker. The drinks are fun and fantastic. The only downside was construction across the street (at 2 am!) but I do not blame the hotel. I felt very papered in my one week "home away from home" and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check in time is 3pm and they will hold your luggage but do not plan for an early check in. Lobby i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LetsGoSomewhere07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed on 16/3/13. We were originally booked into Grange White Hall, but were "upgraded" to their 5* Grange Holborn sister hotel because of a booking mix up.

The twin room No 908 had narrow single beds, we couldn't get the heating to work and the bedding was so thin I couldn't get warm. Expected to find spare blankets in the wardrobe but there were none. I could have called Reception for more but just wanted to get to sleep so slept fully clothed. The bathroom light switch was nowhere near the bathroon door so finding it in the middle of the night without waking partner was difficult and there wasn't much space on the bathroom surface for personal washbag, etc. We were woken at 3.30am by the noisy occupants in the adjoining room returning from their night out and had to call Reception to request quiet.Our full English Breakfast was fine. After returning at 11pm from our theatre outing we found the main front doors were closed and had to work out where the side entrance was.

We had pre-booked a massage in the Spa and had hoped to spend the afternoon there relaxing. We weren't given any information regarding the facilities or shown where to go by the Spa Reception so had to find our own way around. The changing room was basic and cold and there was nowhere to put a dry towel near to the shower. There was no encouragement to stay to relax or read by the pool as there were no beds, just inappropriate metal bistro style chairs, and although the pool looked inviting in the photographs, in reality the water was "pee" yellow. If you feel like a coffee or light bite you have to get dressed and go back up into the hotel. We called it a day after the massage and went shopping.

The girl giving the pretty average 45 minute massage didn't explain the treatment or ask any questions, in fact, other than telling me to lie on the couch, and offer a glass of water at the end, not a word was spoken. I definitely wouldn't recommend it, especially for the "Spa Day Experience" they advertise.

On the plus side this hotel is in a very convenient for location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed one subday night prior to an early Monday meeting. Large, comfortable room, helpful staff at check in and 2 minute walk from Holborn tube. Also only about 10 min walk from Covent Garden. A nice change from the larger chains.

Room Tip: Facing rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank exileonmainstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here a number of years ago and was happy to return for a business trip. The Grange Holborn is in a good location, just up from High Holborn and about 15 minutes from the top of Charing Cross Road on foot.

The staff are very well trained and attentive, and the rooms are really nice - I had a room overlooking the corner of Southampton Row and it was fine, no traffic noise to keep me awake. Liked the Ajala Spa bath products in the room too.

The facilities are excellent and the pool is incredible. I was down there at 7am on Saturday morning and had the pool entirely to myself. It's stunning, with Romanesque marble columns and beautiful tile work. The sauna is a treat too. Loved it!

Finally, I had breakfast included in my room rate and it was really nice; a self-service affair with good muesli, fruit, yoghurt etc. and a decent hot pot of coffee. Set me up for the day!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank CotswoldFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall a very mediocre hotel, conveniently located in the centre of London's West End and Theatre district. A lot of external noise from emergency vehicle sirens.
Bedrooms very small and somewhat aged. Internal fire doors in the corridors were noisy and sound transmitted into rooms.
The staff were very mediocre. The staff in the breakfast restaurant were overwhelmed (i.e. under-resourced) and accordingly the service was poor. We also had an evening meal there which is of mediocre quality and very slow to be served. Not recommended.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel, except for those looking for location and reasonable price. We got a deal on lastminute hotels website. that is, if you are just in London to party the night away and have somewhere to crash/put your head down. A lot of the clientele seemed to be there for that purpose.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GlobeTrotSurfSerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Holborn Grange is in an excellent location to explore London. The rooms and food were very high quality and the staff were very helpful. It is based on a very busy traffic corner but the rooms were well insulated and noise was not a problem. Room service was also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went as a family the hotel is in a great location easy access to lots of places. Our rooms were all good, we had four although varied in size. Continental breakfast was included and had a good variety of food. Some of our group opted to pay extra for the cooked and enjoyed it. The pool looked great but we didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gwinnBrackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#353 of 1,077 in London
4,470 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#362 of 1,077 in London
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#371 of 1,077 in London
2,962 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#244 of 1,077 in London
3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#267 Business Hotel in London
#287 Luxury Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $141 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn
Grange Holborn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing