We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be compared to other Grange hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #416 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis that we have stayed at Grange St Paul's and Grange Tower Bridge and they were amazing. In terms of location this hotel is more central and this is it's only saving grace really.
Upon arrival we were told we couldn't check in until 3pm, which was fine as this was made clear upon booking. It does get busy around that time though as everyone is returning to check in then. We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor and proceeded to enter our room, bags and baby in tow, only to be greeted by a guest already allocated to that room the day before!
To be fair to the staff they dealt with it very well and we were offered complimentary breakfast. Hopefully they did the same for the guy whom we disturbed.
The next room we were given was on the 7th floor, quite small and with a t.v that only showed BBC 1. Normally we never complain but when we discovered that the base of the bed was broken we went back down to reception. Again they dealt with it well and we were offered an excutive room. This room was what you'd expect a standard room to be like in a 5 star hotel at the very least. Luckily the hotel wasn't full otherwise we'd have been sleeping on a bed that was on two different levels length ways!
The breakfast was good and again the staff were great. The pool was lovely and quiet.
We wouldn't stay here again due to the negative experiences but would definately stay at the St Paul's and Tower hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chica123Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked this hotel as a lastminute 'secret hotel'. It's definitely not 5 star - the bed was rock hard and surprisingly short. We discovered it was constructed from the doors that were missing off the wardrobe, still complete with handles!! The finish wasn't great - more like your average 3 star with dated furnishings, a thin duvet and cold bathroom. The staff were fine but didn't go out of their way for us, we were unable to check in early and were able to check out 1 hour late, but after that 'we must pay'.

According to lastminute "This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Central London within walking distance to Oxford Street, Covent Garden, West End, the British Museum and the British Library". It's actually about a mile from Covent Garden.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devontravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have stayed here two nights (on separate occasions) recently. The lobby, main entrance and bar area have a beautiful elegant feel about it, it's such a shame I can't say the same when I walk into the room. The whole interior needs redesigning to match the modern, chic style of the bathroom. Great location, easy to get out for dinner, more of a "stop over" , "somewhere to rest my head".
Tried a few cocktails from the bar before heading out each evening, top notch!
Early starts so never managed to catch breakfast or visit the spa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We got this hotel through Secret Rooms and the price was okay but not brilliant, I did think I was getting something with a little more character. Couldn't fault the room we got, large and clean, the staff were friendly Food ?? at £23 pp for breakfast - you guessed it - we went down the road and got a take away for two for less than £10 for both. The pool looked lovely but make sure it is not a Yoga night - the floor is raised and no swimming allowed.
Good location - for both the city and Covent Garden, would we stay there again - yes if the price was right. Shame the bar which could be the making of the place is cold and feels more like an airport lounge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1960Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Holborn . It was close to Holborn tube station, walking distance to Covent Gardens, a very handy supermarket close by where we sometimes bought dinner for our daughters. Our room was nice, beds comfortable and lovely bathroom. We were not facing the road so our room was very quiet. We found the staff friendly and helpful. This is my first time staying in a London hotel so I can not comment on it's value only to say we were happy with the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Grange is very centrally located, its clean and modern and I had a great stay whilst travelling on business. Reception staff were quite indifferent, but concierge staff throughout the day and night were wonderful - very friendly, helpful and always with a smile to start your day. Rooms are clean, bright and functional. Bathroom was miniscule but spotless and practical. Room service breakfast was really punctual though the quality of the breakfast was at times cold. Dinner was delicious. Robes are not supplied by default and it took 3 phonecalls to get one delivered but definately worth the wait. Huge pool, great gym and fantastic spa area are all included in the room rate - steam room was top notch. Overall an enjoyable stay, a comfortable sleep (though for £170 per night I wouldnt expect anything less!!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - they are alot quieter as the hotel is located on a busy thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked this hotel through last minute.com as it was one if those top secret hotels and claimed it was a five star.First impressions were good but decor is entirely dated and needs an urgent revamp. Staff were friendly and good service. The room was big and the bathroom was fabulous despite the tiny bath. Again decor in room needs an update and new carpets. Disappointed with overall cleanliness found a dirty glass under the bed on arrival and half a biscuit. Cleaners do not thoroughly clean rooms obviously.Our room was next to the cleaners cupboards and could hear them banging the doors all day, also they leave their trolleys in corridors which isn't very appealing for guests. Did not use facilities so I cannot comment on that.
Overall I think hotel is standard and in great location. Although disappointed that it didn't feel like a 5 star hotel, more of a 4star. Feel a bit conned as its very pricy and you don't get what you pay for. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13elenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#299 of 1,075 in London
823 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#332 of 1,075 in London
4,344 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#513 of 1,075 in London
550 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#64 of 1,075 in London
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#246 Family Hotel in London
#268 Business Hotel in London
#286 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $167 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn
Grange Holborn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing