We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Weeken”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #408 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Daughter lives in Guildford I am in Blackpool,she could not be home for birthday so I arranged a weekend in London,emailed the Grange to say it was a birthday treat and we were upgraded with fruit in the room,staff were very helpful especialy staff on the doors and left luggage, clean tidy, very good housekeeping,felt £22 each for breakfast a bit expensive, but breakfast express at £7 was really good,so all in all good hotel and for central London price ok.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if special reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margimarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 2,222 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here with my family- husband and 2 teenage boys. Two rooms booked through Lastminute.com at £50each per person through the Secret Location option.,.In London a bargain!! Easy 5 minute walk to the tube. Reception staff unwelcoming on arrival, rooms shabby and bathroom barely large enough to turn around in. Unusually hot in every area of the hotel.. and air conditioning noisy in rooms. Upsides, brilliant location and only really used the hotel to sleep... Had we paid full price I would be demanding my money back,...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsonsOnLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Koto Japanese Restaurant is probably the worst Japanese Restaurant I have ever been in London.
Despite the fact that is located right under a luxury hotel, it is far from real, authentic and being delicious. In fact we have immediately guessed that the cook wasn't Japanese, and when we asked we were right! (No Surprise !)

Although the restaurant manager and the assistant managers were extremely nice with us, we did not refrain from passing our negative comments to them frankly too. We think that (may be we are wrong) this is a hotel restaurant and hotel simply doesn't care for this place.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a REAL and TASTY Japanese food, KOTO should be the very LAST place in London...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Utku67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked The Grange Holborn for one night as a 'Luxurious 5* Top Secret Hotel' on lastminute.com and were very surprised when the hotel's identity was revealed after payment. We both know London well and the Grange's 5* rating is completely doolally as there is no way in a million years it could ever compare to say Dukes or the Connaught. The hotel is very well located for the British Museum but it has a very tired and strangely eighties air to it. On arrival the first thing we noticed was that the reception area overlooks several giant bins. Although we were completely laden with shopping bags and had agonizingly sore shopping feet, no-one offered to carry bags or to show us to our room. The room was decorated in festoons of burgundy and beige, UHT milk, cheap biscuits and tea bags, an archaic hair dryer stuck to the bottom of a drawer and uninspired toiletries. No dressing gowns unless you called for one or bought one for £49. The card keys didn't work for the duration of our stay. The spa area is dated and not as clean as it could be and there was an alarming aroma of sewage. Having been offered a newspaper on checking in, we were invoiced £2 on checking out which was rather cheeky. The Grange Holborn just isn't up to scratch as a 5* and certainly isn't glamorous or elegant but as a place just to lay your head it's passable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Grange Holborn was a bit of an unknown to us before we stayed, we usualy go for one of the much larger hotel chains but we were more than impressed and this is one of the few London hotels which we would definitely visit again (Another being the Waldorf Hilton).
We arrived early, before the room was ready, quickly completed registration then left our luggage with the concierge and had the rest of the day to ourselves (with a couple of free, Grange chocolates to nibble on). When we returned, our luggage was quickly returned and room pass keys handed over.
We were more than impressed with the standard and quality of the room and even had a (distant) view of the London Eye and the Gherkin plus many others no doubt.
I had mentioned in passing to the booking agent that the trip was to celebrate my birthday and to my suprise there was a slice of birthday cake in the room. Not esential but a nice touch.
The bathroom was clean with good quality toiletries with the free use of robes and slippers and the room was clean and comfortable with a decent TV and an ipod dock.
The hotel was very central for us, within easy walking distance for Oxford street and many atractions and is very handy for Holborn tube station.
We didn't use the spa/pool facilities or any of the restraunts so couldn't comment but we found places for breakfast very close by and there are also restraunts and a local pub (the Greyhound I think) for a "swift one" after a hard days sightseeing if you don't want to use the hotel facilities, we like to eat and drink out to sample some of the local life.
All in all, this was one of our more enjoyable London trips, made much easier due to or stay at The Grange Holborn.

Room Tip: I think Room 810 was where we stayed with the didtant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Pedropete66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I do love this hotel for location for my office but I unfortunately was put on 9th floor and above they were hosting a bbq night. The noise from BBQ wasn't too bad but dismantling it until 11.30pm was not ideal. Staff amazing and rooms are great size although bathrooms can be small. Always spotless, food great and comfortable sleep. I actually prefer being on the main road side of the hotel as the rooms seem to be slightly bigger. Greta gym and pool is nice size..you can also get spa treatments although I have not used this service.

Room Tip: They are all big enough and very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank JacquiWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at this hotel, we got it as a top secret hotel on lastminute.com. The location is perfect and decoration and cleanliness is good, as well as the pool and spa facilities, but for me it is not a 5* though.

The problem for us was that, when we arrived they gave us a very small bedroom that was supposed to be a Superior one, the bed was a folding bed so we had to complained and wait for one hour to get other bedroom. The second one was OK but the staff were not very friendly and, honestly, we had not a good start.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ijbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#359 of 1,078 in London
833 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#336 of 1,078 in London
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#363 of 1,078 in London
2,916 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,078 in London
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#246 Family Hotel in London
#268 Business Hotel in London
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#344 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $138 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn
Grange Holborn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing