We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room but great location and very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dover Hotel
Ranked #633 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small room but great location and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family recently stayed here and the rooms are small, the bathroom is so small that when you sit on the toilet your feet are in the shower (but it is in your room!), but the room is very clean and cleaned well daily and the location is fabulous. We walked to just about everything in London (but you don't have to- the tube is right down the street). There is pricy food nearby but at least it is nearby and several grocery stores close too. The breakfast is VERY basic (toast, cereal, and a yogurt) but served by the friendliest people. The person at the desk is generally friendly also. It wasn't the best deal on hotels that I think we got but it was certainly competitive with the area and the friendliness made it all the better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review our hotel. Hotel is in the process of refurbishment and we will address your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    153
    182
    68
    34
See reviews for
108
167
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

About what you'd expect for a hotel in a converted house - rooms are small, bathrooms are a cubicle installed in the corner of the room. They actually still use proper keys which you have to leave at reception when you leave. The hotel is pretty run down and could do with being thoroughly redecorated but the room was clean and reasonably comfortable. The breakfast room is very small which means you have to share a table with other guests.. which I'd rather not have to do, not being particularly sociable in the morning! Breakfast is toast, yoghurt, cereal, juice, coffee. Nothing else. My room was in the basement and was a little noisy. Overall, not too bad for the price and location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments. During our gradual refurbishment programme, we will address the issues that you have raised. Some of them are more difficult because of the old Victorian buildings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have just stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is situated very close to Victoria Coach and railway/underground station. I chose this hotel based on the reviews of it being clean with friendly staff etc. This is true, the room was clean and it was cleaned every day we were there. The reception staff were just OK, nothing out of the ordinary, although I'm sure if we had needed any assistance we would have been given it. The ladies serving breakfast were very nice and friendly.

The room itself was sooo small, I had expected small but this was tiny. We were on the very top floor - 5 flights of stairs up and it was very noisy throughout the night with the water tank and pipes running. The outdoor traffic too was constant throughout the night, but again we had expected this having stayed on Belgrave Rd before.

Because the room was on the top floor it was also very hot but because of the noise we couldn't open the window, although when we did there wasn't much breeze anyway. A small fan would have been useful to have in the room.

The shower in the room was OK, not very powerful but served its purpose, but the shower screen is see through, OK if you are very familiary with your companion, a tad embarrassing if not.

The bed wasn't very comfortable and we didn't sleep too good but again, the bedding was clean.

Overall it is an OK hotel for the price you pay. The old Victorian buildings are very difficult to modernise to any great extent so you really need to bear this in mind before booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty-Boo-Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review our hotel. As mentioned hotel is the old Victorian building and very difficult to modernise to any great extent , We are in process of refurbishment and we will address all your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

stayed for 1 night for jubilee, greeted by extremely friendly and helpfull staff,was in top floor room with shared toilet, room was small what i expected but clean, got tea and coffee ,room was noisy from water tanks but slept ok,didnt have breakfast was 2 tired to get up. the hotel could do with decorating and new carpets but its cheap and cheerfull i would def stay again .5 star friendly staff couldnt get that anywere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doncastercessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Many thanks for your comments.
We will address the concerns raised in your review and hopefully resolve the problems.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. No lift but three windy narrow stairs up. Bathroom was like a prefabricated unit, very small. Chair in the room was a green plastic garden type one !! breakfast was awful- processed juice, hot drinks out of a dispenser, toast and cereal . Kettle in the bedroom had a very dirty plug which was difficult to plug in.
There was no outside fire escape which worried me.
The only plus points were clean good towels but not enough room to hang them up .
Sorry but NEVER again
Web page is totally misleading
SM Scotland

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
I am sorry to read your comments but unfortunately most of them are exaggerated and not true and are maliciously meant to frighten others.

We are fully compliant with the latest fire regulations and are regularly inspected by the London Fire Brigade. Buildings in Central London up to 3 floors high do not need an external fire escape.
The staircase and the rooms which all have half hour fire doors are adequate for the guests to escape through the front door.
I really wish that you would have checked the facts before alarming others.
You could have asked us and we would have explained that to you as well.

As far as the bathroom is concerned, most central London hotels are small in size and hence we have tried hard to maintain a balance between space and facilities. A majority of our guests are very happy with the balance for the price that they have paid.


We have never advertised a lift anywhere in our website and one can not assume that there always will be a lift.
Our break fast is a very healthy one and we received a lot of compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We wanted a clean bed and bathroom facilities for three nights near to Chelsea Flower Show for a sensible price. The Dover provides this. 55 narrow, steep, stairs were tough after a day on your feet! Breakfast, though minimal, was a bonus. Decoration a little tired but acceptable. Beds clean and comfortable. Shower/WC cubilcle very, very small but clean with fresh towels daily. The shower sadly had a mind of it's own - either too hot or too cold - no in between. Secondary glazing would be a good way to reduce noise from the street at the front. Staff very polite and pleasant. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back must be quieter than those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We appreciate your comments and will review the issues that you have raised and hopefully try and improve them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chili
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Superb location just minutes from Victoria Station. 2 blocks from a very fine Pub. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Very friendly staff. For the money you can't beat this hotel. I used to stay at a hotel across the street but now that I've found this one it will become my regular hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are small but when you are in London you only sleep here so they are more than adequate. Great modern TV with lots of channels and close captioning.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have trouble carrying suitcases get a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and comments. We pride ourselves in giving an excellent service with a smile even though our rooms are small.
We look forward to welcoming back to London soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#692 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#740 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#524 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#371 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#657 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dover Hotel

Property: The Dover Hotel
Address: 42-44 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dover Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Dover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dover Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing