We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location.”
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Euro Hotel
Ranked #432 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, Location.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

As with many reviewers here, I chose this hotel, mainly due to the location. Close to St Pancras, but also still central to most of London sights and activities. I was not disappointed. Clean, relatively quiet and good service. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone.
The only detail that was lacking, I felt, was the cooked breakfast. It was a little on the ordinary side. I will point out, that if your elderly or lacking fitness ask for a room on the lower floors. I was on the third floor and it was a hike at the end of a long day. There is no elevator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanOC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    354
    126
    23
    10
See reviews for
179
190
110
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was a short walk to both Kings Cross Station (which is how we arrived) and St Pancras Station (which is how we left). The neighborhood around the train stations on Euston is congested, noisy with lots of traffic but as soon as you turn onto the street where the hotel is, everything calms down and there's almost no traffic. When I reserved, they had no double rooms left (only twins) but then they upgraded us to a triple when we showed up. We had a room on the ground floor facing the street but it was very quiet. No AC but not too bad with the fan and open windows.We only had time for 1 breakfast. The room was very crowded but we sat with a nice French women, which was fitting because that was our next stop. They had a few girls working hard to bring out food to everyone. We told them we were leaving too early for breakfast the next morning and they gave us a bowl of fruit and some yogurts! There were several grocery stores in the area where we bought drinks and snacks.
Overall, a very nice place to stay in London at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have had some pretty bad experiences with independent London hotels on my travels. They tend to be dingy, pokey places with uncomfortable beds, poor service and ridiculous room rates. But Euro Hotel in Bloomsbury worked out fine. We chose it because of proximity to Euston station- easy to get to our morning train. Also walkable from our show in Leicester Square. It's in a great, safe location with lots of neat cafes and bars nearby. Room itself was on top floor- steep steps to get there. Once inside room we had reasonable space and plenty of light. Comfortable bed. A few little moans: the water pressure was poor for shower and loo didn't flush properly; plus they really need to work on the breakfast- both of ours were badly cooked. Given the convenience of the place and reasonable comfort I would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robatleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Euro Hotel. Our room overlooked a nice park area that was quiet and not heavily travelled. Close to several underground stations and we easily caught a taxi at the corner on several occasions. Just around the corner there is a market, a laundry and several restaurants. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Some important things to keep in mind; there is no elevator so ask for a lower floor if needed and there is no air conditioning. It was in the high 80's low 90's during our visit and even with a fan it never cooled down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in the hotel in a triple room with 2 grand-children.
The location of the hotel is very convenient: close to the St Pancras Eurostar terminal and close to two subway stations ie St Pancras and Russell square. This makes inbound and local travel easy.
The area is quiet with some restaurants and a practical small Tesco store.
The hotel is operated by helpful South Polish ladies with a very decent command of English.
The hotel is very clean and decently renovated; the rooms are ok, but somewhat smallish; the bathroom could have a bigger lavabo and mirror for those women who want to spend time on make-up. Breakfast is ok, but the cooking of eggs and bacon is basic.
Net: a good budget hotel. The price at 158 UK pounds a night is however somewhat overpriced.
I shall come back unless I find a similar offer at a better price.

Room Tip: A room at the front maybe better, no noise of dogs and of the cooks at 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartolomeus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staff was terrific. Every request was promptly taken care of....breakfast room very inviting.....good selection of choices, I rented four rooms for myself and family, for 12 nights. Towels were changed each day and rooms were cleaned to immaculate. Location was convenient from Heathrow Airport, off the Piccadilly line, and very close walking distance to British Library and British Museum, also a post office, super market (great for bottled water and fresh fruit), and Laundromat. I would definitely return. We can't control the weather. The hotel being designated historical does NOT have a lift or A/C, but provides table fans, frankly I was comfortable (ground floor), my son too (basement floor), but my teenage grandchildren, not use to heat did a bit of complaining......they did like the wi-fi.

Room Tip: We were visiting from California and were there for an unexpected HEATWAVE. If a heatwave hits Lond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLGGonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

very close to train stations but very quiet, great location. Rooms were very clean and roomy and had a fan (which was good because it was boiling hot). Breakfast wasn't amazing but was acceptable and well cooked. Staff were very helpful and friendly and let you leave your bags in reception if you arrived before check in, also if you weren't leaving until the evening you could do the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imi_hodgkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#564 of 1,067 in London
559 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#539 of 1,067 in London
251 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#242 of 1,067 in London
1,727 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#893 of 1,067 in London
148 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#554 of 1,067 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Property: The Euro Hotel
Address: 51-53 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable friendly 3* bed & breakfast hotel in the Bloomsbury area of London close to British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London
The Euro Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing