We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel for London”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Good location in the Center of London, the Russell Sq. area is always our first choice. This hotel will satisfy your basic needs of a bed, a shower, a closet, a dresser and breakfast. I usually stay in the Royal National hotel (just next door) but this time we went for the Tavistock (the Royal National was fully booked), I must say that I preferred the R.N. – but the Tavistock is good enough. The view from the window was nice (Tavistock Sq. all nice and green) and the lobby looks like out of a Jeeves and Wooster episode (very 20’s), but the R.N. is a bit more updated. Our bed sheets were torn, and so was the mattress itself. But all together – for the low price – it’s sufficient.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2009

I stayed at the Tavistock for a week with a friend from the 19th to the 26th, with great weather. We were checked in at 2:30 pm as the woman at the desk had said our room on the 4th floor wasn't ready when we got there at 9 am, and the 1st floor room that was availale would subject us too noise from the street. Nice of her to say.
We checked into room 424 which was on a front corner with a great view of Tavistock Square Park. There was some noise from the street but not such that we couldn't sleep. We did hear the thump from the club in the basement. The double windows do keep out some of the street noise as long as the outer windows are closed.
The twin beds were comfortable enough to sleep in. The was a good size bathroom with deep tub and a sink. The shower had great pressure and lots of hot water. The toilet was in a separate room which is great when the shower is in use.
One negative about the bathroom was a bit of mildew up on the ceiling which is obviously from the lack of a ventilation fan which results in a very steamy and damp bathroom. We would open the window to allow the steam to clear and dry.
The closet was adequate for our needs as were the drawers and the teapot. There was a TV but not a great variety of stations...not a problem for us as we would rather exlpore the city.
One negative was the lack of internet connection in the room. A notice near the front desk said to ask about DSL but I was told it was not available in our room and we would have to use the wireless available in the lobby and bar areas...as did the other guests.
The bar was a nice place to chill with a pint after exploring London, with deep leather sofas and comfortable chairs.
We never used the dining room for breakfast although others did and it appeared to be popular...although I can't speak about the quality of the food.
There is another restaurant in the front off the lobby "Jaques" which had a good enough menu with daily specials. One thing I did note was the decore which was more like a cafe than a more upscale restaurant.
The Hotel is very well situated near the Russell Square tube station which is a short 5 minute walk away. We walked all the way to Leicester Square and back in about 20 minutes and the buses run adjacent to the front door.
I would stay there again although I recommend that you ask for a room above the 4th floor and on the wing away from the club, if noise is a problem for you.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

stayed here for 3 nights in december. was originally booked for 4 nights but could not stand to stay another night. there is a night club with bowling alley and live music below the hotel. thumping music could be heard during the evening and night. due to smoking ban, drunken customers and staff would congregate all night outside the bowling alley right under my window, making a lot of noise and cigarette smoke in the room. Why no double glazing???

Probably wouldn't help as noise just came through the shaking walls and floors. night club eventually closed about 3am but then drunken crowds waiting outside for taxis, so no let up in the noise and smoke.

The room reeked of cigarette smoke all the time, not just when people were outside smoking. The corridor of the hotel also stank of smoke, even though it was a non smoking floor.

Apart from all that, the room was in an awful state. Really grimy bathroom and uncomfortable beds. I've stayed in 2 star hotels that are cleaner then this!

The refund for the cancelled room never arrived. Even though they had accepted and confirmed the cancellation, and agreed to a refund, they subsequently refused to honour the refund. They claimed I had not checked out and had just walked out of the hotel, leaving the do not disturb sign on the door. This is all rubbish as of course I checked out at reception desk before the required check out time.

oh and think you have breakfast included in the price? don't even go there...

If this is how they treat business travellers then I'd hate to think how they would treat other guests.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rw0838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The Tavistock isn't really the 3-star hotel tey actually advertise (no air con, no minibar, old TV set, old windows etc.), but it's a decent enough 2-star. If I had paid the 90 pounds they advertise for a twin room with breakfast I would have felt really scammed. But I got a great deal from planigo.com, at 65 Euros per night (they made me a discount by phone, as business is slow in February in London, I guess), so I paid less than for the crummy 3-star hotels I stayed in Paris last October.
The location was brilliant, the hotel is a 5-minutes walk from the British Museum, 15-20 from Covent Garden, 15 to Tottenham Court Road bus stop (Soho-Oxford street). You have buses from Tavistock stop that go to Euston and Camden market to the North and to Holborn to the South (68, 168, 91 etc.). Also, from Russel Square, you can get the 7 towards Oxford Street and Marble Arch.
Enjoy it's location and nothing else will bother you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alinutzapif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

The Tavistock is very centrally located. It is a large hotel by any standards. Staff speak very good English, and the common areas of the hotel have a beautiful Art Nouveau style. We were booked in a twin by mistake, but after som juggling we were switched to a double without any problems. There even was a porter to carry our luggage to the room. The room was large by London standards, with separate shower and toilet. There is a TV with a good choice of channels.

The porters were especially helpful in giving us indications on how to travel by bus (somehow you always end up travelling by Tube in London, and you miss quite a lot), and on our last day, were very patient with us when we kept bothering them to put last-minute purchases in our suitcases, which were then in the luggage room.

The only minus was breakfast. If you book this hotel, spend a little more and upgrade to English breakfast. Continental breakfast is poor to say the least, with coffee, tea , lukewarm toast, stewed fruit and butter and jam. The worst part of it all is that you have to help yourself from the same area where all the eggs, sausages and bacon are, under the vigilant eye of one of the waiters, who somehow is always checking something when someone who has continental breakfast is helping him/herself.

All in all a very good hotel, which I would gladly return to on another trip to London

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalteseGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I have stayed at the Tavistock twice and both times had a very pleasant stay there. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, The staff have always friendly and helpful. The breakfast has a wide choice although might not be to everyone's taste, however does set you up for the day! The hotel is ideal as its minutes away from Euston station, a perfect base!! I will always use the Tavistock when in London.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadwelshCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

The Tavistock Hotel has a great Art Deco feel when you arrive. Does not feel like a bland chain.

10 mins walk from St Pancras, so no hassles with the subway.

Rooms are fine for the price. Good nights sleep.

Breakfast is a bit of a let down.

Local tip: The pizzas in the diner under the hotel are amazing and very cheap.

TJ

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vonclapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#884 of 1,081 in London
8,394 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#505 of 1,081 in London
3,708 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#561 of 1,081 in London
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#138 of 1,081 in London
1,293 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $115 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing